We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Great Boutique Hotel for a base to see Budapest” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of K+K Hotel Opera

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
K+K Hotel Opera
Ranked #36 of 342 Hotels in Budapest
Certificate of Excellence
Tiptree, Essex
Level Contributor
161 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
“A Great Boutique Hotel for a base to see Budapest”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2012

My wife and I spent 2 nights in Budapest during the recent high temperatures (36 degrees +) and this hotel was perfect. With so much to do in Budapest - and sights and cafe's etc. on the doorstep - we wanted a clean, well services hotel with a nice bedrooma nd good breakfast. The K+K Hotel opera achieved all of this.
The breakfast was great - fresh and varied - and ran until 11am which was good for us! The location is excellent being behind the main upmarket shopping street and 1 minute from the Opera House (out of reception, look to your left and there it is).
The hotel is in the heart of the Pest side of Budapest - so the opposite side of the danube to the castle. We booked, through reception, a tour on the "hop on, hop off" bus at around £15 each for 2 days, and their "stop 4" was outside of the Opera House so also allowed us easy transport and sightseeing.
it is a 10 minute walk to the river, and also a 20 minute walk the other way to Heros square. So this boutique hotel is definately worth the money, and worth booking if you use it as a base for Budapest and then do what you maybe should do in Budapest and get out and see the great joys of the City.
The staff are truly very welcoming and friendly and did help us book a couple fo the Budapest baths\ spas and also dinner reservations.
I totally agree with other reviewers that the room we had on the 3rd floor was clean and renovated and big enough by european standards. No view (as not positioned like the Sofitel or Marriott) but in Budapest you are in the room for not too long anyway.

Other Tips
Taxi from Airport. we used www.bookinbudapest.com and pre-booked a taxi from the airport to Our hotel for 20 euros. everything was confirmed by email, the driver was there in arrivals and the car and ride were perfect. We were so happy that we booked for our return trip as well. This was a great service and worth looking at.

Baths\Spa. We booked the Szechenyi Baths and Pool through the hotel and pre-booked a massage. They do have english signs now and some helpful english speaking-staff and after the first 5 minutes or so to get orintated, the experience was great. worth taking in your own water\ drinks though.

Hop On\ hop Off Tour Bus. At £15 each for the day (with second day free + a boat trip on the danube) this was a great overview starter of the main sights in the City and well worth the price.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AndyBee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,962 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,763
    1,019
    136
    32
    12
See reviews for
335
1,436
206
342
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (258)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, IL
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2012

This hotel was the third of three K + K hotels we stayed at on our recent trip. They seem to have down the idea of finding a hotel near the city center, just walkable, but affordable. The service is great and the staff helped us book a number of stops while we were in Budapest. The breakfast was great, very fresh and many options. The rooms are small, quiet, and updated. Very comfortable for sleeping and maybe an afternoon siesta. This hotel is right near the M2 line and the opera so you can get anywhere easily if you don't want to walk. There are many good restuarants nearby at the Oktagon or of course the Danube is just about 3/4 of a mile away. These are hidden gems.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank nddt98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2012

We chose this hotel after a friend recommended it to us, and it was worth it. We got a deal which included breakfast. And we loved the breakfast, especially wide variety of "fresh" fruits. We saw few people coming to this hotel from outside just for breakfast.
Location is excellent, one minute from Opera (which made it possible us to get tickets of a fantastic performance even at the last minute). walking distance from the river and most of other attractions. (on maps it might look a bit far as compared to other hotels close to river but it is not and walk to river is also nice passing by the big church). We felt safe even late at night while walking back.
Staff was wonderful and helped us in making dinner reservations and calling taxis etc. They also arranged for pickup from train station which was important for us since cab experience at railway stations of budapest (prague too) can be a hassle.
Room was clean and renovated. Big enough by european standards. No view but anyway in prague you are much better off going outside for view than staying at hotel.

Room Tip: While reserving ask for room in the modified section of the hotel.
See more room tips
Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank RINGA80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
67 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2012

Our stay at the K&K was at the end of a cruise vacation in the Med. We had never been to Budapest before and we were looking forward to this short but meaningful visit. The property was found as a result of having read scores of reviews on Tripadvisor and getting lucky in that the hotel had a wonderful rate over the weekend. Our rate included a sprawling array of breakfast items which were both delicious and varied. If you couldn't find what you liked there for breakfast...well then you most likely don't eat breakfast.
The room was perfect. Quiet,nicely furnished and a really beautiful and most functional bathroom.Perhaps we were in one of the newer and remodeled locations. Don't be afraid to request one of these rooms.
The front desk was especially nice. They gave us very good reccomendations and advice.
I have nothing but high praise for the property,it's staff and central location. If you find a good rate as we did, book it quickly before the rate disappears.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank richardc0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Austria
Level Contributor
52 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 26, 2012

This was our second stay at K+K. If you would like to enjoy Budapest's cultural activities it is one of the best places. We stayed in the back wing, the hotel room was normal size, clean, with a bit of the K+K (KuK) flair.

(If you wonder what this means, and why my nick name resembles the name of the hotel, just google for "Kaiserlich und Königlich" or "Imperial and Royal" in English. This was the regime when Central Europe was on the top, and was one of the great powers. So, people are nostalgic in our region regarding these times. Lot of them have mixed origin if we speak on the terms of the post WW I countries, and KuK defines best their cultural affiliation.)

Hope, I wasn't a bore for you, but when one puts the name K+K for a Central European hotel chain, has in mind this kind of imperial and royal flair. And K+K Opera is up to these expectations. I am sure that the middle class people of that age would feel good in it. But don't be afraid, you will have all the amenities of our times!

Some points:
-Kettle in the room with coffee and tee bags,
-free WiFi
-breakfast OK
-helpful staff

We will return!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank KuK_Traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fishers, Indiana
Level Contributor
59 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 19, 2012

Stayed there twice, perfect location great service and food. The rooms are on the small side but still pretty nice, the bathroom was spotless. Not much to say other than it was pretty good. I found on my second trip that one of the buildings had nicer rooms than the other. One building is accessible by elevator right next to the front desk and the other one requires a walk to the back passing by the restaurant. The building on the back was the one with renovated rooms and pretty nice decor, the other building was not too bad but the rooms were not looking as good. Anyways, pretty decent hotel.

Room Tip: Get a room on the 'back' building, not the one that has the elavator right next to the lobby...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Manoel G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm
Level Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 11, 2012

Hotel was good. Very good location. Walking distance to city center (maybe 10-20 min), super close to the opera subway station and only short walk to a good restaurant and bar district. We got a really good price. Although breakfast was then not included. Paying breakfast separate was very expensive compairing to food prices generally in Budapest so we didn't eat there any of the days. But it was easy to find nice restaurants outside the hotel. It is a lovely town. I definitely recommend everybody to go there!
Staff was friendly and helpful. Room was small but clean and nice. A big drawback for me was the lack of double bed in our double bed room. We got 2 beds pulled together. That is not the same thing. And not good enough for a romantic weekend, specially not when you are used to a proper double bed at home.
In total it is a good value for money hotel but nothing super special. I would give it a 3.5 if possible on tripadvisor.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TwoSweds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KKHotelOpera, General Manager at K+K Hotel Opera, responded to this review, June 14, 2012
Dear Guest,
thank you for posting your review, we are happy you liked our hotel.
I am sorry you have not mentioned your request of bed type on the spot as we could have offered you a room with king bed. (double bed in this part of Europe usually means two 90cm wide beds pushed together, a king bed is the large bed with one mattress) There is a welcome letter in our rooms where among other information we are offering different type of bedding solutions to our guest so everyone can have a sound sleep just like in their own bed. We encourage all our guests to inform us of their special wishes concerning our services so we can act promptly to fullfil all requirements.
We hope you will soon return to our hotel and we can prove our readiness to meet your expectations.
Andrea Kopócsy
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Budapest hotels
District VII / Jewish Quarter
Continental Hotel Budapest
Continental Hotel Budapest
#37 of 342 in Budapest
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,109 reviews
Casati Budapest Hotel
#8 of 342 in Budapest
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,052 reviews
District V / Inner City
Danubius Hotel Astoria City Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Palazzo Zichy
#4 of 342 in Budapest
5.0 of 5 bubbles 4,548 reviews
Terézváros
Opera Garden Hotel & Apartments
District V / Inner City
Bohem Art Hotel
Bohem Art Hotel
#13 of 342 in Budapest
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,315 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to K+K Hotel Opera? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about K+K Hotel Opera

Property: K+K Hotel Opera
Address: Revay u 24., Budapest 1065, Hungary
Phone Number:
Location: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#18 Family Hotel in Budapest
#18 Business Hotel in Budapest
#20 Romantic Hotel in Budapest
#29 Luxury Hotel in Budapest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — K+K Hotel Opera 4.5*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The K+K Hotel Opera in Budapest is a sophisticated, modern first class hotel which enjoys great popularity due to its welcoming atmosphere, a stylish interior design, and its unbeatable central location next to the Opera-house. Shopping in the pedestrian area "Vaci utca", as well as many key sights are within easy walking distance. The "Opera" underground station is just outside the hotel. Free WiFi in all guest rooms and public area. Free access to the Internet Lounge (PCs, printer and international newspapers). Free access to the Wellness Area with gym and sauna. Complimentary coffee and tea making facilities in the rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and Travelocity so you can book your K+K Hotel Opera reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
k Hotel Opera
k Hotel Budapest

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing