We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent location and service”
Review of K+K Hotel Opera

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
K+K Hotel Opera
Ranked #43 of 335 Hotels in Budapest
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 30, 2012

We chose this hotel after a friend recommended it to us, and it was worth it. We got a deal which included breakfast. And we loved the breakfast, especially wide variety of "fresh" fruits. We saw few people coming to this hotel from outside just for breakfast.
Location is excellent, one minute from Opera (which made it possible us to get tickets of a fantastic performance even at the last minute). walking distance from the river and most of other attractions. (on maps it might look a bit far as compared to other hotels close to river but it is not and walk to river is also nice passing by the big church). We felt safe even late at night while walking back.
Staff was wonderful and helped us in making dinner reservations and calling taxis etc. They also arranged for pickup from train station which was important for us since cab experience at railway stations of budapest (prague too) can be a hassle.
Room was clean and renovated. Big enough by european standards. No view but anyway in prague you are much better off going outside for view than staying at hotel.

Room Tip: While reserving ask for room in the modified section of the hotel.
See more room tips
Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
4  Thank RINGA80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniel_Horvath, Reservation Manager at K+K Hotel Opera, responded to this reviewResponded June 21, 2017

Dear valued Guest,

Thank you for your positive feedback regarding your stay in our hotel.
We are pleased that you enjoyed your Budapest experience with us and look forward to welcome you as our guest again soon.

Best regards,

Dániel Horváth
Reservation Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (3,324)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,809 - 1,815 of 3,324 reviews

Reviewed June 29, 2012

Our stay at the K&K was at the end of a cruise vacation in the Med. We had never been to Budapest before and we were looking forward to this short but meaningful visit. The property was found as a result of having read scores of reviews on Tripadvisor and getting lucky in that the hotel had a wonderful rate over the weekend. Our rate included a sprawling array of breakfast items which were both delicious and varied. If you couldn't find what you liked there for breakfast...well then you most likely don't eat breakfast.
The room was perfect. Quiet,nicely furnished and a really beautiful and most functional bathroom.Perhaps we were in one of the newer and remodeled locations. Don't be afraid to request one of these rooms.
The front desk was especially nice. They gave us very good reccomendations and advice.
I have nothing but high praise for the property,it's staff and central location. If you find a good rate as we did, book it quickly before the rate disappears.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank RichAChapman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniel_Horvath, Reservation Manager at K+K Hotel Opera, responded to this reviewResponded June 21, 2017

Dear valued Guest,

Thank you for your positive feedback regarding your stay in our hotel.
We are pleased that you enjoyed your Budapest experience with us and look forward to welcome you as our guest again soon.

Best regards,

Dániel Horváth
Reservation Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2012

This was our second stay at K+K. If you would like to enjoy Budapest's cultural activities it is one of the best places. We stayed in the back wing, the hotel room was normal size, clean, with a bit of the K+K (KuK) flair.

(If you wonder what this means, and why my nick name resembles the name of the hotel, just google for "Kaiserlich und Königlich" or "Imperial and Royal" in English. This was the regime when Central Europe was on the top, and was one of the great powers. So, people are nostalgic in our region regarding these times. Lot of them have mixed origin if we speak on the terms of the post WW I countries, and KuK defines best their cultural affiliation.)

Hope, I wasn't a bore for you, but when one puts the name K+K for a Central European hotel chain, has in mind this kind of imperial and royal flair. And K+K Opera is up to these expectations. I am sure that the middle class people of that age would feel good in it. But don't be afraid, you will have all the amenities of our times!

Some points:
-Kettle in the room with coffee and tee bags,
-free WiFi
-breakfast OK
-helpful staff

We will return!

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank KuK_Traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniel_Horvath, Reservation Manager at K+K Hotel Opera, responded to this reviewResponded June 21, 2017

Dear valued Guest,

Thank you for your positive feedback regarding your stay in our hotel.
We are pleased that you enjoyed your Budapest experience with us and look forward to welcome you as our guest again soon.

Best regards,

Dániel Horváth
Reservation Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2012

Stayed there twice, perfect location great service and food. The rooms are on the small side but still pretty nice, the bathroom was spotless. Not much to say other than it was pretty good. I found on my second trip that one of the buildings had nicer rooms than the other. One building is accessible by elevator right next to the front desk and the other one requires a walk to the back passing by the restaurant. The building on the back was the one with renovated rooms and pretty nice decor, the other building was not too bad but the rooms were not looking as good. Anyways, pretty decent hotel.

Room Tip: Get a room on the 'back' building, not the one that has the elavator right next to the lobby...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Manoel G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniel_Horvath, Reservation Manager at K+K Hotel Opera, responded to this reviewResponded June 21, 2017

Dear valued Guest,

Thank you for your positive feedback regarding your stay in our hotel.
We are pleased that you enjoyed your Budapest experience with us and look forward to welcome you as our guest again soon.

Best regards,

Dániel Horváth
Reservation Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2012

Hotel was good. Very good location. Walking distance to city center (maybe 10-20 min), super close to the opera subway station and only short walk to a good restaurant and bar district. We got a really good price. Although breakfast was then not included. Paying breakfast separate was very expensive compairing to food prices generally in Budapest so we didn't eat there any of the days. But it was easy to find nice restaurants outside the hotel. It is a lovely town. I definitely recommend everybody to go there!
Staff was friendly and helpful. Room was small but clean and nice. A big drawback for me was the lack of double bed in our double bed room. We got 2 beds pulled together. That is not the same thing. And not good enough for a romantic weekend, specially not when you are used to a proper double bed at home.
In total it is a good value for money hotel but nothing super special. I would give it a 3.5 if possible on tripadvisor.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TwoSweds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KKHotelOpera, General Manager at K+K Hotel Opera, responded to this reviewResponded June 14, 2012

Dear Guest,
thank you for posting your review, we are happy you liked our hotel.
I am sorry you have not mentioned your request of bed type on the spot as we could have offered you a room with king bed. (double bed in this part of Europe usually means two 90cm wide beds pushed together, a king bed is the large bed with one mattress) There is a welcome letter in our rooms where among other information we are offering different type of bedding solutions to our guest so everyone can have a sound sleep just like in their own bed. We encourage all our guests to inform us of their special wishes concerning our services so we can act promptly to fullfil all requirements.
We hope you will soon return to our hotel and we can prove our readiness to meet your expectations.
Andrea Kopócsy
GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2012

I recently spent 8 nights at the KK Hotel on business. Overall, I was very pleased with the accommodations. The hotel was clean, the staff were helpful and friendly, and the included traditional European breakfast was good. Situated within a stones throw of the Opera House, the location was great. During my stay, only once did I use public transportation - and I visited most of the popular tourist spots within the center city (I had a little help as one day I did a bicycle tour and another I did a Segway tour). Besides that, I did a lot of walking.

The hotel offers free wireless Internet access throughout the building.

Most of the rooms face a small courtyard so there is no view to speak of. Also the tv was very small (but in such a great city with an abundance of squares, cafes, etc... why spend your time watching tv?). My biggest complaint was the exercise equipment. Though the exercise area was nicely decorated and offered saunas, etc..., the equipment itself was consumer grade and not adequate for heavy use.

I would absolutely recommend this hotel and will stay again.

Stayed: June 2012, traveled on business
3  Thank EPB65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniel_Horvath, Reservation Manager at K+K Hotel Opera, responded to this reviewResponded June 21, 2017

Dear valued Guest,

Thank you for your positive feedback regarding your stay in our hotel.
We are pleased that you enjoyed your Budapest experience with us and look forward to welcome you as our guest again soon.

Best regards,

Dániel Horváth
Reservation Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2012

We stayed at the K&K in late May for 3 nights and were very pleased. It is close to the Opera and to the Opera Metro stop. The hotel is modern, our room and bathroom were large (great shower), very clean, cool and quiet. The staff was very professional and helpful. It is close to good shopping and restaurants (right off of Andrassy Avenue). We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LoveToTravelInPA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniel_Horvath, Reservation Manager at K+K Hotel Opera, responded to this reviewResponded June 21, 2017

Dear valued Guest,

Thank you for your positive feedback regarding your stay in our hotel.
We are pleased that you enjoyed your Budapest experience with us and look forward to welcome you as our guest again soon.

Best regards,

Dániel Horváth
Reservation Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Budapest hotels
District VII / Jewish Quarter
Continental Hotel Budapest
Continental Hotel Budapest
#41 of 335 in Budapest
4,470 reviews
Casati Budapest Hotel
#5 of 335 in Budapest
1,235 reviews
District V / Inner City
Bohem Art Hotel
Bohem Art Hotel
#14 of 335 in Budapest
2,508 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Terézváros
Opera Garden Hotel & Apartments
Hotel Palazzo Zichy
#4 of 335 in Budapest
4,939 reviews
District I / Buda
Hilton Budapest
Hilton Budapest
#15 of 335 in Budapest
4,379 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to K+K Hotel Opera? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about K+K Hotel Opera

Address: Revay utca 24, Budapest 1065, Hungary
Phone Number:
Location: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#18 Family Hotel in Budapest
#18 Business Hotel in Budapest
#20 Romantic Hotel in Budapest
#35 Luxury Hotel in Budapest
Price Range: $67 - $302 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — K+K Hotel Opera 4.5*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The K+K Hotel Opera in Budapest is a sophisticated, modern first class hotel which enjoys great popularity due to its welcoming atmosphere, a stylish interior design, and its unbeatable central location next to the Opera-house. Shopping in the pedestrian area "Vaci utca", as well as many key sights are within easy walking distance. The "Opera" underground station is just outside the hotel. Free WiFi in all guest rooms and public area. Free access to the Internet Lounge (PCs, printer and international newspapers). Free access to the Wellness Area with gym and sauna. Complimentary coffee and tea making facilities in the rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your K+K Hotel Opera reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
k Hotel Opera
k Hotel Budapest

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing