We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Jewish Location”
Review of King's Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
King's Hotel
Ranked #206 of 334 Hotels in Budapest
Write a Review

646 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    80
    208
    218
    85
    55
See reviews for
108
226
64
30
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
tel aviv
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2014

location. location. location.
add to it: friendly welcome, clean and cozy rooms, good basic breakfast, twenty four hour helping staff
top it all with excellent price
all you have to do is book the room and go.
enjoy

Room Tip: i stayed on the 4th floor. don't have any particular tips, just ask for a good room. they will d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hannahgTelAviv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Presov, Slovakia
Level 6 Contributor
103 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
Reviewed January 15, 2014

We were put into this hotel after place which we booked was overbooked.
When I saw their prices (120€ for a tripple) at reception I expected something special, because prices in Budapest for 3 star hotels are much lower.
Check-in was quick. Room was very basic and quite old. Just 3 beds, two chairs, writing desk. Bathroom was not nice. We were there during hot october weekend so it was not cold, but we realised that room must very cold during winter months: old builing, tall rooms.
Overall we got a room which really needs a proper renovation, we got a feeling we were stucked in the middle of 90's.
Do not know about breakfast, we went for a brunch to city.
Location is ok, bars/restaurant are all around place.
There are better places to stay in town.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank peterSK7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Budapest hotels

Budapest, Hungary
Level 6 Contributor
156 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
Reviewed January 15, 2014

I stay here one night. Its clean , Close to the center 10-15 min. walk from main attractions. But, its feel old. like this hotel had his best time 20-30 years ago. the breakfast was good. the staff was helpful. 50 euro.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chaim B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 23, 2013

I took my family to Budapest for 3 nights as a Christmas present. The hotel was absolutely great. The staff was very helpfull and nice. They offered us tickets for the hop on hop off bus which turned out to be the best valued one. We had our breakfast included and it was absolutely great. The food was good, great selection. I was actually suprised to see pankakes, apple strudel, etc. Eggs, sousages were delicious. There were much more things so we were completely satisfied. Everything was hot. Concerning room. It was clean, spacious, well equiped. Tv was fine, we asked for the internet cable and the Internet was working perfectly. Beds were bit small, but I suppose for that price it was fine. Bathroom was nice and clean as well. Hot water, not shower but actuall bath. Just great. The location of the hotel is excellent. It was just 10 minutes walking to the Andrasi street, Opera underground station. Very central. Overall, thank you very much Kings Hotel for the best stay in Budapest we could have. We will definetely come back again.

Room Tip: We had a room on 3rd floor, street view, room number 303.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Elizabeth J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 14, 2013

We were group of 8 grown up people. Our stay in the hotel was very good.
The internet connection in the rooms was very poor.
THe location good . you can walk to the city center in five minuts !!!!!!!!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shimshon R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wicklow, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed December 12, 2013

Four of stayed here recently for three nights. We booked through a third party and asked for a central hotel as my grandmother was with us and we wanted to minimise the walking! The operator suggested this hotel and we took it without checking anything first. None of us regretted it! The location was excellent-we ended up walking absolutely everywhere (Grandmother included) because it was so close to the main streets on either side. Ten minutes walking (plus browsing time in the lovely shops on Kiraly!) brought us out into the hustle and bustle of a main street. Just off this main street was a lovely Christmas market in Vorsmarty Square, the main shopping streets, the Hop On Hop Off bus stop, tons of public transport. . . I don't think we could have found a better hotel to suit us for location.
Many of the reviews complain about the decor-this is simply what you get in many European hotels of the same rating and I don't see it as a slight on the hotel. It's basic, but spotlessly clean. Our towels were changed every day, the beds made up, and the public areas were also shining. The beds were really comfortable! The bathroom was spacious, with fantastic water pressure, a hairdryer, soap, and shower gel. The bedroom had a well-stocked mini-fridge with a full price list, a kettle and cups-and the receptionist directed us to a nearby supermarket if we wished to buy tea or coffee. The room and bathroom were lovely and warm, and there was a great supply of piping hot water.
Breakfast was good. There were three cereals on offer, salads, cold meats, fruit, hot dishes (the eggs were lovely!), and a vast array of breads. There was juice, coffee, a selection of teas-I certainly couldn't ask for anything more. It is self-service, but you can help yourself to as much as you like. We also tested the hotel restaurant one night-it is open until eleven, which is great for a late snack after a busy day of sightseeing. Two of us shared a pizza and it was absolutely delicious.
There were several receptionists on duty over the course of our stay. All of them were friendly, saying hello when we popped in and out. We booked our bus tickets through the hotel (a little pricier than on the street) but the receptionists were very patient with us throughout the process, and put up with endless requests for directions-all with a smile! They organised taxi's for us for the opera-we left the timing up to them and we were collected with plenty of time to settle in before the performance, so well done there. There is also a locked luggage room,which we appreciated as we weren't leaving until late afternoon on the last day.
The only drawback is that it is noisy-even though it is a side street it is in the middle of the city and there is a lot of traffic. Hardly the hotel's fault though-none of the other streets looked much quieter! You do get a bit of noise from the other guests in their rooms, but nothing major and it's much the same everywhere.
I would happily return here, and I plan on doing so! There's a lot of Budapest that I didn't get to see and this hotel is an excellent base for exploring(they also give you a hotel card with the address that you can show to the taxi drivers!!!). I would pack some earplugs next time, but then again I am a very light sleeper and the noise didn't bother the other members of our group at all. All in all-well done to all the staff at King's and thank you for a great stay!!!!!!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sall3rs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Budapest hotels
Benczur Hotel
#160 of 334 in Budapest
468 reviews
District VII / Jewish Quarter
City Hotel Unio
City Hotel Unio
#210 of 334 in Budapest
348 reviews
District VII / Jewish Quarter
Star City Hotel
Star City Hotel
#129 of 334 in Budapest
338 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Atlas City Hotel
#240 of 334 in Budapest
519 reviews
Atlantic Hotel
#243 of 334 in Budapest
208 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to King's Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about King's Hotel

Property: King's Hotel
Address: Nagy Diofa utca 25-27, Budapest 1072, Hungary
Location: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest > District VII / Jewish Quarter
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #206 of 334 Hotels in Budapest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — King's Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your King's Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kings Hotel Budapest
Hotel Kings Budapest

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing