We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Expensive for transportation into Budapest and back to resort.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Petnehazy Club Hotel
Ranked #155 of 342 Hotels in Budapest
Ardmore, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
90 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Expensive for transportation into Budapest and back to resort.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 20, 2012 via mobile

We had a two bedrm, 1 bath chalet with a sauna which was awesome as most of the time the weather was cold, windy, and rainy. Nice to return to in the evenings. We don't go on vacation to cook so we were pleased with the restaurant's menu. Soups were WOW, along with a great, great Sunday buffet. Prices were in line with USA prices. Other reviewers have left very misleading info about walking to a grocery store or eating at a restaurant close by. Believe me, nothing is close by. These places are a 15 minute drive not a walk. The road is narrow, no shoulders and would be terribly dangerous at night as for the most part not lighted. The staff is very helpful and as you are stuck if you don't have a car, the tours are for the most part good. The bad part of our stay at Petnehazy is that transportation to and from Budapest is quite expensive and is quite a distance. My advise is rent a car with an English GPS. People act as if the traffic is horrendous and parking nonexistent. They need to drive in the metroplex area and get a real experience with heavy traffic and poor parking.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank traveldivaao
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

140 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    38
    54
    33
    11
    4
See reviews for
38
60
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Lincolnshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 12, 2012

It was the first time my husband and I had visited Hungary which was very beautiful. However, although the Peteahazy was situated in very pretty surroundings, we thought generally it was all a bit run down, particularly the Hotel. The outside badly needed painting (which is one's first impression on arrival) and parts of the fence needed replacing. The outside pool was partly covered in green algae with no sign saying whether it was actually in use or not!! Tried breakfast first 2 mornings. Service was poor, limited cereals, no cereal bowls, no juice etc so after complaining and very little being done to alleviate the problem, we gave up on that. Cabins away from hotel are fine, but beware, they only sleep 2 people comfortably although there is accommodation for 4. The Petnehazy is situated outside of Budapest therefore transport is needed to get anywhere. This was OK for us as we are able-bodied and didn't mind the walk to the bus, but for people who couldn't negotiate the up-hill walk home they would have to pay for transport to take them to bus stop or into Budapest. Come on RCI, given the position of Hotel, there should be a courtesy bus to and from the bus stop at least.

On the positive side, the tours, although a bit pricey, were good. The gardens/lawns and shrubs were kept tidy, Did not try the restaurant for evening meal as we found a much cheaper restaurant across the road from bus stop and can fully recommend that.

Lastly there are lots of lovely walks around the hotel, through woods, country lanes etc, but no-one could give us a map with some trails to follow which was a great shame. I'm sure lots of people if provided with a map and packed lunch, could have a good cheap day out. Think the hotel is missing out there.

Room Tip: Keep away from main hotel. Weekends are busy and partying goes on until early hours
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank damau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
49 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 9, 2012

Very peaceful and beautiful setting. We stayed in a 2 bedroom bungalow for 6 but was pleased that there was just the two off us as the bathroom is off the living area so not ideal if using the bed settee. The kitchen was very basic and the bungalow did not have the usual time share touches - DVD player, radio etc. We ate in the restaurant twice which was very reasonabe. No atmosphere at the bar with just 4 bar stools. There is pubic transport into Budapest but do strongly advise a car as there is no shop on the complex so even for the basics you have a 15 minute walk downhill to the nearest shop. If you arrive off an evening flight take basics with you for breakfast.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joyce B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gothenburg, Sweden
Level Contributor
42 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

Me and my wife had one of the separate houses with a sauna and a really nice porch. We loved the house and since it was in the middle of October I guess it was a bit out of season so it was really quiet and calm. The only thing that we actually can complain about is the fact that we were forgotten one evening when we were supposed to be picked up by their shuttle back from town, so we had to wait more than an hour for transport. As a compensation we got the transport to the airport free, so it aint too bad.

Room Tip: Take a house.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Roger A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redlands, California
Level Contributor
352 reviews
107 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 157 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2012

After reading about the wedding parties others encounterd, I requested a cabin away from the main area. We faced open green field where local fire/police trained their dogs and hills.
It was quiet - big covered patio is also relaxing.
It is like staying a mountain log cabin - nothing fancy. Kitchin is small but enough of everything.
I would think there maybe a problem for summer stay due to the lack of air conditioner, no screened windows. Yes, lighting is dark as it was mentioned before.
Front Desk - it all depends of who is there. We did not attend RCI informational meeting so we were pretty much on our own. We had a rental car - we found a free parking at "StopShop" strip mall at the "Y" where roads splits few kilo down, walk across the road, down the hill to catch train to budapest. You can get formal horse riding lesson next door - 30 min. private lesson for only about $20! There are some instructors who speak English.
We loved the heated pool - 1.6m depth and it is warm!
Do your own research - having GPS equipped computer with map got us everywhere.
The resort provide own transportation to train and tours for fees but you will able to enjoy more if you do your own research. We will difinately use this place again!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank oldprune
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington, Vermont
Level Contributor
52 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2012

First off, let me say that I really enjoyed the location as it is outside of town but easily reachable by public transportation. And also, the restaurant was pretty good and reasonably price. Now for the bad...there is no way this should be considered a timeshare property. It felt more like a college dorm. When we arrived, it was late afternoon. Check in was fine, went to the room and opened the door to approximately 130 degree heat! Went to ask for a fan to help air it out and told that it was an extra charge. Several other issues with the room...etc, all lightbulbs out, no tissue paper, one towel. The room itself was very small and the kitchen is not much more than a hot plate. I can't believe this is considered a timeshare. The first night there was a wedding, which was fine. But the DJ blasting music until 2 am was not. The grounds themselves have potential if they were maintained, but they were not. I am certainly not used to five star...more like two star and/or hostel but this should not be considered a timesare property. Sorry, wish I had more positive things too say.

Room Tip: The bungalows looked nice but stay away from the "college dorm".
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank chargers22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paphos, Cyprus
Level Contributor
231 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 7, 2012

We spent a week here as part of a timeshare swap. The hotel was in a nice location in the Buda Hills and it was nice to come back here after a busy day of sightseeing in central Budapest. The staff were friendly and helpful. Using public transport, it takes around 45 minutes to get into the city centre, this includes a 15 minute walk to the main road from the hotel. We only ate in the restaurant once and it was nice, a set degustation menu with traditional Hungarian dishes. Overall, an enjoyable experience.

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Polisgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Budapest
2.7 mi away
Vadvirag Panzio
Vadvirag Panzio
#168 of 342 in Budapest
4.5 of 5 bubbles 8 reviews
9.0 mi away
ABACUS Business & Wellness Hotel
5.0 mi away
Globall Hotel
Globall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Telki
4.0 of 5 bubbles 13 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.9 mi away
Vitta Hotel Superior Budapest
Vitta Hotel Superior Budapest
#158 of 342 in Budapest
3.5 of 5 bubbles 85 reviews
2.7 mi away
Beatrix Hotel - Budapest
Beatrix Hotel - Budapest
#157 of 342 in Budapest
4.5 of 5 bubbles 36 reviews
10.6 mi away
CEU Conference Center
CEU Conference Center
#169 of 342 in Budapest
4.0 of 5 bubbles 28 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Petnehazy Club Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Petnehazy Club Hotel

Property: Petnehazy Club Hotel
Address: Feketefej utca 2 - 4, Budapest 1029, Hungary
Location: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #155 of 342 Hotels in Budapest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Petnehazy Club Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 77
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Petnehazy Club Hotel is located in the green area of Budapest, in the amazing 'Adyliget' - where silence meet the comfort - and they together make your stay perfect! The Petnehazy Club Hotel's natural style wood cottages are all equipped with a kitchen and kitchenettes, bathroom and an own sauna! You can use the sauna in your apartment house/cottage for free - anytime you feel like you can turn it on. In the main building our covered indoor swimming-pool is waiting for you with the main sauna and a relaxation area. Enjoy the delicious meals of our brand new Petnehazy Club Restaurant - opening in February 2012 - try the Hungarian kitchen and have a glass of real quality wine!You can even play tennis in our professional tennis court (opened all year long), or take a long walk in the fresh air of Buda-Hills!If you are about to have an active vacation full of outdoor programmes or you prefer the relaxation in the calmness of nature - your best choice in Budapest is the Petnehazy Club Hotel! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Petnehazy Club Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Petnehazy Hotel Budapest

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing