We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We love this place.”
Review of Radio Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Radio Inn
Ranked #192 of 335 Hotels in Budapest
Reviewed May 19, 2011

As always the place was clean, is in a safe neighborhood (day and night), and quiet. The price was great and it was for an apartment, not just a room. It gives you a chance to buy food in their lovely markets and cook a few things in the kitchen. The location is a few blocks from Hero's Square and the "yellow" metro is a few minutes walk, like three minutes if you stroll.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank wmcca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (41)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

7 - 13 of 41 reviews

Reviewed April 25, 2011

Radio Inn isn't flashy or plush, but it's very much of a piece with old Budapest, and is wonderfully situated for all kinds of exploration of the city, just two blocks from Andrassy Ut and the darling 1 line subway, and a short walk from the city park with the incredible Szechenyi baths, the Fine Arts Museum, and the Zoo. And even without the subway, the walk down Andrassy to downtown Pest is 1) only 20 minutes and 2) simply lovely. Radio Inn itself is simple and straight-forward. The rooms are large and airy with windows (or balconies) over the quiet street in front, or the tree-filled yards in the back. The furniture is a little tacky, but perfectly comfortable, and there's a simple kitchen (Radio Inn is great if you want to save a little money, or if you have kids and want to have some ready meals on hand). The neighborhood is mainly old mansions and embassies, quiet and beautiful, with trees and great architecture that encourage wandering walks. The better restaurants aren't next door, but as another reviewer mentioned, they're only 10 minutes away, and the money you save at Radio Inn allows you to have that extra glass of wine or pre-dinner Palincka without worrying. The staff was always friendly and helpful. When I come back to Budapest, and I certainly plan to, I will come back to Radio Inn.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank basileus9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2010

I stayed with my family at Radio Inn in July 2010 and we were very glad to have chosen this hotel. Good bargain (incredibly inexpensive in fact), a 2-bedroom-apartment where we could easily have cooked both breakfast and supper, if we had preferred to do so. The location was excellent - easy to reach from downtown with the cosy yellow metro line, pleasant surroundings, close to the art gallery and the museum with the fine El Greco collection etc by Hösök Tere, close to the City Park, on a quiet street close to embassies (with guards in the vicinity). At least two excellent restaurant very near the hotel.
We had no problems with getting good advice and help from the staff, the room was clean, we slept well. A good point to notice for peole with asthma and allergies: The laundry was washed with unperfumed detergent, and the windows can be opened.
The rooms have no air conditioning, though, so in summer you might feel a bit warm. The bathroom floor had a weird slant so it was always a bit wet. The breakfast was nothing special. But these are very very minor flaws. We will absolutey recommend this hotel to friends, and hope to return.
Pia

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank piai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2009

i used tripadvisor to pick this hotel; so, when we had a horrible experience i reread the reviews to see if i had missed something. i don't understand how people had positive things to say. the hotel was dirty, in ill repair, felt unsafe, the hotel staff was horrible, and the location was imperfect.
we had problems from the get-go. admittedly arriving before check in time, the receptionist was immediately rude about this fact. she agreed to lock up our luggage, but i was not convinced that it would be safe. (my concerns were valid; when we came back the room our luggage was in wasn't locked.) after occupying ourselves for a couple hours, we wanted to unload the rest of our stuff before trekking around the city; so, we went to see IF the room was ready. we were very aggressively informed that it was not check in time, and we should not try to check in early. no big deal, can we get change at least to buy lunch because the atm only gave us big bills? again, we got attitude, and a refusal; she did, ultimately, consent to change one bill. when we asked if there was a place for lunch nearby, she looked like she had no idea why we would ask her that and sent us off with horrible directions to nowhere. (with the exception of one nice guy, the rest of the staff was also unfriendly.)
when, we finally did check in; we found a room that hadn't been renovated in probably twenty years; toilet with a pullcord, gas stove that had to be lit by hand. old would have been okay if the place didn't look in disrepair; paint coming off the walls, etc. further, it was filthy; the floor hadn't been vacuumed, and i saw other people's hair, dust bunnies, fallen paint chips, bits of toilet tissue, and general dirt. the kitchen counters looked dirty, and there was a used sponge and gloves in the sink. not only that instead of beds, there were two long chaises in each room, each draped with a sheet that wasn't even big enough to cover it. there were plenty of towels, but the largest one barely wrapped around my body (and i'm small), and one was stained.
worse than lack of cleanliness, the room felt unsafe. the door looked like it could be knocked down with one swift blow, and the outdoor hallway did not stay lit at night.
other issues:
1. paper thin walls and high noise level; i must have woken up every hour thinking someone was in our room.
2. one morning there WAS someone in our room; my brother woke up at 7:15 to find the cleaning lady wandering around.
3. not only did they not clean our towels, but one day we came back to find dirty towels (like they'd been used to wipe up dirt) hanging in our bathroom.
4. even with the windows open (which made the room even noisier) the heat was quite uncomfortable.
5. they offered to call us a a cab to the airport when we left. they have a specific company they work with that 'offers a discount'. this sounded helpful as cab drivers in budapest are notorious for ripping off tourists. turns out the hotel was ripping us off and charging an extra 1000 huf.
6. there is very little in the immediate vicinity of the hotel except the park; it was hard to find a restaurant or even a market close to the hotel. there is a subway station a couple blocks away, which does get you into the heart of the city quickly, but i would not call this location "convenient".

i hated this hotel, felt like it really took away from my experience of an otherwise beautiful city, and would never recommend it.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank asmartgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
An Agoda Traveler
Reviewed June 6, 2009

  • Stayed: June 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank An Agoda Traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed February 20, 2009

Radio Inn is not luxurious but doesn't pretend to be; as a base in Pest it is ideal for families or anyone not looking for room service or high-count sheets. The value-to-cost ratio is very high indeed.

It is in a quiet area, very close to the excellent Budapest metro (the yellow line, which takes <10 minutes to downtown and <5 to the Oktogon area) and to the museums and parks off Heroes' Square. (In winter, you can skate in the park - it's a bit surreal, with an architectural folly of a castle overshadowing the outdoor rink.)

The apts are spacious enough if a bit sparsely furnished. They are clean & the staff helpful and accommodating. We had a 2 BR; each bedroom had two twin (and hard) beds. The kitchen (at least in our apt) had a gas ring and small fridge, which was sufficient. Eating out in Budapest was not as cheap as I expected so it was very nice to be able to go to a market (there are a couple delis just north of the apts, or a 24 hour one in the Oktogon.)

One bit of advice if you are on a compressed trip (eg 3 days) - a Budapest Card covers all metro/tram/bus services as well as giving you some discounts at hotels and baths. (And skating, as above!)

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CanariesPA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2008

Spent 3 days in Budapest in early August. Radio Inn provided a good base for exploring the city. We had a 2 Br apt, 2nd floor. Its a quiet neighborhood, just a block or so from the metro stop. A couple stops from Hero's Square and City Park, and couple stops from Octogon where there are lots of restaurants, shopping. Check out Paprika restaurant a few blocks away for a great traditional dinner. Recepion desk was extremely helpful arranging cab pickup, city tour reservation, restaurant recommendation, bath house, etc. We broke a toilet seat, but it was fixed by the time we returned from our touring. No internet access is a negative. Couldn't find any open wireless connections in immediate area, just in the Octogon area.
Good for families.

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank coyoband
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Budapest hotels
District V / Inner City
Aria Hotel Budapest
Aria Hotel Budapest
#1 of 335 in Budapest
1,205 reviews
Hotel Chesscom
#105 of 335 in Budapest
387 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
District V / Inner City
InterContinental Budapest
InterContinental Budapest
#27 of 335 in Budapest
3,510 reviews
District I / Buda
Hilton Budapest
Hilton Budapest
#15 of 335 in Budapest
4,378 reviews
Fraser Residence Budapest
#18 of 335 in Budapest
1,219 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Radio Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radio Inn

Address: Benczur utca 19, Budapest 1068, Hungary
Location: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #192 of 335 Hotels in Budapest
Hotel Class:3 star — Radio Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 34
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Radio Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radio Hotel Budapest
Radio Hotel Apartment

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing