We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Quality hotel in a super location” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of K+K Hotel Opera

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
K+K Hotel Opera
Ranked #36 of 342 Hotels in Budapest
Certificate of Excellence
Ireland
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Quality hotel in a super location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 26, 2013

Service, convenience and attention to detail made this hotel a most enjoyable one to stay in during my first visit to Budapest. Three days before check-in, I received an e-mail from the Front Desk asking if I needed anything done in advance of arrival - impressive! Everything that followed confirmed the hotel's commitment to customer service.

Located on the Pest side of the Danube, the hotel is literally a minute away from the Opera House and Opera metro station. About 5 minutes in the other direction you reach Saint Stephen's Basilica. The magnificent Parliament building is a 20-minute walk, and there are several good restaurants nearby. Though just off the famous Andrassy utca, the hotel's location is generally quiet.

My bedroom was spacious and airy, with plenty of storage capacity and easy-to-use hangers. The low bed took some getting used to, and I replaced the floppy pillows with a firmer one, but in general I slept in reasonable comfort. One suggestion I made: a bedside telephone should be provided, especially for those wake-up calls!

The breakfast menu was very comprehensive and satisfying. I liked the fact that breakfast was served up to 11:00, with the champagne providing a reminder of Budapest's imperial past. The food in the Bistro was very tasty, whether you wanted a snack or an evening meal.

Above all, I valued the service provided at reception. On arrival the receptionist reviewed the room requirements I had requested and explained how these would be met. Any inquiries about transport, directions or events were dealt with promptly and most courteously, and my ticket to visit Parliament was printed at reception using my credit card.

I would recommend this hotel to anybody visiting Budapest. Based on this experience, I would also consider other hotels in the K+K family when visiting other parts of Europe.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank hereweego
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KKHotelOpera, General Manager at K+K Hotel Opera, responded to this review, April 30, 2013
Dear Guest,

thank you for sharing your experience with us and other travelers, it is much appreciated.
We are also thankful for taking your time to discribe our services so detailed, it will surely help the decision of others to choose our hotel. We will be informing all staff of your positive feedback to motivate them further.

We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back in our and other K+K Hotels.

Best regards

Andrea kopocsy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,957 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,761
    1,016
    136
    32
    12
See reviews for
335
1,435
206
338
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (258)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 26, 2013

Stayed here over a long weekend a few weeks ago, having read the positive feedback from other posters on here and have to say that it lived up to expectations - nice sized rooms, friendly and helpful reception staff, relaxing bar area and free wi-fi. Throw in the great location and reasonable price and I would have to recommend this hotel highly and would definitely return there on any future trips to the city.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AJN2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KKHotelOpera, General Manager at K+K Hotel Opera, responded to this review, April 30, 2013
Dear Guest,

thank you for confirming the positive reviews of our hotel on Tripadvisor and also for highly recommending us to others. We are thrilled to read that your expectations were met and you enjoyed your stay with us.
We will be delighted to welcome you back on your future trip to Budapest.

Best regards

Andrea Kopocsy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Provo, Utah
Level Contributor
90 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 25, 2013

This is a wonderful hotel. Easy to find, close to the Metro, walking distances to most sites. Reception area very nice. Staff was helpful, friendly. They set up our taxi and woke us very early as needed. Beds were comfortable, room clean and modern, bathroom large and floors were heated. No veiw but it was quiet. Lots of space. Breakfast was good but the same everyday. Lots of restaurants and markets nearby. I would stay here again in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dialqueen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KKHotelOpera, General Manager at K+K Hotel Opera, responded to this review, April 30, 2013
Dear Guest,

thank you for choosing our hotel and posting a review after your stay.
We are glad that you enjoyed our location and services and hope to serve you again on your repeated visit.

Best regards

Andrea Kopocsy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 22, 2013

As part of a European holiday we stayed at the K+K Budapest 27-30 Mar 13. On arrival we found that our reservation had been cancelled by our travel agent, a potential disaster. The reception staff were excellent, with Agnes leading the way and in a friendly and very professional manner resolved the issue and we were quickly shown to our rooms. The next morning another member of the reception team, Monica was so helpful in providing advice on how to best spend our time in their city. I would recommend that you spend sometime in the bar with Zultan, this guy is a wealth of knowledge, pours a mean beer and always seems to have a smile on his face. A great place to stay, good location and served by staff that make you so welcome.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sapper2795
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KKHotelOpera, General Manager at K+K Hotel Opera, responded to this review, April 26, 2013
Dear Guest,

thank you for your kind review, we were happy to read that your expectations were met and you enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you for mentioning the members of our staff in your appraisal
you have just made their day! Your satisfaction is an encouragemnet to us in the pursuit of making each stay a memorable one.
We hope to have the pleasure of your repeated stay.
Best regards

Andrea Kopocsy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond Hill, Canada
Level Contributor
21 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2013

This was my second stay at KK Opera Budapest and - for sure- not the last one! Very good hotel in every aspects! Friendly and prompt service at the reception desk, very clean and comfortable room and bathroom, and of course the famous buffet breakfast!
I also like the free internet availability - other hotels charge you a lot or they don't have free internet stations in their lobby. The KK Opera Budapest has 3 computers in the lobby and are available 24 hours/day!

Room Tip: If you want to avoid the noise from the Morrison's Pub, ask for a room at the back of the buildi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Catlady564
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KKHotelOpera, General Manager at K+K Hotel Opera, responded to this review, April 26, 2013
Dear Guest,

thank you for your repeated stay at our hotel and taking the time to post such an excellent review, it is very much appreciated.
Friendly and prompt reception staff, very clean and comfortable rooms and our buffet breakfast as you mentioned are our best selling points. Thank you for mentioning these in your comments.
We will be delighted to welcome you back on your next visit too.

Best regards

Andrea Kopocsy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
somerset
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 19, 2013

Excellent quality accomodation and food with helpful efficient and friendly staff. Whatever floats your boat the location is ideal - we walked most everywhere. Would not even bother to look at alternative hotels should we return to what is a fantastic city.

Room Tip: worth paying small extra amount for the exec room
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank howiefromsomerset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KKHotelOpera, General Manager at K+K Hotel Opera, responded to this review, April 26, 2013
Dear Guest,

thank you for posting your positive comments regarding quality accommodation and food and friendly staff.
We are very pleased to have made your stay a memorable one and hope to have the chance to serve you again.

Best regards,

Andrea Kopocsy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
28 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 13, 2013 via mobile

We stayed in this hotel for a long weekend in Budapest.

The location is very good, located down a small street (most things in Pest seems to be) you turn left out of the hotel and there is the opera house and Andrassy Utca which has several designer shops and restaurants. There is also a stop for the yellow metro 1 minute walk or walking in the other direction <5 minutes to the blue metro. In that direction you also have St Istivan Basilika and the hub of activity around that.

The rooms were nice, clean an modern. We didn't have much of a view but plenty of light and all the modern amenities. We did have a couple of problems. The rooms were very warm and we struggled to get the A/C working properly. The first couple of nights we opened the window to try and get some cool air in but that turns off the A/C and introduced a lot of noise so we slept badly. Then we thought we had it sorted but another hot night came and we struggled to get it cool. We also had some issues with the hot water one morning.

You can also purchase tickets for some common attractions at the reception as well. Be aware you must pay cash for these though.

All in all we enjoyed our stay and these were the only negatives. Had the staff not been so good and everything else been very good then these would have been much worst.

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank James M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KKHotelOpera, General Manager at K+K Hotel Opera, responded to this review, April 25, 2013
Dear Guest,

thank you for sharing your experience with us and fellow travelers, it is much appreciated.
We are glad to hear that you found our location very convenient and were satisfied with our reception services.
I am sorry for the inconvenience regarding the A/C but air-condition is usually not switched on in hotels during the winter and spring period in this part of Europe as weather conditions do not require this before mid-end of April. We turned the A/C on starting the 9th of April as outside temperature went above 20C.
We hope to have the opportunity to serve you again,

Best regards

Andrea Kopocsy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Budapest hotels
District VII / Jewish Quarter
Continental Hotel Budapest
Continental Hotel Budapest
#37 of 342 in Budapest
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,105 reviews
Casati Budapest Hotel
#8 of 342 in Budapest
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,050 reviews
District V / Inner City
Danubius Hotel Astoria City Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Terézváros
Opera Garden Hotel & Apartments
Hotel Palazzo Zichy
#4 of 342 in Budapest
5.0 of 5 bubbles 4,546 reviews
District V / Inner City
Hotel Parlament
Hotel Parlament
#6 of 342 in Budapest
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,071 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to K+K Hotel Opera? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about K+K Hotel Opera

Property: K+K Hotel Opera
Address: Revay u 24., Budapest 1065, Hungary
Phone Number:
Location: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#18 Business Hotel in Budapest
#18 Family Hotel in Budapest
#20 Romantic Hotel in Budapest
#29 Luxury Hotel in Budapest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — K+K Hotel Opera 4.5*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The K+K Hotel Opera in Budapest is a sophisticated, modern first class hotel which enjoys great popularity due to its welcoming atmosphere, a stylish interior design, and its unbeatable central location next to the Opera-house. Shopping in the pedestrian area "Vaci utca", as well as many key sights are within easy walking distance. The "Opera" underground station is just outside the hotel. Free WiFi in all guest rooms and public area. Free access to the Internet Lounge (PCs, printer and international newspapers). Free access to the Wellness Area with gym and sauna. Complimentary coffee and tea making facilities in the rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and Travelocity so you can book your K+K Hotel Opera reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
k Hotel Opera
k Hotel Budapest

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing