We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Consistently a nice spa hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Danubius Hotel Helia
Ranked #72 of 333 Hotels in Budapest
Certificate of Excellence
West Palm Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
57 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Consistently a nice spa hotel”
Reviewed February 20, 2012

I have been going to the Helia Hotel in Budapest since 1994. I was serving in the United Nations Mission in Croatia and would stay there for Rest and Recuperation. It was during this period that I fell in love with Budapest and now own an apartment there. The Helia has consistently met my expectations as a spa hotel. The Sauna and Steam Room are as hot as it gets and the swimming pool and three thermal pools are modern and clean. The glassed in atrium where the pools are located have many lounge chairs for reading, relaxing and sleeping to rid you of the tensions of the world. The gym is an added bonus along with added spa features of various massages and other treatments. Its a great place to spend the day exercising and the enjoying the various amenities. Now to the food: The Helia Chef takes his Hungarian Cuisine very seriously and whether it is the plentiful breakfast buffet or the sumptious dinner buffet the food is excellent. It is all fresh and tasteful. Sandwiches are offered also at the bar area in the main lobby. The rooms at the Helia are very nice but in a minimalistic way. The TV is very small with most channels being German, Hungarian or Chinese This is not a big drawback though as you go to the hotel for its spa and proximity to the city central. If your a serious vacationer you will not be spending much time in your room anyway. One bonus is, for a few Euros more, you can have the view of the Danube, which the hotel is only two hundred meters from. Most of these rooms have terraces also. They are a great place to enjoy your morning coffee or evening cocktail. The staff are friendly and professional and many have been with the hotel group for years so they know all the places to visit etc. The Helia is located about three subway stops from the city central and a bus half a block away will take you two stops to the train which will have you in the main city in ten minutes. For the value, I cannot say enough about this hotel. The views are to die for, the spa is really nice and the food is excellent. What more can I say?

Room Tip: If you really want to top off your vacation choose the River View for a few Euros more.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PeacekeeperMB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DanubiusHelia, yield & revenue manager at Danubius Hotel Helia, responded to this review, March 2, 2012
Dear Guest,

We would like to take this opportunity to thank you very much for posting a positive note about our hotel.
Detailed information you provided on our extensive services will be definitely very helpful for other travellers planning a trip to Budapest. A big thank you for that!
We are very happy to learn that our hotel has consistently met your expectations as a spa hotel, i.e. excellent food, nice rooms, good location and friendly & professional staff were all up to your expectations.
We hope to have the possibility of welcoming you back to our Hotel.

Best regards

Viktoria Boriszov
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,878 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    671
    854
    267
    48
    38
See reviews for
345
693
117
405
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (94)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Vienna, Austria
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed January 30, 2012

This hotel is one of my favourites in Budapest. It is located close to river Duna and the Margit Island, which is a great opportunity for sporty people, or thoose, who like to take a walk in fresh air. The rooms are very good sized, the bed is extra comfortable (I think I slept here the best in all of the hotels I ever visited), and the huge dark curtain in the rooms makes it possible to get a silent, and dark time in the bed. The staff is really helpfull and works with a nice manner. The spa is a little big smaller as I expected, but they have a swimming pool and a thermal bath also. The fitness room -as at most of the places- not so well equipped, only the basic machines. I would recommend the lounge and the restaurant for meetings, even if someone just wants to drop buy for a business lunch - this is a very elegant place to meet.

Room Tip: If you arrive with car, the hotel has a separated and secured parking area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank popmodel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DanubiusHelia, yield & revenue manager at Danubius Hotel Helia, responded to this review, February 2, 2012
Dear Valued Guest,

We would like to thank you very much for sharing your opinion about our hotel, especially the wonderful service, our nice location on the bank of the river Danube, and best sleep experience you ever had.
We are very happy that all our facilities were to your great satisfaction and hope to welcome you back to our Hotel soon again.

Best regards,

Viktoria Boriszov
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greece
Level Contributor
36 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed January 21, 2012

We had a comfortable stay in this hotel . Very clean rooms , excellent variety in breakfast and dinner.Quite close to center and very very close to margaret island. Very relaxing the swimming pool area

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Catherine-Tate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DanubiusHelia, yield & revenue manager at Danubius Hotel Helia, responded to this review, February 2, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback regarding your comfortable stay with us at our Danubius Health Spa Resort Helia.
We appreciate your kind comments regarding our favorable location, great spa area, very clean rooms and excellent meals.
Really look forward to welcoming you back to our Hotel int he future again.

Best regards,

Viktoria Boriszov
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lakewood, Colorado
Level Contributor
41 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed January 16, 2012

We stayed here on last days of our trip; honestly, I like to end the trip with a bang. And this place didn't bang. It's a decent hotel for the money; the rooms were clean and I slept pretty well in the bed. But it's not terribly unique and not very interesting. They are very proud of their spa, but after going to the baths at Gellert and Rudas, I was wanting more of an "authentic" experience. However, the metro is an easy walk, and it brings you right to the heart of the city. You will not be disappointed in Budapest, but you can probably find a more interesting experience if you're desiring more local flavor.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dirtriderroger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DanubiusHelia, yield & revenue manager at Danubius Hotel Helia, responded to this review, January 20, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for posting a comment about our Hotel on Tripadvisor.
Every feedback is important for us and we are glad that you liked our clean rooms, comfortable beds, extensive spa area and our location within close proximity to the metro.
Regarding the sytle of the Hotel, we agree that each guest has a special taste, i.e. perception of atmosphere and a wellness hotel cannot be compared with world famous authentic Baths of Budapest.

We hope that we will be able to welcome you back again soon.

Kind regards,

Viktoria Boriszov
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sofia, Bulgaria
Level Contributor
75 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed January 16, 2012

I was there for a workshop with my colleagues on the October 2011.
The location isn't very well/ there isn't metro stop nearby/ but hotel is at the river of Danube.
There isn't free Wi Fi and I think that the price of Wi Fi is expensive. I'd liked that the 4**** hotel has a free Wi Fi.
The room is large and clean.
There is spa zone but we didn't have time for it.
I liked the food at the restaurant and my colleagues, too.
Conditions for our company event were excellent.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ivan61Sofia_Bulgaria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DanubiusHelia, yield & revenue manager at Danubius Hotel Helia, responded to this review, January 17, 2012
Dear Guest,

We would like to take this opportunity to thank you very much for sharing your comments about your stay at our Danubius Health Spa resort Helia.
We are pleased to learn that you liked our clean rooms and were able to experience our restaurant delight.
Thank you for your feedback regarding WiFi, we will consider it as an improvement for the future.

We hope that we can welcome you back to our Hotel either on business or leisure and next time you shall find the opportunity to experience our great spa zone as well.

Kind regards,

Viktória Boriszov
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 7, 2012

but the staff at bar or rreception is the worst i have ever met,not helpful(exept the trainee)

Room Tip: all rooms are quiet and facing the danube
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Oussama B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DanubiusHelia, yield & revenue manager at Danubius Hotel Helia, responded to this review, January 8, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thak you for your review and for having chosen our Hotel during your stay in Budapest.
We are happy that you overall had a good experience of the value of our Hotel, rooms, cleanliness and very sorry to learn from your comment that not every department and service were up to your expectations.
Please accept our apologies that our staff at the reception and bar failed to provide with the best possible service.
It is much to our regret that you missed the opportunity to discuss the issue with us during your stay, in order to be able to improve it.

We do very much hope that you will find the time and opportunity to return to our Hotel and we can regain your confidence.

With kind regards,

Viktória Boriszov
yield & revenue manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
54 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed December 13, 2011

The hotel is located within 5 minutes of the blue metro station, 2 stations from Nyugati train station. The service was excellent and attentive. The hotel spa provided great relaxation after a day of walking in budapest.
The rooms were clean and specious and very comfortable.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jonatanw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DanubiusHelia, yield & revenue manager at Danubius Hotel Helia, responded to this review, January 9, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for posting a positive comment about our Hotel on Tripadvisor.
We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay with us, experienced our good location, excellent service, and pleased to learn that our great spa facilities, comfortable rooms were all to your satisfaction.
We do hope that we will have the opportunity of welcoming you to our Hotel in the future again.

With best regards,

Viktória Boriszov
yield & revenue manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Budapest hotels
Margaret Island
Danubius Health Spa Resort Margitsziget
Margaret Island
Danubius Grand Hotel Margitsziget
Gellert Hill
Danubius Hotel Gellert
Danubius Hotel Gellert
#96 of 333 in Budapest
5,766 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Aquincum Hotel Budapest
#123 of 333 in Budapest
1,406 reviews
Lion's Garden Hotel
#75 of 333 in Budapest
684 reviews
District VII / Jewish Quarter
Continental Hotel Budapest
Continental Hotel Budapest
#39 of 333 in Budapest
4,232 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Danubius Hotel Helia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Danubius Hotel Helia

Property: Danubius Hotel Helia
Address: Karpat utca 62-64., Budapest 1133, Hungary (Formerly Danubius Health Spa Resort Helia)
Phone Number:
Location: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Spa Hotel in Budapest
#27 Best Value Hotel in Budapest
#36 Business Hotel in Budapest
#52 Luxury Hotel in Budapest
#63 Romantic Hotel in Budapest
#68 Family Hotel in Budapest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Danubius Hotel Helia 4*
Number of rooms: 262
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Work or pleasure? We cater for both! What makes the Helia so special? That’s a matter of perspective. This is a wellness hotel with a wide range of fitness and spa services for guests in need of some pampering. However, it’s also a fully equipped conference hotel with all the facilities to host top quality professional events. The wellness and conference hotel is located in Budapest’s dynamic XIIIth district, on the bank of the Danube. The city centre is just 15 minutes away, while the nearby Margaret Island offers a host of recreational activities – from cycling, tennis and swimming to relaxing walks in beautiful parkland. Whether you’d like to unwind after work – or get away from work altogether – our wellness centre is the perfect spot. It has an adventure pool, swimming pool, sauna and a two-storey fitness club with stunning panoramic views. The hotel’s thermal bath is fed by natural thermal water from Margaret Island’s springs. Guests arriving by car can keep their vehicles safe in the hotel’s own car park, and travel into the centre by trolleybus or bus. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Danubius Hotel Helia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Danubius Health Spa Resort Helia Hotel Budapest
Danubius Health Hotel Helia
Danubius Health Budapest

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing