We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun location, weak Internet access, and 1 service incident.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of art'otel budapest

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added art'otel budapest to your Saves list
art'otel budapest
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Bem Rakpart 16-19, Budapest 1011, Hungary (District I / Buda)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book now & save up to 20%
Ranked #42 of 331 Hotels in Budapest
Certificate of Excellence
Plano, Texas
Level Contributor
73 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Fun location, weak Internet access, and 1 service incident.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013 via mobile

We purchased a 3 night package: breakfast buffet, wifi, and late check out (2pm) included. Found out wifi (basic as they call it) is included for all guests. Weekend nights are cheaper than weekdays. The hotel is modern and fun. it's on the Buda side across from Parliament which affords the rooms fantastic views of the Pest side. At first I was concerned about the location, but it was easy to get to: it's near Bethany Ter which is 2 stops from Deak Ter on the M2. Bethany Ter is also the HEV train station if you are going out to Aquincum or the like. From Bethany Ter, you can either walk down to the hotel (about 7-10 min) or take trams 19 or 41 1 stop. the hotel is across from that stop. To go up to Castle Hill, you can either walk out the hotel, make a right, make a right again onto the first street crossing and walk up Potony (steep street followed by many many stairs) to Fisherman's Bastion. Or you can grab the 41 or 19 and take them 1 more stop to the Chain Bridge where you can ride the funicular to the top of the hill. To get to Pest, just walk up to Bethany Ter and take the M2 (or take the tram up 1 stop). So location expedially for Buda is awesome.

There are 2 good restaurants nearby: Hunyadi Etterem (go for dinner on your walk down from the hill) and Carne di Hall (beside the hotel in a cellar).

The rooms are large and modern. We had a Danube view. The bathrooms are small (Euro size as I call it) but have everything you need. The room had a tub/ shower combo. The window was ceiling/ floor and you could open a "door" to it, but balcony railing crosses the whole window. My 8 year old and I enjoyed the room. The television only had English news channels if that matters to you.

The Internet connection was pitiful. it constantly dropped and would not load any apps--none of my banking apps not facebook would load. I bring this up because I wasn't trying to stream video--just check my account balance. Even email struggled to load fast. There's a message that you can buy faster speeds "business Internet" but that really was annoying. Even my cheapest hostels have had decent if not great connectivity and this nice hotel had the worst Internet of my 3 week trip. This would keep me from returning unless they changed it.

Finally, breakfast was large and varied. Good offering, but we had an incident. We were literally sitting at a table putting our plates down when 2 German men sat at our table (table had 4 chairs). They asked if they could. i said NO. There were tons of other tables. They did anyways. We moved and then I we t and got the guy managing the breakfast area. He winced a lot, said sorry. I asked him to address the 2 men. He said he would. I watched. He never did, so I went back to him. He said he didn't want to-he looked scared of confronting then. He had no ability to resolve conflicts. A woman walked up who also worked for the hotel. She said she would address it. I watched again-she did not. Luckily, it was our last morning. Very disappointing.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank farfalla818
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,948 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Manchester by the Sea, MA,US
Level Contributor
55 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

The location on the river is quite magical. We had a room at the back of the hotel and had a terrific view of the Old Town above, particularly nice at night when the buildings are illuminated. We ate breakfast and dinner in the hotel, food was good, the service was very good and the prices reasonable. The front desk staff were especially friendly and helpful, and impressively multilingual. Our room was fine, and it was our first time staying in a hotel where the art work was clearly unique, and thoughtfully chosen for the guest rooms.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SgFm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

It is a great hotel in a perfect location - right on the river front and with stunning views of the city.
Also very convenient - but this hotel is about the people rather than the building.
It has a nice friendly atmosphere and staff are genuinely helpful and welcoming.

Room Tip: Refurbished rooms and those with a view over the Danube are particularly nice and worth a bit extra.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HJCLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

We were in Budapest just for two nights anyway we enjoyed our journey and we hope to come back...
The hotel was nice, clean, very confortable and staff friendly and helpful .
Close to Metro station to the center. With a beautiful view of the Danubio. What else...nothing!!!

Good stay in Budapest!!!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Laura C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

Really great hotel with a perfect location for sightseeing by foot, we had a room with a view over the Danube which was wonderful and really great to wake up to. The hotel has a nice modern feel to it with excellent decor throughout our room was a nice size and had a suite feel to it, the chairs and table were great for sitting and just watch the world go by. The staff are so helpful and friendly and gave good advice on the tours available in the city and our room was kept spotless all through our stay. The breakfast was excellent with a wide choice of items and the staff were very attentive. The air conditioning was a little odd and sometimes when set on low put out warm air and it was difficult to keep the room cool, saying that it may have just been us misunderstanding the controls.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Silverfox-Reading
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antwerp, Antwerpen, Belgium
Level Contributor
29 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

Beautiful view on Parliament and Danube. Fine clean room and service. Extended breakfast with more then enough fresh food. Diner was very good, it was a beautiful menu! Reception was very friendly and helpful. All necessary facilities were available. Bus and tram stop in front of the door, several restaurants in the vicinity. We can recommend this excellent hotel to everybody who wants to visit Budapest!

Room Tip: room with a view on the Danube
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ChrisVandeVen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

Just returned from a four day stay. Lovely view over the Danube. Excellent room and breakfast. Very helpful and friendly staff and spotless room with large tv and all facilities. We enjoyed an excellent reasonably priced evening meal on two occasions in this modern hotel.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paris1956xx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Budapest hotels
District VII / Jewish Quarter
Continental Hotel Zara Budapest
Hotel Palazzo Zichy
#3 of 331 in Budapest
5.0 of 5 stars 3,746 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
District I / Buda
Lanchid 19 Hotel
Lanchid 19 Hotel
#41 of 331 in Budapest
4.5 of 5 stars 539 reviews
District VII / Jewish Quarter
Corinthia Hotel Budapest
Corinthia Hotel Budapest
#9 of 331 in Budapest
4.5 of 5 stars 5,538 reviews
District V / Inner City
Bohem Art Hotel
Bohem Art Hotel
#10 of 331 in Budapest
4.5 of 5 stars 1,905 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to art'otel budapest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about art'otel budapest

Address: Bem Rakpart 16-19, Budapest 1011, Hungary
Phone Number:
Location: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest > District I / Buda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#19 Business Hotel in Budapest
#30 Family Hotel in Budapest
#34 Luxury Hotel in Budapest
#39 Romantic Hotel in Budapest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:4 star — art'otel budapest 4*
Number of rooms: 164
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Striking Hotel set in 4 renovated Baroque houses dating from the 18th century. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda, EasyToBook, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your art'otel budapest reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Art`Otel Budapest Hotel Budapest
Artotel Budapest
Art Hotel Budapest
Park Plaza Budapest
Budapest Park Plaza

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing