We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,195)
Filter reviews
2,195 results
Traveler rating
1,567
540
73
11
4
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
1,567
540
73
11
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviews beautiful hotel tram stop public transport sparkling wine junior suite bathroom door the river new york cafe breakfast buffet high ceilings jewish quarter beautiful room stayed for nights mini bar would highly recommend this hotel ruin bars cold meats
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
10 - 15 of 2,195 reviews
Reviewed May 28, 2019

The hotel is next door to the underground rail system with easy access to everywhere in Budapest. It is an old building that has been renovated inside, and it tastefully decorated.
Staff service was very good and he food was quite good as well.
The rooms are a bit small for an MGallery hotel, but are quite tasteful and the bathroom is functional though needs a few hand rails to avoid accidents.
The room was quiet and the air conditioning and drying rack worked well.
With a bit more room, I would have given it 5 stars.

Room tip: Get a high floor
Date of stay: May 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank ClaudiusSg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zoltan K, Front Office Supervisor at Hotel Nemzeti Budapest - MGallery, responded to this reviewResponded May 29, 2019

Dear ClaudiusSg,

Thank you very much for sharing your review with us about your recent stay at Hotel Nemzeti Budapest. Your feedback as our valued guest is very important to us!

Here at MGallery we always strive to provide great memories and service to every guest and we are thrilled that your stay was relaxing and comfortable.Thank you for mentioning the historical building with tasteful decoration, courteous service and delicious meals. I will relay your feedback on the team and I am sure they will be delighted to hear your positive and constructive comments.

Best regards,
Norbert Éberling

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 26, 2019 via mobile

On a main transfer line, makes this hotel an ideal point to explore the city. You are about a 8 minute ride from the river and parliament, maybe an 15 minute ride from the central market. The staff is very knowledgeable and helpful. Our room was ultramodern, while the hotel retains the classic old world charm. The breakfast buffet includes classic Hungarian foods for your enjoyment. The cafe is great for quick snack or dinner. The quality of the food is top shelf.

Date of stay: May 2019
Trip type: Traveled with family
Thank HickoryDDoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zoltan K, Front Office Supervisor at Hotel Nemzeti Budapest - MGallery, responded to this reviewResponded May 29, 2019

Dear HickoryDDoc,

The team joins me in gratitude for sharing your recent experiences at Hotel Nemzeti Budapest.

We always strive to provide memorable and relaxing stay there it is our great pleasure to know that you enjoyed the location, modern room, breakfast with Hungarian and international meals as well as the courteousness of our personnel.

Thank you for your kind feedback, and we hope to see you again soon for another Memorable journey with us.

Best regards,
Norbert Éberling

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 26, 2019 via mobile

Beautiful old outside facade, a very welcome calm and clean hotel in a rather dodgy yet central surrounding. Not a top notch MGallery example but really ok. Room was very quiet, oriented on the inner courtyard. Newly redone but in rather cold /functional ambiance. Amenities were nonames and of rather poor quality. Very comfy bed! Very nice breakfast room witha great choice. Breakfast inroom was „difficult“ (first time not coming at all, second with only half of orders and one time all perfect). Good hotel for a business stay, wouldn‘t go there for a romantic weekend.

Date of stay: May 2019
Trip type: Traveled solo
Thank Vigouille
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zoltan K, Front Office Supervisor at Hotel Nemzeti Budapest - MGallery, responded to this reviewResponded May 29, 2019

Dear Vigouille,

Thank you for taking time to review Hotel Nemzeti Budapest, MGallery by Sofitel.

Our hotel is indeed situated in the center of Budapest, I am sorry if you did not like the surroundings. We greatly value all feedback and it is delighting to know that your room was quiet, the bed was comfortable and the breakfast delicious.
We have also noted your constructive comments and do our best to improve as we always strive for providing excellent service.

Best regards,
Norbert Éberling

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 25, 2019 via mobile

I was there with my wife and two daughters for a family holiday. Despite my reservation through Agoda.com was for 2+2 people eventally the hotel got reservation for 2 only. However the hotel staff was amazing and upgraded our room and breakfast to 4 people without any problems and without telling us that its Agoda's fault. This is only one example of the amazing service in this hotel. The staff at every part of the hotel is responsive, kind and helpful. The room was great.amazing view from the 5th floor towards gellert Mt. and very nice design. Very clean equipped with mini bar and Nespresso machine. We really enjoyed great and fresh breakfast with big varaiety of dishes and a la cart menu. Great coffee as well. The location is big strenth of this hotel as it located just above M2 terminal and with access to lines 4,6 and more that leads you in few min everywhere you need. But in fact main attractions can be arroved few min by foot. And we really loved on the hotel the fact its an old refurnished buulding. The only small thing to be improved is too soft beds for our feeling
I defenitly recommend this hotel

Date of stay: May 2019
Trip type: Traveled with family
1  Thank ShayA527
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MGalleryBudapest, Front Office Supervisor at Hotel Nemzeti Budapest - MGallery, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear ShayA527,

We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Hotel Nemzeti Budapest - MGallery by Sofitel.

We are delighted to read that you had an excellent stay with your family and enjoyed your visit at our hotel. It is always encouraging to learn that guests are satisfied with our service as it is what we strive for every day. At MGallery by Sofitel, we do our utmost to provide a superior service experience for every customer therefore we are glad that you enjoyed your upgraded room, the view to Gellért Hill, cleanliness, location and the dedicated and courteous service from our team.
Rest assured I will forward your encouraging words to everyone.

We are looking forward to accommodate you in our hotel again shall you return to Budapest in the future.

Best regards,
Norbert Éberling

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 19, 2019

The hotel is in a historic building and close to the train station. The ruin bars, restaurants, and convenience stores are close by. The room is small but equipped with all amenities. They provide bathrooms, slippers, water, etc. The bathroom is modern but small. The reception staff is friendly.

Date of stay: April 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nomadpinktan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zoltan K, Front Office Supervisor at Hotel Nemzeti Budapest - MGallery, responded to this reviewResponded May 29, 2019

Dear nomadpinktan,

It is our pleasure to receive your positive feedback and thank you for choosing Hotel Nemzeti Budapest.

We glad to hear that the location, well equipped room with the amenities and the friendliness of our dedicated team was to your satisfaction. Rest assured I will relay your encouraging words on everyone to keep up the good work.

We trust to have the chance to welcome you back to Budapest in the future.

Best regards,
Norbert Éberling

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews