We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,196)
Filter reviews
2,196 results
Traveler rating
1,568
540
73
11
4
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
1,568
540
73
11
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviews beautiful hotel tram stop public transport sparkling wine junior suite bathroom door the river new york cafe breakfast buffet high ceilings jewish quarter beautiful room stayed for nights mini bar would highly recommend this hotel ruin bars cold meats
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
12 - 17 of 2,196 reviews
Reviewed May 26, 2019 via mobile

Beautiful old outside facade, a very welcome calm and clean hotel in a rather dodgy yet central surrounding. Not a top notch MGallery example but really ok. Room was very quiet, oriented on the inner courtyard. Newly redone but in rather cold /functional ambiance. Amenities were nonames and of rather poor quality. Very comfy bed! Very nice breakfast room witha great choice. Breakfast inroom was „difficult“ (first time not coming at all, second with only half of orders and one time all perfect). Good hotel for a business stay, wouldn‘t go there for a romantic weekend.

Date of stay: May 2019
Trip type: Traveled solo
Thank Vigouille
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zoltan K, Front Office Supervisor at Hotel Nemzeti Budapest - MGallery, responded to this reviewResponded May 29, 2019

Dear Vigouille,

Thank you for taking time to review Hotel Nemzeti Budapest, MGallery by Sofitel.

Our hotel is indeed situated in the center of Budapest, I am sorry if you did not like the surroundings. We greatly value all feedback and it is delighting to know that your room was quiet, the bed was comfortable and the breakfast delicious.
We have also noted your constructive comments and do our best to improve as we always strive for providing excellent service.

Best regards,
Norbert Éberling

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 25, 2019 via mobile

I was there with my wife and two daughters for a family holiday. Despite my reservation through Agoda.com was for 2+2 people eventally the hotel got reservation for 2 only. However the hotel staff was amazing and upgraded our room and breakfast to 4 people without any problems and without telling us that its Agoda's fault. This is only one example of the amazing service in this hotel. The staff at every part of the hotel is responsive, kind and helpful. The room was great.amazing view from the 5th floor towards gellert Mt. and very nice design. Very clean equipped with mini bar and Nespresso machine. We really enjoyed great and fresh breakfast with big varaiety of dishes and a la cart menu. Great coffee as well. The location is big strenth of this hotel as it located just above M2 terminal and with access to lines 4,6 and more that leads you in few min everywhere you need. But in fact main attractions can be arroved few min by foot. And we really loved on the hotel the fact its an old refurnished buulding. The only small thing to be improved is too soft beds for our feeling
I defenitly recommend this hotel

Date of stay: May 2019
Trip type: Traveled with family
1  Thank ShayA527
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MGalleryBudapest, Front Office Supervisor at Hotel Nemzeti Budapest - MGallery, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear ShayA527,

We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Hotel Nemzeti Budapest - MGallery by Sofitel.

We are delighted to read that you had an excellent stay with your family and enjoyed your visit at our hotel. It is always encouraging to learn that guests are satisfied with our service as it is what we strive for every day. At MGallery by Sofitel, we do our utmost to provide a superior service experience for every customer therefore we are glad that you enjoyed your upgraded room, the view to Gellért Hill, cleanliness, location and the dedicated and courteous service from our team.
Rest assured I will forward your encouraging words to everyone.

We are looking forward to accommodate you in our hotel again shall you return to Budapest in the future.

Best regards,
Norbert Éberling

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 19, 2019

The hotel is in a historic building and close to the train station. The ruin bars, restaurants, and convenience stores are close by. The room is small but equipped with all amenities. They provide bathrooms, slippers, water, etc. The bathroom is modern but small. The reception staff is friendly.

Date of stay: April 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nomadpinktan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zoltan K, Front Office Supervisor at Hotel Nemzeti Budapest - MGallery, responded to this reviewResponded May 29, 2019

Dear nomadpinktan,

It is our pleasure to receive your positive feedback and thank you for choosing Hotel Nemzeti Budapest.

We glad to hear that the location, well equipped room with the amenities and the friendliness of our dedicated team was to your satisfaction. Rest assured I will relay your encouraging words on everyone to keep up the good work.

We trust to have the chance to welcome you back to Budapest in the future.

Best regards,
Norbert Éberling

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 12, 2019 via mobile

Booked this for two couples for a long weekend on back of lots of excellent reviews. Booked superior room and requested bath and quieter room at back, facing courtyard and away from street.
Got neither but were given a suite on 5th floor which was fine. Friends also booked superior room but were given small room on 2nd floor.
Hotel is in an excellent spot, close to everything and all transport options. We walked to almost everything.
Reception staff went above and beyond to be helpful, calling tour companies, booking restaurants and helping print boarding cards.
Let down by breakfast that didn’t have great choices, ran out of food by 9.45am even though supposed to be serving until 10.30am and bringing out cold cooked food. Not acceptable in a 4* hotel. You know how many people are staying in your hotel.
Didn’t spoil our stay, but need to get food sorted.

Date of stay: May 2019
Trip type: Traveled with friends
Thank Dr_Gis64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MGalleryBudapest, Front Office Supervisor at Hotel Nemzeti Budapest - MGallery, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Dr_Gis64,

Thank you very much for sharing your recent experience about your stay at Hotel Nemzeti Budapest, MGallery by Sofitel.

We are glad to learn that you liked the location, the courteous and professional service from our reception team. We constantly strive to exceed our guest’s expectations and it is always satisfying to hear that these efforts were noticed.
On the other hand please accept our apology for the inconvenience at breakfast on your last day. Please rest assured that we investigated the issue and taking the appropriate measures to address the problem and prevent its future occurrence.
As for your comments on the rooms, allow me to add that in the category you booked (superior room) we do not have any rooms with bath therefore this was the reason we upgraded you to one of our Junior Suite hoping that it will enhance your stay.

Once again we are grateful for sharing your experience and we look forward welcoming you back at our hotel in the future with an even better experience.

Best regards,
Norbert Éberling

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 6, 2019 via mobile

Great place. All the staff are very helpful in a beautiful building with a decorative stain glass ceiling in the restaurant and ornate decor. Breakfast had a superb choice
Rooms comfortable with a great wet room
All the staff were friendly and helped with useful tips to see the wonderful area
Transport right on our door stop which was really easy to use
Would definitely recommend.

Date of stay: May 2019
Trip type: Traveled with friends
Thank F1505HYiant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zoltan K, Rooms Division Manager at Hotel Nemzeti Budapest - MGallery, responded to this reviewResponded May 7, 2019

Dear "Tebbs",

Thank you so much for sharing the excellent experience you recently had at the Hotel Nemzeti, we are delighted to read, how much you liked the decor of the hotel, how much you enjoyed the breakfast an the comfort of the room. I will share your kind words with the rest of the team to further inspire them in their daily efforts.
We also really appreciate your recommendation. I hope we will have the chance to welcome you back soon for another memorable stay.

Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews