We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great place to stay to explore Budapest and beyond”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Petnehazy Club Hotel
Ranked #181 of 336 Hotels in Budapest
Reviewed June 2, 2013

We chose this as it was available through RCI as a Time share exchange and we were not disappointed. We were looking for a place to base ourselves while we explored Budapest and the surrounding areas.

The hotel is located in the Buda Hills approximately 30 minutes by car from the centre of the City.

The accommodation is either hotel rooms or one or two bedroom chalets, we had a two bedroom chalet. The chalets are set on their own and are wooden construction and well appointed. There are two separate bedrooms with one bathroom and a pull out bed in the lounge/dining area to sleep another two if required. There is a full kitchen with everything you need except a dishwasher. The chalet had its own sauna.

The main hotel has a nice restaurant which we used on several occasions and it is worth a visit as it specialises in local cuisine and has a number of goose dishes on the menu.

There is free WiFi in the reception restaurant or for a small fee you can have it in your room.

There is an indoor (heated) and outdoor swimming pools as well as Tennis Courts.

The hotel does provide shuttle services to and from the airport and also into town for a fee however we hired a car. As long as you dont drive during the rush hours we found driving around to be relatively ease but make sure you have a GPS navigation system.

The hotel organizes various trips for Time Share guests, we did the city river cruise on the first day and also to the full day trip to Vienna, Austria. Both were good value the only problem with the Vienna trip was the size of the vehicle as it was a seven seat car and very cramped for a tall person.

We also went to a meal and local entertainment at the Vadaspark Restaurant which we thoroughly enjoyed.

Room Tip: Go for one of the chalets they are separated in the grounds and are one or two bedrooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kiwiman99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (149)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

60 - 66 of 149 reviews

Reviewed June 2, 2013

We enjoyed our four-night stay here in the main part of the hotel. The room was clean, pleasant and functional, with some cooking facilities too. The outside pool was just about warm enough (at the end of May) for a refreshing swim. It's in a beautiful location although a little isolated without a car but a 15 min walk finds you at a bus stop, local shop and cafe. 3 stops down on the bus will also take you to the local Tescos! To take a trip into the city took approx. 30 mins by bus/tram (make sure you have the local Forint currency as Euros will get you nowhere!) Ate in the restaurant a few times. Food was good with lots of goose options on the menu!? Service was slow and we found the waiters a little disinterested.
Helpfulness from reception was varied depending on who was working. When asking for directions I don't expect to get 'a face' when I tell them we don't have a car!
Overall a great place with 1 star knocked off for staff attitude and broken safe in room (reported but not fixed)

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bob B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 5, 2013 via mobile

It is a nice place for a family vacation. They have an inside and outside pool, nice and clean rooms and the nature around is breathtaking! Staff is very friendly and helpful, the whole is beautifully furnished with traditional hungarian touch.
A car is a must though. We had a really hard time finding the place the first time we came because there are no signs by the road and we almost gave up, but once we came there it was worth it. The center of Budapest is only 15-20 minutes away and you feel like you are isolated from civilisation here. A nice contrast to come back to after a long day of sightseeing! I would give it 5 stars but the trouble of finding it and poor brekfast took half a star each.

1  Thank Aida R
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
petnehazy, General Manager at Petnehazy Club Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 30, 2013

Dear Aida R,

Thank you very much for your kind review! We are glad to notice that you have had a great time in here at Petneházy. We know that unfortunately it is not easy to find us - we willing to take further steps to make it easier. For the breakfast - we are developing and we do hope that you are coming back soon so then you can try out a better breakfast for sure!

Wishing you the best,
Gyongyi Hajdu

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed April 1, 2013

I'll start by saying that March seems to be off-season for this hotel. It was probably less than 1/2 full judging by the parking lot and the few people that we saw in the restaurant. We stayed in a 1-bedroom bungalow that was very quaint with lots of wood and a nice, large porch. It had a private sauna and a small kitchen that had all of what we needed for our week there. The setting is very nice, set in the Buda hills, about 20 minutes from downtown Budapest. It was very quiet and very comfortable. The restaurant had a reasonably-priced menu and the service was excellent. We rented a car and there was ample parking right outside our door. There was a 2-day conference at the resort so the parking was full during "business" hours but at night, it was back to normal. We're already thinking of when we can go back since we enjoyed it so much.

Room Tip: If you are able to get a bungalow, that may be the better option since if there is a wedding or othe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lisa C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2013

The houses are very confortable and spacious, as well as the space around is very delightful. In the restaurant the kids corner is very helpful, and the food is traditional and well done. Breakfast medium level, but the service is not very attentive to the clients.
In general Very Good, as far as we visited it during the winter and did not use the outdoor facilities.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 1Alexandra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2013

I've spent the last 2 days of the year here with my Family: wife + 2 children (3+6) in a small wooden house.
We wanted to spend a peaceful new year's eve in the woods and this place served our need!
In the wooden house for 4 (there are other type for 6 people) there is a bedroom, a small fully equipped kitchen, a bathroom with sauna(!) and a living room with a coach that can be opened (~44 square meter). There are many wooden houses around, but its not disturbing. The house was clean and nice furniture, although the couch was a bit uncomfortable (next time I would choose a house for 6 even if we are only 4).
Breakfast was ok (nothing special, but was fine and enough and included in the price), did not try other meals as we could cook in the fully equipped kitchen.
The breakfast is served in the hotel itself, the hotel has a swimming pool, but its not a big deal, does not worth mentioning... I would not come here for the spa... and we used our sauna in the house a lot instead!
The hotel is at the edge of Budapest in nice surroundings, close to nature reserve, forest and some attractions (like "Budakeszi vadaspark", "Jánoshegy", and inner city is also ~20min away...) but as we are from Budapest dont really cared :-) .
Kids injoyed a lot also the place and we were not at home for new years eve...
Compared to new year's eve the price was not so expensive neither and the staff was kind and helpful.
I will certenly come back in other seasons to do some excursions + horse riding (as there is also a riding club nearby).

Room Tip: choose a wooden house with 2 bedrooms (for 6 people)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank imiland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 20, 2012 via mobile

We had a two bedrm, 1 bath chalet with a sauna which was awesome as most of the time the weather was cold, windy, and rainy. Nice to return to in the evenings. We don't go on vacation to cook so we were pleased with the restaurant's menu. Soups were WOW, along with a great, great Sunday buffet. Prices were in line with USA prices. Other reviewers have left very misleading info about walking to a grocery store or eating at a restaurant close by. Believe me, nothing is close by. These places are a 15 minute drive not a walk. The road is narrow, no shoulders and would be terribly dangerous at night as for the most part not lighted. The staff is very helpful and as you are stuck if you don't have a car, the tours are for the most part good. The bad part of our stay at Petnehazy is that transportation to and from Budapest is quite expensive and is quite a distance. My advise is rent a car with an English GPS. People act as if the traffic is horrendous and parking nonexistent. They need to drive in the metroplex area and get a real experience with heavy traffic and poor parking.

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank traveldivaao
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Budapest hotels
Óbuda-Békásmegyer
Alfa Art Hotel
Alfa Art Hotel
#194 of 336 in Budapest
36 reviews
Holiday Inn Budapest-Budaors
#125 of 336 in Budapest
234 reviews
Park Inn By Radisson Budapest
#126 of 336 in Budapest
407 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Manzard Panzio
#145 of 336 in Budapest
62 reviews
Zugló
Danubius Hotel Arena
Danubius Hotel Arena
#114 of 336 in Budapest
1,634 reviews
Hotel Regnum Residence
#92 of 336 in Budapest
993 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Petnehazy Club Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Petnehazy Club Hotel

Address: Feketefej utca 2 - 4, Budapest 1029, Hungary
Location: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #181 of 336 Hotels in Budapest
Price Range: $58 - $130 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Petnehazy Club Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 77
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Petnehazy Club Hotel is located in the green area of Budapest, in the amazing 'Adyliget' - where silence meet the comfort - and they together make your stay perfect! The Petnehazy Club Hotel's natural style wood cottages are all equipped with a kitchen and kitchenettes, bathroom and an own sauna! You can use the sauna in your apartment house/cottage for free - anytime you feel like you can turn it on. In the main building our covered indoor swimming-pool is waiting for you with the main sauna and a relaxation area. Enjoy the delicious meals of our brand new Petnehazy Club Restaurant - opening in February 2012 - try the Hungarian kitchen and have a glass of real quality wine!You can even play tennis in our professional tennis court (opened all year long), or take a long walk in the fresh air of Buda-Hills!If you are about to have an active vacation full of outdoor programmes or you prefer the relaxation in the calmness of nature - your best choice in Budapest is the Petnehazy Club Hotel! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Petnehazy Club Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Petnehazy Hotel Budapest

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing