We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good hotel, even... hot”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Peregrinus ELTE Hotel
Ranked #139 of 342 Hotels in Budapest
Certificate of Excellence
Iasi, Romania
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Good hotel, even... hot”
Reviewed August 18, 2013

Well, I was with my family (3 persons) for formula 1 week-end, in a very hot and animated Budapest. The location of the hotel is excellent, near oane of the most famous commercial streets in eastern Europe: Vaci utca (Vaci street). Another plus is that the hotel is very close to the Danube.
The location of the hotel helps you to walk along the center o historical Budapest, a very superb city.
Despite the fact that the hotel does not have parking area, you have no worry. The oneway streets have in both parts a lot of parking. The schedule for parking: 8.00 - 20.00 (440 HUF/hour, 3 hours max). After 8.00 o'clock PM, 'till 8.00 in the morning, the parking is free. Likewise the weekend.
It is a very cozy and quiet hotel, use an alarm clock if you want to get up. Despite the central area, is a very silence flat.

Room Tip: Don't worry about parking
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CucuMucuMotorsport
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

107 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    29
    54
    16
    4
    4
See reviews for
13
27
30
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
36 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2013

Pros:
-Great location near loads of shops, restaurants, and the river.
-Very helpful staff (they even made our reservation at the baths for a massage for no extra charge. -And they let you bring their towels with you, saving you having to rent them)
-Wifi included
-elevator
-tv with cable (including a few channels in English)
-elevator

Cons: very skimpy breakfast

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marqgal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Castelo Branco, Portugal
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 17, 2013

I have booked in this hotel because it was very near the Eötvös Loránd University where I was attending a meeting for a week. The room that was assigned to me had no air conditioned, although the temperatures outside were around 34ºC and inside the room more than 30ºC. When I complained they decided to show me an air conditioned room in the attic, with no opening windows, but temperature in the attic was more than 40ºC in the corridor and also inside the room. So I decided to stay in the first room, although I knew I was unable to sleep with that kind of heat. At the same time, I decided to move to another hotel the next day, but they charged me two nights although I only stayed one night, because they said I had a reservation for more days. The reason I had to move was directly concerned with the lack of conditions in this hotel, that clearly should be closed when temperatures are high. Unfortunately they overcharged me because I could not sleep in there.
Also the hotel should be classified with one star, if any, instead of three stars they show outside.
Do not stay in this hotel, besides having no conditions is a complete rip-off !!!
João Pedro Luz.

Room Tip: Do not stay in this hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JPLuz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerset West, South Africa
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed April 9, 2013

My wife and I enjoyed our stay at this good priced, centrally located hotel. We had a special personal experience with some of the staff members even though their English was not fluent. The hotel even did our washing at our request at no extra cost!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank koenej
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 24, 2013

The staff is very kind, nice and helpful, especially the lady who takes care about the breakfast.
The rooms are bright, tidy, clean and very big.
The position is great and the prices are more than reasonable.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alessia_mcduck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grenoble
Level Contributor
47 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed February 2, 2013

I have stayed in Peregrinus hotel several times while visiting a colleague at the University. The hotel is smart and has real style. I always found the rooms clean. The minibars work well. The staff are all very friendly. The breakfast is nice and is run by a lovely kind and helpful lady!! I look forward to my next trip there.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank funkylittlefrog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Jetty, Australia
Level Contributor
80 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed December 16, 2012

Perfect location at a reasonable price

The Peregrinus ELTE is about 70 metres from the main shopping mall, Vaci Utca, and fairly close to the metro, tram and bus network. The room price is very reasonable and the quality of the rooms is excellent. One disadvantage is that its difficult to find. Arriving by train we then took the subway train to Ference Ter and it wasn’t until I found the tourist office that we got a marked map to direct us to the hotel. Even with the streets listed, none of the locals – even 2 police- could point us in the correct direction. It took an hour to eventually find the hotel. I suggest the hotel could email a detailed map when confirming a booking.
Check in was friendly but formal. The room very large with twin beds pushed together – quite comfortable. There were 2 wardrobes, ample shelves, stocked bar fridge, 2 windows overlooking a street and a church across the road, desk and chair, and a table with 2 chairs. The bathroom was off the entrance hall opposite the wardrobes. A very spacious bedroom, however, the bathroom is small by comparison.
Breakfast was good – juices, breads, meats, cheese, cereals, tea, coffee, toast, but no hot serve only boiled eggs. WiFi was excellent with fast reception. I wish my home connection was as good. Hotel staff were very obliging with a requested late check-out. We were allowed us to stay in our room late then they stored our bags and allowed us to change our clothes before heading to the airport in the afternoon.
On the negative side, the garbage collection is every morning at 6 with plastic bins banging around downstairs. Also, cars and other vehicles on cobblestone street are noisy through the nite. Therefore you should avoid street view rooms. Also the walls are quite thin – we could hear the TV and talking from adjoining rooms. And finally, the bed quilt was not long enough for my 183cm.
WARNING: Two Budapest taxi drivers tried to rip us off. One saying it would be 4000 forint to the hotel when the fare is 2500 from the main station about 3 kilometres away. The other saying that the fare to the airport was 2000 forint more than the metered fare. Be sure you set a price before you get into the taxi.
.

Room Tip: Avoid street view rooms because of the noise. Get a good map of the hotel location before you try...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BL1947
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Budapest hotels
Hotel Kalvin House
#103 of 342 in Budapest
407 reviews
District V / Inner City
Cosmo City Hotel
Cosmo City Hotel
#59 of 342 in Budapest
707 reviews
District V / Inner City
Residence Baron
Residence Baron
#51 of 342 in Budapest
664 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
District V / Inner City
Estilo Fashion Hotel
Estilo Fashion Hotel
#47 of 342 in Budapest
1,050 reviews
District V / Inner City
Hotel Rum Budapest
Hotel Rum Budapest
#17 of 342 in Budapest
257 reviews
District V / Inner City
City Hotel Matyas
City Hotel Matyas
#127 of 342 in Budapest
710 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Peregrinus ELTE Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Peregrinus ELTE Hotel

Property: Peregrinus ELTE Hotel
Address: Szerb utca 3, Budapest 1056, Hungary
Location: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest > District V / Inner City , Belváros-Lipótváros
Amenities:
Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #139 of 342 Hotels in Budapest
Hotel Class:3 star — Peregrinus ELTE Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Peregrinus ELTE Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing