We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Facilities excellent, location + rooms average”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Danubius Hotel Helia
Ranked #71 of 334 Hotels in Budapest
Certificate of Excellence
england
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Facilities excellent, location + rooms average”
Reviewed April 19, 2013

Stayed at this hotel for 3 nights in March 2013.
when we arrived at the hotel check in was efficient and the staff very helpful (providing plenty of information about the city). the recpeotion area had a shop bar and travel information desk, it was very clean and tidy and gave a good first impression

When we arrived in our room we were given a twin insted of a double (which was requested when booking) I requested that the room be changed however was advised there were no double rooms. The room was smallish as was the bathroom but enough space for a weekend break. the room and bathroom were very tidy. The telivision in the room had a couple of english tv channel these were mainly for the news.

The room was very warm, the air conditioning was not powerful enough to cool the room down, in the end we had to leave the window open. the room was cleaned daily and ther was very little noise hence we got a good nights sleep.

The facilities at the hotel however were outstanding. the spa and health are were amazing. massive spa, big swimming pool lots of gym equiment and plenty of other activites (at surcharge). The breakfast was also outstanding, lots of choice within the buffet and quality was good too.

Location of the hotel was average. the nearest tube station was a 5minute walk and we were a distance (20mins with public transport) from the tourist sites (palace arear)

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 511915
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,009 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    719
    905
    289
    55
    41
See reviews for
376
739
126
429
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (96)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 18, 2013 via mobile

Good hotel on the river, but far away from the city. Will cost you about ?20 to get downtown with a taxi. Rooms are clean, beds not very comfortable. Breakfast is acceptable, dinner in the hotel not recommended. Overall, value for money, but for a tourist city trip would recommend to try and find a hotel in the beautiful center of Budapest

Helpful?
Thank Gest1791
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Caernarfon, Wales, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed April 13, 2013

Isn't it about time we all took a stand against rip-off mini-bar mineral water prices. This hotel charges approx. 3 euro for a small bottle of mineral water. Buy it in the supermarket across the road.
The hotel itself is not four star. The rooms are OK but the breakfast lets it down, just average. The location is not the best in Budapest. They advertise a spa and it's not too bad but I have to question if the thermal waters are true "thermal" waters. I could be wrong but have visited most of the spas in Budapest and this was the least inspiring.
OK for an overnight stay but left not feeling value for money or that I'd stayed in a hotel that left a lasting memory. Doubt if they'll see me again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Karol C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DanubiusHelia, Manager at Danubius Hotel Helia, responded to this review, April 17, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your comments on Tripadvisor website.
We are glad that you liked our rooms, but regret to learn that not every department or service were up to your expectations.
I understand your point regarding minibar prices, but those absolutely reflect minibar rates of a 4-star Hotel in Budapest. However our guests are allowed to bring items bought in the supermarket accross road.
Being a conference and wellness Hotel, our Hotel is definitely not located in the Downtown, but on the bank of the river Danube, opposite Margaret Island, just a few metro stops from the city centre.
Although our thermal bath is feeded by thermal springs of Margaret Island, a Spa Hotel cannot be compared to the famous big spas of Budapest.
We would like to hope that next time you choose to visit Budapest, you will allow us the opportunity to serving you again.

Best regards,

Viktoria Boriszov
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Novi Sad, Serbia
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed March 3, 2013

Good Spa resort hotel on the Danube bank 300-400 m from Metro station.
West End shopping center at walking distance 1.5-2 km.
Excellent service, ideal for company meetings and relaxing after meeting.
Friendly staff.
Heating should be lower, but that is the common in Budapest during winter, all hotels are overheated, so sleeping is not so comfortable.
Not in the center of Budapest but easy to find if you travel by car.
Internet connection should be free due to the hotel purpose.

Room Tip: As for the Danube view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sam A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DanubiusHelia, revenue manager at Danubius Hotel Helia, responded to this review, March 6, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your positive review about our Hotel.
We are very happy that you enjoyed our excellent service, great location on the bank of the Danube and our friendly staff. Being a conference and wellness hotel, we strive to ensure ideal enviroment for both needs and pleased that our aspiration met your expectations.
Your comment on heating will be investigated and thank you for your suggestion regarding internet use, which is actually free of charge in the public areas of the Hotel.

We look forward to welcoming you at our Hotel int he future again.

Best regards,

Viktoria Boriszov
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hasselt, Belgium
Level 5 Contributor
42 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed January 24, 2013

I visited this nice hotel in December 2012.
I was very impressed with this hotel. It's in a great location within walking distance from the nearest metro station about 5 minutes. It is a big and clean hotel with nice and clean rooms with a bad and shower. There is also a flat screen TV en safe in the room and also a mini bar.
Other good things about this hotel is free WIFI and the fantastic wellness/spa center inside the hotel building. This is free for the hotel guests, there is a indoor swim pool, 2 thermal bads, Jacuzzi and sauna. The breakfast and is super and the dinner is also very good. When I visit Budapest again I will stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Schorpion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DanubiusHelia, yield & revenue manager at Danubius Hotel Helia, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for sharing your opinion with us and with other travellers regarding your stay at our Danubius Health Spa Resort Helia.
We are very happy that you were impressed by our hotel and our great location, the cleanliness of our rooms, our fantastic wellness & spa center and our delicious breakfast.
We do hope that you will choose our Hotel again when you visit Budapest next time.

Best regards,

Viktoria Boriszov
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emmen, The Netherlands
Level 6 Contributor
193 reviews
178 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 155 helpful votes
Reviewed January 13, 2013

I stayed here for one nigth, coming back from "inner hungary" businesstrip and flying out of Budapest the next day. The Hotel is not so close to the center, but doable by taxi or even go by walk 3Km distance. The room was relatively small as well as the toiltet room. Shower/bath was not separated but combined. Internet on the room is at charge: a difficult "inroom charge" system, where you have to first obtain a username and a password and then have to check-in again. The sleeping quality of the bed was OK. I did not make use of the Spa facilities; also not the dining facilities. Went in town to dine at "Sir Lancelot" after that walking through Liszt Terenc Ter and ending in some cozy bar on Kazinczy utca (after crossing Wesseliny streat on right side). The taxi ride at night back to the hotel was "expensive" (about Euro 20); don't know if this was "black-cab" or regular one... at least i got a receipt.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank globetravelerNL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DanubiusHelia, yield & revenue manager at Danubius Hotel Helia, responded to this review, January 18, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your comments regarding your stay with us at the Danubius Health Spa Resort Helia.
We are glad that you overall had a good experience and sorry to hear that you were overcharged by a „black-cab” taxi driver you took on your way back from a bar to the hotel.
The taxi fee you mentioned is relatively expensive indeed, we suggest to use a Hotel Taxi or call the bigger cab companies next time when you visit Budapest.
We hope to have the opportunity of welcoming you back to our Hotel in the future.

Best regards,

Viktoria Boriszov
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed January 8, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here whilst visiting Budapest for and watching the Formula One. It was a bit of a walk into town, but along the riverside it was quite a nice walk so we didn't mind. The staff were very helpful and booked our return transfer to the airport for us and were there to check us out with a smile at 3am when we left. Our room was spacious and clean, and we had a lovely view of a thunderstorm over the river one night. The cafe was very handy, especially with the free wifi downstairs, which could be better advertised as we didn't realise until our second day. The restaurant was good, the food was tasty and the piano was often played in the background, although we did find the service to be a bit slow and not too cheerful. The only part of the spa we used were the swimming pools, at three different temperatures, but I would highly recommend going for a dip. It was very relaxing, especially after a hot walk into town and back.

Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank frandavi99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DanubiusHelia, yield & revenue manager at Danubius Hotel Helia, responded to this review, January 11, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your positive note and for chosing our Hotel during your visit to Budapest.
We are happy that you enjoyed our location on the riverside with lovely view, our helpful staff, spacious rooms, tasty food, and extensive health spa area with swimming pools.
We do appreciate your comment regarding free wifi advertisement in the lobby, which we will definitely take on board for our future improvements.
We hope to have the opportunity of welcoming you to our Hotel again.

Best regards,

Viktoria Boriszov
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Budapest hotels
Margaret Island
Danubius Health Spa Resort Margitsziget
Margaret Island
Danubius Grand Hotel Margitsziget
The Aquincum Hotel Budapest
#125 of 334 in Budapest
1,428 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Gellert Hill
Danubius Hotel Gellert
Danubius Hotel Gellert
#98 of 334 in Budapest
6,120 reviews
Lion's Garden Hotel
#79 of 334 in Budapest
705 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Danubius Hotel Helia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Danubius Hotel Helia

Property: Danubius Hotel Helia
Address: Karpat utca 62-64., Budapest 1133, Hungary (Formerly Danubius Health Spa Resort Helia)
Phone Number:
Location: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Spa Hotel in Budapest
#33 Best Value Hotel in Budapest
#36 Business Hotel in Budapest
#51 Luxury Hotel in Budapest
#63 Romantic Hotel in Budapest
#68 Family Hotel in Budapest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Danubius Hotel Helia 4*
Number of rooms: 262
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Work or pleasure? We cater for both! What makes the Helia so special? That’s a matter of perspective. This is a wellness hotel with a wide range of fitness and spa services for guests in need of some pampering. However, it’s also a fully equipped conference hotel with all the facilities to host top quality professional events. The wellness and conference hotel is located in Budapest’s dynamic XIIIth district, on the bank of the Danube. The city centre is just 15 minutes away, while the nearby Margaret Island offers a host of recreational activities – from cycling, tennis and swimming to relaxing walks in beautiful parkland. Whether you’d like to unwind after work – or get away from work altogether – our wellness centre is the perfect spot. It has an adventure pool, swimming pool, sauna and a two-storey fitness club with stunning panoramic views. The hotel’s thermal bath is fed by natural thermal water from Margaret Island’s springs. Guests arriving by car can keep their vehicles safe in the hotel’s own car park, and travel into the centre by trolleybus or bus. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Expedia, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Agoda so you can book your Danubius Hotel Helia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Danubius Health Spa Resort Helia Hotel Budapest
Danubius Health Hotel Helia
Danubius Health Budapest

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing