We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Definitely a bad experience” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Danubius Hotel Helia

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Danubius Hotel Helia
Ranked #74 of 342 Hotels in Budapest
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
39 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Definitely a bad experience”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2012 via mobile

The hotel was very unpleasant, stayed there during a conference and could not have a single good impression from the hotel. The rooms are ok, but service in the room is never well done, example: an empty bottle of coke with a dirty glass stayed during 2 consecutive days without been arranged. Laundry, you ask your clothes to return folded - it is completely ignored. Was trying to get information on how to get to the train station in the lobby and that was the worst experience ever, the attendant was unpleasant, not helpful, rude, everything unappropriate - really unexpected. Besides 2 nights with noise coming from the teenagers playing in the hotel. To end, last day there was no service in my room, someone came in the room in the morning took my laundry, brought back ready afternoon and we i get into the room at 22hs room was not clean. Was planning to stay in the hotel over the weekend to enjoy Budapeste but decided to move to another at the end of the conference.

Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank ElioWolff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DanubiusHelia, yield & revenue manager at Danubius Hotel Helia, responded to this review, October 10, 2012
Dear Mr. Wolff,

Thank you for reviewing our hotel.
It is much to our regret to learn from your comment that not every department and service were up to your expectations during your stay.
There is a countinous effort on our sight to improve our services and we are greatful if you share with us your unfortunate experiences in details.
However, please note that it has been a very busy period here within the Hotel and also in Budapest due to the international World Championship of Martial Arts and other events held in the city at the same time. The „teenagers” you mention were also attendants between the age of 18 and 23 who also came for this championship.
We have actually recieved very positive feedback from the other attendees of the conference you participated and do apologise if you personally felt that you have not been treated with careful attention.

Thank you once again for your comment and we hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back on a future occassion.

Best regards,

Viktoria Boriszov
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,580 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    551
    727
    230
    43
    29
See reviews for
277
598
104
319
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Cincinnati
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2012

The location was good for our needs (Buda and Pest sides of the city). The room was a bit small but very clean. The staff accommodated us well with an extra bed for a child. There was no free internet connection in the room. This was a major irritation. It was easy to walk out of the hotel to a local store for snacks and to the river for a walk. Breakfast was very good. Evening food was overpriced and underwhelming for us.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Wendell H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DanubiusHelia, yield & revenue manager at Danubius Hotel Helia, responded to this review, October 10, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for posting a review about our Hotel.
We hope you enjoyed your stay with us and happy that our helpful staff, clean rooms, great breakfast and nice location on the bank of the river were to your satisfaction.
Thank you for your comments regarding internet (which is actually free of charge only in the public areas at the moment).
We hope that we can welcome you back as a guest of our Hotel.

Best regards,

Viktoria Boriszov
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
staffordshire
Level Contributor
99 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2012 via mobile

Went on a groupon deal and was Fab value. Would go again and use facilities more such as soap treatments. Had a great view of danube. Clean & comfortable. Staff helpful and welcoming. Breakfast was really good with great variety.

Helpful?
Thank indigoStaffordshire
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
DanubiusHelia, yield & revenue manager at Danubius Hotel Helia, responded to this review, October 10, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for having taken the time to share your positive experiences with other travellers.
It is our pleasure to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and our cleanliness, helpful staff, plentiful breakfast, treatments and great view of the Danube have all left such a good impression on you.
We hope that you will find the time and occassion to return and we will have the opportunity of welcoming you back some time.

Best regards,

Viktoria Boriszov
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Berlin, Germany
Level Contributor
34 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2012

The hotel is good, friendly staff, good breakfast and great spa.

The only very disappointing thing is the internet connection, very very slow.

The location is ok, but not in the city center. We had to take a cap to go to the downtown. There is also a metro station near by.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Brunohuotri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DanubiusHelia, yield & revenue manager at Danubius Hotel Helia, responded to this review, October 10, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your comments on tripadvisor.
We are pleased that you generally had a good experience on our Hotel and services during your stay, and enjoyed our great spa, good breakfast, location and our friendly staff.
We appreciate your comments regarding internet connection, we will investigate it, in order to ensure faster access.
We do hope that we will be able to welcome you back at our Danubius Health Spa Resort Helia in the future.

Best regards,

Viktoria Boriszov
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taranto
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2012

I stayed at Danubius Health Spa Resort Helia in june with my boyfriend and we are really satisfied to have choosen this hotel! The rooms are large, very confortable and they are cleened every day. The breakfast was not included but there were two croissant and a coffèe for each person. There is a free Spa inside and this is excellent for who wants to relax after a day of excursion. The hotel is located in a pretty good area and it's also close to the metro station and at four stops to the city center. I sugget this hotel to everyone who want to visit Budabest and relax at the same time!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dlellad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DanubiusHelia, yield & revenue manager at Danubius Hotel Helia, responded to this review, September 24, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for sharing your experiences regarding your stay at our Danubius Health Spa Resort Helia.
We are really happy that you were satisfied with your choice and with our services from our comfortable rooms, through our Spa, to our location near to the city center.
Thank you for suggesting our Hotel to other travellers and we hope that we can welcome you back in the future again.

Best regards,

Viktoria Boriszov
yield & revenue manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2012

My husband and I were only staying in Budapest for a few days, along with four other members of my family ... and they selected this hotel since it's their "go to" hotel in Budapest. We were pleasantly surprised and liked our stay there. Since we had not been to Budapest before, we were too busy sight seeing than hanging around the hotel, but I noticed there were ton of features, which is nice for a hotel like that. It was right on the river and our hotel room had a large balcony with chairs and table overlooking it! Also, you walk straight down the back hotel stairs to the walkways around the river! Loved that. Room was comfortable and equipped nicely. Great room service and the food was great! Free full breakfast buffet in the mornings. Customer service was pretty good. The back bar / lounge area and restaurant outside was very slow and management was poor, but other than that, great place to stay. Pretty affordable too, gotta love that.

Room Tip: one facing the river for sure!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dawn s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DanubiusHelia, yield & revenue manager at Danubius Hotel Helia, responded to this review, September 4, 2012
Dear Guest,

We would like to take this opportunity to thank you for your positive note about our Hotel.
It is our pleasure to be your family member’s „go to” hotel in Budapest and happy that you enjoyed our location on the bank of the river Danube, our comfortable & nicely equipped rooms, loved our great food and friendly service at affordable prices.
We hope that we can welcome you back as a guest of our Danubius Health Spa Resort Helia.

Best regards,

Viktoria Boriszov
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2012

We booked this hotel through a 3rd party site for 2 nights while on a city break in Budapest.
All hotels add 4% to the bill when leaving which is quite annoying as we were not aware of this change.
We 'thought' we booked a double room with breakfast included. When we arrived, we had a twin room which they refer to as a double room. I explained double and twin are not the same. The gentleman at reception was willing to move us to another room but he advised that it would be extremely noisy as it was located beside the laundry. the other option was to pay an extra 20 euro and have our room upgraded! he wasn't at all helpful to us and did not offer to change our room for the following nights stay. we decided to stay in our two single beds!
the next morning room service opened the door to our room at 8am, 8.30am, person came to check the mini bar at 9am.The room staff were talking loudly on the corridor from 8am onwards. We eventually give in and vacated the room for the day. so much for a relaxing time!
The spa did look nice but the weather was gorgeous so we didnt want to stay in doors.
The hotel is average - For the price and considering it is a 4 star I expected more. It would have similar stds to a 3 star in western europe

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Peh-Pehal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DanubiusHelia, yield & revenue manager at Danubius Hotel Helia, responded to this review, August 16, 2012
Dear Guest,

First of all we would like to thank you for chosing our Danubius Health Spa Resort Helia during your visit to Budapest.

We are very sorry to learn from your comment that not every department and service were up to your expectations.
There is a continuous effort on our side to improve our services and we are grateful that you shared your experiences with us, which will be investigated and discussed with our staff.

We do much hope that you will find the time and opportunity to return to our Hotel and we can regain your confidence.

Best regards,

Viktroria Boriszov
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Budapest hotels
Margaret Island
Danubius Health Spa Resort Margitsziget
Margaret Island
Danubius Grand Hotel Margitsziget
Gellert Hill
Danubius Hotel Gellert
Danubius Hotel Gellert
#99 of 342 in Budapest
4.0 of 5 bubbles 5,235 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Aquincum Hotel Budapest
#123 of 342 in Budapest
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,359 reviews
Lion's Garden Hotel
#73 of 342 in Budapest
4.0 of 5 bubbles 660 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Danubius Hotel Helia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Danubius Hotel Helia

Property: Danubius Hotel Helia
Address: Karpat utca 62-64., Budapest 1133, Hungary (Formerly Danubius Health Spa Resort Helia)
Phone Number:
Location: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Spa Hotel in Budapest
#36 Business Hotel in Budapest
#53 Luxury Hotel in Budapest
#63 Romantic Hotel in Budapest
#68 Family Hotel in Budapest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Danubius Hotel Helia 4*
Number of rooms: 262
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A place where you can mix business with relaxation! Conference hotel with spa and wellness complex on the bank of the Danube, just 15 minutes from the historical city centre. Relax and recharge! Swim in the large pool and enjoy the breathtaking panorama from the two-story fitness club! Steer clear of the traffic jams! Spacious car and bus park just outside the hotel. 26 Km from Airport Ferihegy, 9 km from Eastern Railway Station. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Danubius Hotel Helia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Danubius Health Spa Resort Helia Hotel Budapest
Danubius Health Hotel Helia
Danubius Health Budapest

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing