We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Stay at the Hotel Victoria”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Boutique Hotel Victoria Budapest
Ranked #9 of 334 Hotels in Budapest
Certificate of Excellence
A TripAdvisor Member
“Fantastic Stay at the Hotel Victoria”
Reviewed September 12, 2005

We stayed at the Hotel Victoria from August 22 through the 30th and then after visiting Italy we returned to stay another week.

We had the most outstanding views of the Danube from our rooms! Every room has large windows and at night you can see the Parliment building along the Danube and the beautiful Chain Bridge lit up... very romantic!

The rooms are spacious and clean. The staff is professional, speak several languages and very accomodating. Every staff member was very nice and made our stay there a pleasure, we truly experienced a family atmosphere.

Breakfast was also fantastic, not the typical continental breakfast which consists of coffee and a croissant. Instead there was a selection of meats, cheeses, breads, cereals, fruits, etc. etc. We looked forward to it each morning and if one prefers a capuccino over standard American style coffee, you can order that as well as great omlettes.

The next time we go back to Budapest we will stay there again!

  • Stayed August 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,396 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,029
    312
    34
    12
    9
See reviews for
191
784
50
48
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (357)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
chicago, il
Level 5 Contributor
45 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed September 11, 2005

We stayed in a fifth floor room for three nights in August, and were delighted - the views across the Danube were unbeatable, the staff was delightfully friendly and helpful, and we had none of the noise or other problems experienced by some members. The breakfast complaints on this site were also curious to me - since you are in central europe, you are going to get a spread of meats, cheeses, vegetables, breads, jams, and hopefully pastries, cereal, fruit and yogurt. The Victoria had these in addition to hot egg dishes that you could order - so if you go hungry, blame yourself, not the hotel. I also didn't really notice the furniture - frankly, the views were so absolutely beautiful, that the big comfortable chairs we pointed towards the windows seemed like heaven. One night we walked down the river to the grocery store (5-10 minute walk, large, modern, great selection) and bought a picnic to take back to our room, since we figured we had some of the best views in the city.

  • Stayed September 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ramblegal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed September 11, 2005

Just returned from an excellent 2 night break. 2 nights not being a sufficiently long enough stay in this lovely city.

This hotel is well positioned for everything. In the quieter part of the city yet close to everything.

The Hotel has a 4* rating I believe because of it's location. It's standard is similar to a UK 3* type. The reception area is small. There is a bar but not much in the way of seating for relaxation. Each floor contains three bedrooms, the 'end' rooms are bigger and have better views. We stayed in room 22, a middle room, which was a smaller room on the second floor and found this suitable for our needs. Great views of the river, houses of parliament and chain bridge. Previous comments on the trip advisor site had indicated noise from trams/traffic, this was evident, however, not sufficient to spoil our stay nor our recommendation to stay.

The breakfast was very good, sufficient choice to meet any needs.
The Hotel was clean Staff very helpful and friendly.

This is a 'small' 4* hotel. If you are looking for a big hotel service (lounge, restaurent, room service etc) this hotel WON'T meet your needs. If like us you want a clean bedroom/bathroom, good breakfast, friendly staff and great location this IS the Hotel.

After booking out on the day of departure, we left our luggage in reception. Before leaving for the airport, the Hotel allowed us to use a seperate shower facility and provided us with towels.

  • Stayed September 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kongsvinger, Norway
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2005

I stayed here for one night in july. After reading about the noise-problems on this site, I was a little concerned when I got a room at the first floor. But, the noise from the street was almost non-existing. Sure there is a tram that runs outside, but it does not have those screaming breaks, so I didn't find that to be a problem. I also thought the view was ok (see pictures).

What I found to be a problem was actually noise from within the hotel. As first floor is just half a floor up from the lobby, and there are no doors at either end of the stairs, it got very noisy when people gathered down there for a drink in the evening.

But, except from that I found the hotel to be very nice. Good food, very helpful staff, and excellent location for exploring the city by foot.

  • Stayed July 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank CoasterDude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed August 2, 2005

We arrived in Budapest during an especially cold week in springtime to a very impressive view from our 5th floor picture window of the Parliament and the Chain Bridge spanning across the Danube. The difficulty came as the temperature dropped to about 45 degrees F. and there was no available heat. The staff was friendly and polite but could really do nothing to turn off the central air-conditioning. We were provided with several blankets by a sympathetic young woman at the reception desk who turned out to be consistently helpful during our stay. It became a virtual outdoor experience. Bathrooms were clean and modern. Furninshings were a bit flimsy but adequate. Breakfast was definitely a challenge with nothing available that had any real appeal. Better to walk over the bridge to the main square where a regal, old CafeGerbeaud situated across from the main department store, served fabulous breakfast and desserts. Not to be missed though I might pass on this hotel the next time.

  • Stayed May 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Lucienne D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed July 23, 2005

This is the first time I want to write some comments on the hotel I ever stayed.

From tripadviosrs, I already knew that this hotel has some potential problems such as view of rooms and noise of tram/street. All the problems come from the low-floor rooms. So, I booked two rooms as early as I can. Meanwhile, I also submitted the request for getting the high-floor roomes. In order to obtain the best rooms, we arrived the hotel at 9:00am and then requested the lady in reception to give us two rooms with high floor as I requested in advance. The answer is no (definitely no).
She said that we could only get 2nd flror rooms even though we wanna check in at afternoon or at night till some rooms are available. The answer is still no. All the unconformable feelings arrived as the previous comments on internet. I was very regret about my decision of staying at this hotel especially I ever recommended the view of this hotel to my firends.

Before that, I stayed in Art'otl Hotel which just next to Hotel Victoria for two nights. After comparisons, the former is quite better in facility, breakfast and price and more comfortable than Hotel Victoria definitely.

  • Stayed July 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoke on trent, England
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed July 19, 2005

Spent 4 days here. First impressions on arriving not great, spottlessly clean but small reception/bar/breakfast room area. But on opening the door to the room all was forgotten. Larger than average rooms although bathroom quite small only room for one in the morning. Breakfast menu is shown on the in - house TV & on large TV screen in breakfast room. Best feature of this hotel is location & views from hotel windows of the Danube. Great Belgium themed Cellar Bar/Restaurant next to the hotel & Fat Mo's live music restaurant bar is a must for a great night out. Have recommended this hotel to other people & they were not disappointed.

  • Stayed May 2004
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank barney2511
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Budapest hotels
Hotel Palazzo Zichy
#4 of 334 in Budapest
4,776 reviews
District V / Inner City
Aria Hotel Budapest
Aria Hotel Budapest
#1 of 334 in Budapest
1,008 reviews
Andrássy út
Hotel Moments Budapest
Hotel Moments Budapest
#2 of 334 in Budapest
1,134 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
District V / Inner City
Hotel Parlament
Hotel Parlament
#5 of 334 in Budapest
2,207 reviews
District V / Inner City
Bohem Art Hotel
Bohem Art Hotel
#12 of 334 in Budapest
2,417 reviews
District V / Inner City
Prestige Hotel Budapest
Prestige Hotel Budapest
#6 of 334 in Budapest
1,303 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Boutique Hotel Victoria Budapest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Boutique Hotel Victoria Budapest

Property: Boutique Hotel Victoria Budapest
Address: Bem rakpart 11, Budapest 1011, Hungary
Location: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest > District I / Buda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in Budapest
#8 Luxury Hotel in Budapest
#17 Family Hotel in Budapest
#65 Business Hotel in Budapest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Boutique Hotel Victoria Budapest 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The newly renovated Hotel Victoria is located in the heart of historical downtown of Budapest, on the Buda side, directly on the riverside of the Danube. As the facility is equipped with large panoramic windows, one can enjoy the spectacular view of the city from all rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Hotwire, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Boutique Hotel Victoria Budapest reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Victoria Hotel Budapest

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing