We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice room but the bathroom stunk”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Marco Polo Top Ho(s)tel
Ranked #60 of 655 Specialty Lodging in Budapest
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Nice room but the bathroom stunk”
Reviewed May 21, 2012 via mobile

We stayed here for 3 nights in may the hostel itself was fine but the bathroom stunk so bad you could not shower

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank primetim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

325 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    83
    129
    57
    32
    24
See reviews for
23
54
63
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
56 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed May 12, 2012 via mobile

Location is very central, near to public transport or close enough to wander around. Staff were friendly. There was free WiFi in the courtyard. Breakfast was okay, cereals and toast with spreads but the breakfast ladies were not pleasant to deal with.

We had a twin room which was modern and clean. The shower was okay but was one you have to hold the shower head the whole time. I would happily stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Josie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poland/Katowice
Level Contributor
35 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed May 11, 2012

I was there just week ago, and I can honestly recommend this hostel! Rooms are ok, bathroom is not bad, as I expect, and price for this location is really low! Only you have to remember to bring your own towels, bcs are not in the room! But if you forget, you can take from the reception (you have to pay deposit)!
Only what I can suggest you, to not book the room from the main street , because is really loud in the night!
Staff very friendly and helpfull!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CatherinneP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Budapest hotels

Mtl. Qc
Level Contributor
92 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed April 27, 2012

Located close to public transit and major trains station which is great. Also located above a bar which makes it extremely noisy til all hours of the night, with fighting and screaming. Walls are PAPER thin. Staff is really friendly, kind and helpful. Cleaning staff really do the best they can but the building itself has major renovations necessary to make it semi-decent--->not modern! We were traveling with children which made the experience that much more difficult and uncomfortable. Not particularly safe neighbourhood either.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lovethescents
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
88 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed March 4, 2012

A good place to stay on a Budget in Budapest. It's well located in easy walking distance to the attractions and right by some lively nightlife. Staff were helpful and pleasant.

The rooms were of a good size, clean and comfortable. However our in our room the holder for the shower head and lever to take the sink plug were both missing!

Room Tip: Also worth noting that it is in a lively enough area - we viewed this as a bonus, but you might not...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KenHy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Langley
Level Contributor
161 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
Reviewed January 8, 2012

Marco Polo is a well organized, friendly hostel. The front desk staff were really nice to my student group (and they in turn were very well behaved!), and one of the ladies at the desk helped recommended a nearby restaurant for our group and helped me make a reservation. We ate the first night at the restaurant/night club/breakfast room next to the hotel, down the stairs (it's under street level). The hotel arranged that for us before arrival. That meal was OK, but I didn't want to eat there a second night, so they were very flexible and happy to make the alternate recommendation for us. The rooms in the hostel are quite large, as is the stairway going up (the one elevator isn't tiny, but not fast enough to efficiently accommodate our big group, so most of us just took the stairs - no problem). We enjoyed our stay here, and I would wholeheartedly recommend this place to anyone traveling with students.

Room Tip: Higher up - the first floor can be noisy because of the night club below.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Craig B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
451 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 165 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2011

Great place for a cheap and cheerful stop in Budapest. Don't expect a spa, fitness centre or pool. Room was clean and bed comfortable. We had a three bed room with private facilities. Bigger rooms for groups are available. Probably best to go for a room on a higher floor as there's a basement night club. We weren't disturbed at all but is that true every nigh? Reception staff were helpful with good English As it's a hostel, that's all the service there is but still worth four stars. Central location great and easy to find. Excellent restaurant/ pizzeria 50 metres away: main bus route, 150 meters; city tours, 10 minutes walk. Breakfast was very mediochre but, for the price, you can't argue and you could still bread, fruit and cereal to set you up for the day. (Always remember, when you're used to an Ulster fry, everything else is second rate)

Room Tip: Probably the higher up the better,
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank UlsterFryNo1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Budapest hotels
Casa De La Musica Hostel
#46 of 655 in Budapest
267 reviews
Terézváros
Friends Hostel Budapest
Friends Hostel Budapest
#28 of 655 in Budapest
321 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Belváros-Lipótváros
Full Moon Design Hostel Budapest
District VII / Jewish Quarter
Maverick City Lodge
Maverick City Lodge
#5 of 655 in Budapest
825 reviews
Dominik Panzio
#132 of 189 in Budapest
116 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marco Polo Top Ho(s)tel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marco Polo Top Ho(s)tel

Property: Marco Polo Top Ho(s)tel
Address: Nyar utca 6, Budapest 1072, Hungary
Location: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest > District VII / Jewish Quarter , Erzsébetváros
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #60 of 655 Specialty Lodging in Budapest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Marco Polo Top Ho(s)tel 2*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Marco Polo Top Ho(s)tel in downtown Budapest, is open all year round. Located in the heart of the city, offering the services of a 2 star hotel with its en-suite double TWIN rooms and providing organised and tidy 12-bedded dormitory rooms.Marco Polo’s excellent city centre location provides great access to public transport. Famous Budapest sights and great nightspots are also nearby. Our twin and quad rooms are bright and comfortable and have telephone and TV, plus en-suite bathrooms.As for our dormitories, we’ve yet to find another anywhere that even comes close. Each 12-bedded room is divided into 2-bunk areas with their own lockers. Each dorm is next to HAS a dedicated bathroom with two sinks, showers and WC's. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, HostelWorld, Priceline, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Marco Polo Top Ho(s)tel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marco Polo Hotel Budapest

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing