We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No hang up hostel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Marco Polo Top Ho(s)tel
Ranked #27 of 682 Specialty Lodging in Budapest
Reviewed August 8, 2012 via mobile

If you are struggling to find a place last minute or just need a place pretty centrally located to both the train station (one metro stop away), easy walk to the opera house where cafes, restaurants and shops line the street...go for Marco polo.

There is nothing incredible about it. But laundry can even be done here if you bring your own soap. A large grocery store is also in the area.

Expect a hostel like quality with a touch of hotel atmosphere.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank schmoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (438)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

195 - 201 of 438 reviews

Reviewed August 1, 2012

When we arrived at our original hostel it was boarded up and terrifying looking! So we trailed to find another, and thankfully found this one! We were given a 4 bedded room with private bathroom. Room was clean, had a bunk bed and 2 single beds which was great. There was a washing machine and dryer along the hall which was fab! Great location, and great receptionists who helped us work the laundrette and booked us a day at the thermal baths! 100% recommend this place!

Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
1  Thank Sarah X
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2012

I stayed in this hostel with 3 girlfriends for 2 nights. We booked a 4-beded room with a private bathroom. Room was ok and the bathroom was very large which we didn't expect so it was a nice suprise.
Location is also very good, but breakfast was very poor. Anyway, one average hostel!

Stayed: March 2012, traveled with friends
Thank Gega_1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2012

I booked into the Marco Polo Hostel for five nights at the end of June/beginning July. I stayed for one night. It was awful.

I booked into a dorm, which I've generally had good experiences with. I travel mostly on my own and as a lone female I always try to book female only dorms, but a mixed dorm was the only option in this case. Fair do's.

Looking around the 12 bed en suite dorm, I was interested to find that the bathroom door didn't actually close, and couldn't be locked. There was nowhere private out of the showers to get changed, and since it was a mixed dorm, you're in a room with a bunch of strangers - it would be nice to be able to get changed in private wouldn't it?

Anyway, after having a very brief shower I went to my bunk. The bunks are in twos, with a curtain across the end - basically it's like a twin room with bunk beds. I had a nap and when I woke up there was a hairy guy in the bed above me - I'm sure he was lovely but it doesn't exactly make you feel safe. 'We're just going to put this strange guy in the bed above you and draw the curtain across like some sort of weird Blind Date'.

The wifi, which is massively important if you're travelling on your own - only works in the lobby. Fair enough I guess, at least it works. While I was using the wifi once a group of drunken Germans started shouting at me (I think because I'm female - maybe this is a novelty), no one did anything to stop them despite the staff being right there.

Through the night I had to endure said Germans shouting at me from their window, they were making so much noise that someone really should've said something to them. They were disturbing everyone. I was also kept awake by one of my dorm-mates incredibly loud flatulence - but that's another story for another time (and not the fault of the hostel of course!)

I think you could probably have a great time here if you like spending all of your time drunk out of your mind, with about 10 friends, at the age of 17. It was without doubt the worst hostel I've stayed in, and I've stayed in a few. Avoid!

Room Tip: Stay in a hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PurdeyPoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 21, 2012 via mobile

We stayed here for 3 nights in may the hostel itself was fine but the bathroom stunk so bad you could not shower

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank primetim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 12, 2012 via mobile

Location is very central, near to public transport or close enough to wander around. Staff were friendly. There was free WiFi in the courtyard. Breakfast was okay, cereals and toast with spreads but the breakfast ladies were not pleasant to deal with.

We had a twin room which was modern and clean. The shower was okay but was one you have to hold the shower head the whole time. I would happily stay here again.

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Josie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 11, 2012

I was there just week ago, and I can honestly recommend this hostel! Rooms are ok, bathroom is not bad, as I expect, and price for this location is really low! Only you have to remember to bring your own towels, bcs are not in the room! But if you forget, you can take from the reception (you have to pay deposit)!
Only what I can suggest you, to not book the room from the main street , because is really loud in the night!
Staff very friendly and helpfull!

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CatherinneP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Budapest hotels
District VII / Jewish Quarter
Maverick City Lodge
Maverick City Lodge
#5 of 682 in Budapest
1,022 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Unity Hostel
#155 of 682 in Budapest
105 reviews
District V / Inner City
Maverick Hostel
Maverick Hostel
#4 of 682 in Budapest
799 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marco Polo Top Ho(s)tel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marco Polo Top Ho(s)tel

Address: Nyar utca 6, Budapest 1072, Hungary
Location: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest > District VII / Jewish Quarter , Erzsébetváros
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 682 Specialty Lodging in Budapest
Price Range: $16 - $63 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Marco Polo Top Ho(s)tel 2*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Marco Polo Top Ho(s)tel in downtown Budapest, is open all year round. Located in the heart of the city, offering the services of a 2 star hotel with its en-suite double TWIN rooms and providing organised and tidy 12-bedded dormitory rooms.Marco Polo’s excellent city centre location provides great access to public transport. Famous Budapest sights and great nightspots are also nearby. Our twin and quad rooms are bright and comfortable and have telephone and TV, plus en-suite bathrooms.As for our dormitories, we’ve yet to find another anywhere that even comes close. Each 12-bedded room is divided into 2-bunk areas with their own lockers. Each dorm is next to HAS a dedicated bathroom with two sinks, showers and WC's. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Marco Polo Top Ho(s)tel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marco Polo Hotel Budapest

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing