We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“we loved budapest”
Review of K+K Hotel Opera

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
K+K Hotel Opera
Ranked #40 of 334 Hotels in Budapest
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 26, 2009

My boyfriend and I stayed at the K and K for 4 enjoyable nights. The hotel is in a very good location close the the opera tube station and many bars and restaurants (of varying prices) were in a short walk away.
We found the staff very friendly and helpfull for example they checked train times for us and quickly changed the bedding to feather free duvets and pillows on request.
Our room was a good size with comfortable furnishings the decor was much nicer than i expected from a lot of pictures i had seen prior to our trip.
Our room overlooked the dreaded morrisons music bar but in fact we never heard it once.
The free use of computers in lobby was very helpfull when we found out train tickets to Krakow we had purchased using www.raileurope.co.uk were not suitable as the train did not run in the winter. (resulting in a 15hr train journey through 4 countries AARRG)
Breakfast had a wide choice of cold food (and drinks including champagne) which was very tasty the only complaint about our stay would be the small amount of food in the hot buffet.
We both found budapest a lovley place for a getaway especially the Rudas (only open to mixed sex at certain times) and Szecheni baths and the outdoor iceskating below Vajdahunyad castle very romantic!

  • Stayed: January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank katiedarlin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniel_Horvath, Reservation Manager at K+K Hotel Opera, responded to this reviewResponded June 20, 2017

Dear valued Guest,

Thank you so much for your kind feedback.
We are pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to have the pleasure of your repeated visit.

Best regards,

Dániel Horváth
Reservation Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (3,264)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,144 - 2,150 of 3,265 reviews

Reviewed January 16, 2009

Lovely hotel from moment we checked in. Staff only to willing help. Room was very cosy but lacked a veiw. Food at breakfast was of good value and bar meals in evening were ample if you did not want to go to local resturants. The hotel is placed to visit all the sites by foot. Xmas market was small but well worth the visit.

  • Stayed: December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank jetdog1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniel_Horvath, Reservation Manager at K+K Hotel Opera, responded to this reviewResponded June 20, 2017

Dear valued Guest,

Thank you so much for your kind feedback.
We are pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to have the pleasure of your repeated visit.

Best regards,

Dániel Horváth
Reservation Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 11, 2009

Second time at K+K Opera, having previously taken executive suite at the Marriott. Excellent value for money (if you get the best rate :)), with lovely location. Rooms. breakfast, service all first class. Have stayed all over central/eastern europe, and this is one of my very favourite hotels.

  • Stayed: January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BeenAround06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniel_Horvath, Reservation Manager at K+K Hotel Opera, responded to this reviewResponded June 20, 2017

Dear valued Guest,

Thank you so much for your kind feedback.
We are pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to have the pleasure of your repeated visit.

Best regards,

Dániel Horváth
Reservation Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2009

Overall, it's all been said. This is a very nice hotel, safe and in a great location. You would have to be an elitist snob to have complaints about this place. It isn't over the top 5 star material but considering the price, they go above and beyond. The breakfast is fantastic and the rooms were nice, clean and quiet. It's in a great part of town. Around the corner, you can hear the opera stars rehearsing before the shows, a nice add on.

  • Stayed: February 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank omg10105
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniel_Horvath, Reservation Manager at K+K Hotel Opera, responded to this reviewResponded June 20, 2017

Dear valued Guest,

Thank you so much for your kind feedback.
We are pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to have the pleasure of your repeated visit.

Best regards,

Dániel Horváth
Reservation Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2009

We stayed at the Hotel Opera the weekend after Christmas, a last minute decision after reading the positive reviews on TripAdvisor. We arranged a taxi from the airport direct with the hotel which was expensive, 7500HFT, but worth it as our flight was late and the hotel is about half an hour away. Unfortunately we were too late for food as the kitchen shuts at 11pm but the bar was still open.

The room and bathroom were small but spotlessy clean, the only problem being that it was so hot. We complained at reception but were told no one could look at it that night but it would be sorted the next day… Not great as it really was unbearably hot and the window only opened a little bit. A maintenance man came to fix it the next afternoon and it was tolerable after that.

As other reviewers have mentioned, the breakfast was great. Lots of choice and I certainly didn’t feel uncomfortable going back for more!

The hotel is situated on the edge of the central part of town which was great for us as we walked everywhere. The main street next to the hotel, Andrassy Ut, is full of smart shops – Dior, Burberry etc – and several fantastic and reasonably priced restaurants are in Liszt Ferenc Ter. Be warned that further afield it can be a bit a bit rough. We walked to a Flea Market mentioned in our guide book, near Kelati Station, and felt quite uncomfortable but another ten minute walk and were back in tourist areas.

We found all the staff courteous and helpful and all spoke perfect English. We had paid a special weekend rate, I think it was 74 euros a night including breakfast, and felt we had had good value for money.

  • Stayed: December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dorsettraveller3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniel_Horvath, Reservation Manager at K+K Hotel Opera, responded to this reviewResponded June 20, 2017

Dear valued Guest,

Thank you so much for your kind feedback.
We are pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to have the pleasure of your repeated visit.

Best regards,

Dániel Horváth
Reservation Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 31, 2008

I booked two nights for myself and my family and was shocked at how low the price was compared to the quality of the rooms and the service. The hotel is in a wonderful location with easy access to all of the highlights. The rooms are larger than I expected and very clean and modern. The staff were all very helpful (we lost luggage) and cheerfully greeted us every morning and evening. As others have noted, the breakfast is wonderful!

  • Stayed: December 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank profxfiles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniel_Horvath, Reservation Manager at K+K Hotel Opera, responded to this reviewResponded June 20, 2017

Dear valued Guest,

Thank you so much for your kind feedback.
We are pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to have the pleasure of your repeated visit.

Best regards,

Dániel Horváth
Reservation Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 28, 2008

The hotel is in the Opera area of the city, a few stops on the Metro from the Danube, the Parliament Building, etc. Very easy to find; it's right by the Opera Metro Station. Go down the road to the left of the Opera Building and it's about one minute's walk to the hotel. (We also found out that you can very easily walk to the hotel from the main square, where the Christmas Market is held.)

The hotel itself looks beautiful, very modern, clean and stylish. (I thought we were at the wrong place at first!) It looks a lot more expensive than it actually was.

The staff at Reception, however, are considerably less than friendly. Very helpful, yes, but not a single smile for the whole weekend. It's the only thing that spoils this hotel. The staff are all very helpful and efficient, but you can't help thinking that they don't really want to be there because everything is said with a poker face and a slight look of disdain. Even when you reply with a light-hearted joke, a big grin or a polite smile, it is not returned.

The breakfast is amazing. A lot of Eastern European hotel reviews claim that the breakfasts are amazing, but this one really is. No processed Spam masquerading as ham here. No processed plastic masquerading as cheese. There's the usual difficulty in getting proper bacon (it's dry, crispy and fatty strips thinly disguised as bacon) and proper eggs (it's slightly undercooked hard boiled eggs or solid, dry, scrambled eggs that your forks bounce off) but the overall choice is immense (there's even Miso soup, tofu and noodles!) so there's bound to be something you like. You get a few strange looks if you dare to go up to the counter twice, (or if you have cereal/yogurt AND eggs/bacon) but strange looks from hotel staff in Budapest is not unusual; you get used to it.

The rooms are lovely. Modern, stylish and clean. We didn't have a good view (lots of other hotel room windows overlooked our window, so we could not leave the curtains open to let in some fresh air and cool the room down) and the room was VERY HOT. We did mention this to the stony-faced lady on Reception, but the problem was never rectified. (She told us to turn our thermostat down, which we did to no avail.) Due to the aforementioned issue with leaving the window open, we were roasting throughout our two day stay.

Free internet in the lobby, which was great, and lots of leaflets, brochures, etc. in our room. The lady on the reception very kindly booked a river boat cruise for us, (which is NOT to be missed!) of course without a smile.

(All of the restaurants that the hotel recommends are SUPER expensive. Stay away and find your own place to eat without having to take out a mortgage.)

In summary - Great breakfast, great looking room, great location, helpful but unfriendly staff, no privacy and very hot room.

  • Stayed: December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank amazon_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniel_Horvath, Reservation Manager at K+K Hotel Opera, responded to this reviewResponded June 20, 2017

Dear valued Guest,

Thank you so much for your kind feedback.
We are pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to have the pleasure of your repeated visit.

Best regards,

Dániel Horváth
Reservation Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Budapest hotels
District VII / Jewish Quarter
Continental Hotel Budapest
Continental Hotel Budapest
#41 of 334 in Budapest
4,406 reviews
Casati Budapest Hotel
#7 of 334 in Budapest
1,183 reviews
Terézváros
Opera Garden Hotel & Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
District V / Inner City
Bohem Art Hotel
Bohem Art Hotel
#13 of 334 in Budapest
2,469 reviews
Hotel Palazzo Zichy
#4 of 334 in Budapest
4,866 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to K+K Hotel Opera? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about K+K Hotel Opera

Address: Revay utca 24, Budapest 1065, Hungary
Phone Number:
Location: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#18 Business Hotel in Budapest
#18 Family Hotel in Budapest
#20 Romantic Hotel in Budapest
#32 Luxury Hotel in Budapest
Price Range: $87 - $301 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — K+K Hotel Opera 4.5*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The K+K Hotel Opera in Budapest is a sophisticated, modern first class hotel which enjoys great popularity due to its welcoming atmosphere, a stylish interior design, and its unbeatable central location next to the Opera-house. Shopping in the pedestrian area "Vaci utca", as well as many key sights are within easy walking distance. The "Opera" underground station is just outside the hotel. Free WiFi in all guest rooms and public area. Free access to the Internet Lounge (PCs, printer and international newspapers). Free access to the Wellness Area with gym and sauna. Complimentary coffee and tea making facilities in the rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your K+K Hotel Opera reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
k Hotel Opera
k Hotel Budapest

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing