We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very good central hotel !” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Kempinski Hotel Corvinus Budapest

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Kempinski Hotel Corvinus Budapest
Ranked #21 of 342 Hotels in Budapest
Certificate of Excellence
STAFFS UK
Level Contributor
46 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 428 helpful votes
“Very good central hotel !”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2013

Review Of Kempinski Corvinus Budapest
Just returned from a wonderful 5 days at this hotel booked through Fleetway travel in the UK who undercut every company in the UK on the deal. Their price included breakfast which is currently 29 Euros per person – only down side of this trip was having to fly with Ryan Air – herded around - people running to get to the front of the queue and then sitting on aisle seats and window seats so families could not sit together – absolutely ludicrous ! Surly crew and dreadful customer care. Having said that the rest of the holiday was lovely!
We booked direct by email with http://www.airporttransfersbudapest.com/faq.en.php for our taxi transfers and we could not fault them. You pay 23 euros transfer from the airport to the hotel but if you book a return taxi when you book, the return journey only costs 19 euros and they were exactly to time. Considering the transfer time is 30 minutes thats a great deal !
The hotel was undergoing refurbishment in the main dining room and foyer area but this didnt really spoil our stay other than at breakfast where the temporary dining area became quite busy and you had to wait to be seated.
The breakfasts were good- not excellent – choice of hot cooked english streaky bacon, continental sausages, beans, scrambled eggs, tomatoes etc with an egg menu that order direct from the waiter. Cold buffet of smoked salmon, all types of ham, salamis and cheeses, salad etc: Beautiful breads, cakes, jams, honey etc and divine french butter, fruit juices and champagne freely available.
The reason I would not rate the breakfast as excellent is because we found the hot food was luke warm , the service for coffee very slow, you were given half a cup and literally waited and waited for a refill- we had to ask almost every morning for extra drinks. They do not leave coffee pots on the table or sufficient milk. Other than this we were happy with the food and staff.
We ate in their temporary dining area from their a la carte menu which appears at first glance expensive but the food we received was superb. I ordered the goose liver with black cherry starter and it was amazing . We were given complimentary hors d’oeuvres walnut bread, butter, dips and a duck liver and coleslaw starter – sounds strange but again was beautiful. Threee of our family chose the Tenderloin beef 6900 hufs around £20 and included a choice of potatoes and side order - no one could find fault with their meals . I tried the Wiener Schnitzel and it also very good 2 massive pieces of veal and a large potato salad with mayonnaise and rocket . We chose one of the cheapest Hungarian red wines and it was beautiful – 7200 hufs.The dry sparkling wine (Pinot) was approx £32 and of good quality.
We booked a normal suite which was huge and extremely warm ! We turned the heating off and opened the window and were still very warm at all times !
We had a desk , chairs, free wi fi , computer terminal. Mini bar, Flat screen TV, Slippers bathrobes amazingly soft sheets /duvet which were changed without fail every day and soft pillows . Plenty of storage space ( drawers and wardrobe space) and stunning bathroom with full bath, shower etc and loads of complimentary toiletries. Even the toilet tissue was the thickest softest I have ever seen ! Biggest criticism – other than news channels no UK programmes or films without payment!
The mini bar was packed with loads of treats but so tempting but expensive compared to local bars etc. If you go outside the hotel through the entrance by the nObu restuarnt there is a small shop/bar where you can buy Hungarian Wine good quality for £4 (BB Sparkling Dry was lovely) ! Beer soft drinks etc and amazing ground coffee for good prices. Cigarettes there were also cheaper than the UK by a considersble amount eg Marlborough Gold £2.80 a pack ! Local tabacco was even cheaper !

Our daughter and son in law tried the Spa area but were told they had to strip off to use the Sauna etc so they declined that ! The pool area is lovely but was a little cool and in December needed to be heated to a lot higher temperature !

Out and about !
This hotel was perfectly situated to reach most places in Buda/ Pest so long as you are able bodied !
Walked miles, took the tram and underground and did all the sights’- walked across the Chain Bridge which took about 15 minutes then took the funicular up to the Bastion . Sadly that day it was -7C and we were frozen so didnt stay long at the top ! Fabulous views ! No toilets !
Took tram to the market hall from outside the hotel – just three stops and get out and directly into market which is massive !
Go upstairs to try Langos £3 which are like a dough base crispy and oily then toppped with either sweet toppings or savoury we had sour cream salami tomatoe and grated cheese – to die for ! Millions of calories especially the nutella chocolate spread with sugar ! Loads of different foods burgers etc and very cheap !
Tablecloth and linen section – large tablecloths were 120 eu Not so cheap !
Ground floor was fruit veg and salamis and butchery counters / Palinka stores etc Really vibrant !
Eating – we went to Hard Rock 2 minutes walk away – absolutely excellent food- ignore what is read on tripadvisor it was excellent as always – prcies on a par with London – Burgers £10 Wines £9 Hungarian, Hoegaarden £4 and same for lagers etc . Steaks were around the £12 mark. Immaculately clean toilets and restaurant ! Staff excellent - very warm – advise layering your clothes in December we were boiled inside !
Found a traditional British pub behind the ?? meridian hotel serving British Beers and Ciders – Shepherd s Pie and traditional decor ! A little taste of home !
Tried a Hungarian stews on the markets pork and potatoes – gorgeous ! Beautiful hot apple strudel mulled wine – unbleievable and about £2 for a large cup.
The sweet stalls looked amazing but at 18 eu for 8 felt this was a bit OTT for a market stall !
Went to the Andrassy street and visited the designer shops and then on to the Museum of Terror. Worth a visit but a little was lost in translation but still an eerie experience and very sad,

The airport is lovely and modern with loads of food outlets on the upper floor and huge duty free but sadly Ryan Air lived up to their reputation and were not only late but we had to wait for an hour in a ‘tent’ which had no toilet facilities – very strict on the one piece of hand luggage including your handbag and on size – what ever you do make sure your weight allowance is not exceed or the baggage size !

To sum up I would strongly recommend staying at the Kempinski – the service and attention to detail was excellent (except for coffee at breakfast !)located in an excellent position for visiting everything ! Rooms superb turn down service included.
Any questions please contact me

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TISSUEHANKIE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,930 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,060
    675
    140
    36
    19
See reviews for
381
1,292
127
572
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (436)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Leicester, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 31, 2012

I have stayed here a few times,this time i was here for 3 weeks along time to be away on business, but being in a nice hotel makes all the difference to your stay the hotel is right in the centre about 200 meters from Vaci Utca Fashion street the metro and trams are just round the corner on Deak Ferenc Ter,or there is one on Erzebet Ter yellow line.we all know Hungary is famous for Goulash,But you must try the hotels gypsy style pork,,brilliant.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Norman B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton Keynes
Level Contributor
55 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 27, 2012

In general an all round good experience - cant fault anything about the hotel or staff at all. Staff sometimes overly formal (smile more please) and only small things I could find fault with - I missed a coffee machine in the room (I was told you can order one any time - not the point). Good - it it a go ! I walked almost everywhere its that well situated !

Room Tip: Bit quieter on higher floors - Nobu (Japanese) on hotel premises well worth a visit as well as was s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ADTMiltonKeynes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
46 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 25, 2012

We just came back from our 6 days' trip in Budapest. We're glad that we've chosen Kempinski during our stay in Budapest.

The location can't be better! It's just next to the fashion street, one of the busiest shopping streets in Budapest. From there, lots of sight seeing points (chain bridge, cathedral, synagogue, etc.) are within walking distance. There're metros lines and trams right next to the hotel. It's very convenient. The christmas market is just outside the hotel.

The hotel interior is very classy and elegant. We liked our room a lot with a bathtub and separate shower. The bed is comfortable. What impressed me the most is its friendly staff. Everyone was friendly and willing to help you all the time. I have stayed in many 5 star hotels in different countries. It's probably the most friendly one ever.

When we were dinning in the restaurant, the duck we ordered was over cooked. We complained about it. They did everything they could to make up for it, such as preparing a new dish, offering complementary champagne and of course lots of apologies and nice words.

If I have to talk about the downside of this hotel, it might be the breakfast. 28 euro per person is relatively high, especially when there are not so many variations. It's quite standard, international breakfast. (egg dishes, bacon, sausages, bean, cold cutters, fruit, cereals, cheese, fruit juice, bread, pastry) For 5 days, we have the same breakfast over and over again. There was no change of any dishes at all. It would be nice to have a larger selections, such as typical hungarian dishes. What I also missed is vegetable dishes. The only vegetable dishes available were roasted tomato with cheese, raw cucumber and raw tomato. Come on!!!!!! With 28 euros, I could have visited different restaurants or cafes nearby and had lavish breakfast with great varieties everyday.

The spa is ok. Small, but ok.

Room Tip: They have 5 superior rooms with bathtub. Other ones only have shower. So, if you prefer a bathtub, b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank chizheng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 21, 2012

We enjoyed a short city break in Budapest this summer and found this hotel an excellent base. The location in Pest is superb and convenient for all the main attractions: metro station next door; river, cafes, shopping, opera house all a short walk away. Our room was a good size and extremely comfortable. The staff were all polite, friendly and helpful. We loved being able to enjoy a lavish breakfast on the terrace but missed not having a separate bar area in the evenings. Do make sure you visit the central market - a magical place!

Room Tip: rooms are arranged on a 'horseshoe' shape - quieter at the ends of the horseshoe and overlo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AndyCatto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Croydon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
61 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 18, 2012

We had the most wonderful stay at the Kempinski last week when the Christmas market was in full swing. The hotel is lovely and the rooms delightful and spotless. The staff were all amazing but especially we were so impressed by the desk clerk Orsolya Gere who was incredibly helpful, kind and efficient. The Concierge Tamas Takacs really helped make our stay special by suggesting amazing restaurants and booking us in a box for the Opera as well as organising our boat trips etc. We cannot thank the hotel enough, we will CERTAINLY be coming back next year to see the things we missed in this wonderful city.

Steven and Geraldine Jenkins

Room Tip: Book overlooking the rear courtyard
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank steven j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel-Aviv
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 17, 2012

After searching several hotels in central Budapest , we found the Kempinski optimal , due to its centrally location and reasonable price. We got a Deluxe room, although the original booking was for a standard one. The room was spacious and comfortable and had a good-tasted design . The bathroom had a seperate shower besides the bath itself, the towels and bathrobes were large and soft. The breakfast was great, and we also could enjoy a wonderfull black-and-white photo exhibition on the same floor.
All in all, a great upgrade of our vacation.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank relman83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Budapest hotels
District V / Inner City
InterContinental Budapest
InterContinental Budapest
#22 of 342 in Budapest
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,176 reviews
District V / Inner City
Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge
District V / Inner City
The Ritz-Carlton, Budapest
The Ritz-Carlton, Budapest
#12 of 342 in Budapest
4.5 of 5 bubbles 221 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
District V / Inner City
Prestige Hotel Budapest
Prestige Hotel Budapest
#7 of 342 in Budapest
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,101 reviews
District VII / Jewish Quarter
Corinthia Hotel Budapest
Corinthia Hotel Budapest
#17 of 342 in Budapest
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6,815 reviews
District V / Inner City
Budapest Marriott Hotel
Budapest Marriott Hotel
#33 of 342 in Budapest
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,751 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kempinski Hotel Corvinus Budapest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kempinski Hotel Corvinus Budapest

Property: Kempinski Hotel Corvinus Budapest
Address: Erzsebet ter 7-8, Budapest 1051, Hungary
Phone Number:
Location: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest > District V / Inner City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 342 Hotels in Budapest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Kempinski Hotel Corvinus Budapest 5*
Number of rooms: 349
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience Budapest whilst enjoying generously spacious and luxuriously outfitted rooms or suites in the Kempinski Hotel Corvinus, right at the city center. Savour Budapest's best of international cuisines at the hotel's top restaurants inclusive ES Bisztro, a brasserie featuring Hungarian and Austrian dishes with modern twist, NOBU Budapest, first in Central Europe... Find relief from urban stress while pampering your senses at Kempinski the Spa... Or meet & greet , network, entertain... On business, a break or an adventure, our comprehensive services and state-of-the-art facilities are on call for you 24/7. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets and Agoda so you can book your Kempinski Hotel Corvinus Budapest reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing