We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Boutique Hotel Victoria Budapest
Nearby Hotels
$196
$176
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$245
$191
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Hilton Budapest(Budapest)
$176
$158
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$144
$88
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$301
$250
InterContinental
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
New York Palace(Budapest)
$158
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$152
$148
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$198
$135
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$410
$307
Cancelon
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$564
$545
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (1,671)
Filter reviews
1,671 results
Traveler rating
1,234
372
40
15
10
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,234
372
40
15
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsparliament buildingchain bridgebuda sidethe riverfree afternoon teamusic roombelgian barpicture windowmade to order eggstram stopcorner roomsmall hotelshort walklit up at nightbreakfast roomtop floorcastle hill
Filter
Updating list...
1,210 - 1,215 of 1,671 reviews
Reviewed June 19, 2005

You get your money's worth at this hotel. The rooms are large, nicely funished, well kept up, and our 5th floor room had a great view of the Danube, Parliament and the Chain Bridge. The hotel could use a little more management, though. In three days the food was never all out at the start of the breakfast hour. Usually it was the eggs that were latest. We were told to keep our key when we left the hotel during the day, and later we were told to hand it in. The in-room "safe" is a light tin cash box bolted inside the desk. But in the things that are important this is a good hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Upsilon6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2005

Stayed three nights recently. The room was spacious, clean and comfortable with a spectacular view. Breakfast was great with much more choice than the usual included breakfast. Staff were friendly and helpful and we can't wait to stay there again. We have to rate this hotel as one of the best we have stayed in in Europe for the price and we travel extensively.

  • Stayed: May 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rnlizdc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2005

Located in Buda, all rooms in the Victoria have fantastic views across the Danube. They are comfortable and airconditioned. Although the street in front of the hotel is busy, it is not nearly as noisy as we had been led to believe from reviews. There are several very good restaurants near the hotel and the metro is a 10 minute walk away. At night we could see the Parliament and the Chain Bridge beautifully illuminated. Breakfasts are excellent and the staff are very helpful. A great place to stay in Budapest.

1  Thank hawa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 4, 2005

Date: May 31st - June 4th 2005

My wife and I have just returned from a 4 day visit to the Hotel Victoria. We booked the hotel in January 2005 and requested a room on the eighth floor of the hotel. When we arrived we were allocated a room on the fourth floor and told that was all that was available. At this floor level the trees partially obliterate the view and the traffic and tram noise totally negate the benefit of the riverside location. Standard of furniture is aceptable but will need a refurbish in the not too distant future.

The buffet breakfast is O.K. but if you request any hot food then you have to be quick enough to catch the waiter as he passes, they do not come to offer you anything. I requested sausages with a fried egg and was told that the egg came with bacon not sausages and sausages were served on their own, and that is what I received , 2 lonely sausages on the plate. The cofee if from a 5 gallon, heated metal urn and is absolutely dreadful.

The room size is very good but we did not have a safe as advertised, this was greated with a shrug at reception that unfortunately not all rooms do.
We found the reception was not over helpful, I asked if they could please confirm our return pick up with the mini-bus company, the response was to advise us to go back to our room and use the telephone ourselves by dialling 6 in front of the number on the card for the mini-bus company.

Could not recommend this hotel since for the price you can get a much better hotel with better facilities. Location is good for the Buda area but would advise travellers to stay on the Pest side and travel over to see the Buda attractions or if you must stay on the Buda side then consider staying at the lovely castle area of the city.

  • Stayed: June 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Brasrus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2005

Me and my girlfriend have just returned from a three day stay at the Hotel Victoria. I have placed my review under separate headings to give you a complete feel for what you can expect at this hotel, as I feel some key points have been missed in previous reviews.

Check in - Having read other reviews I was fully aware that the rule of thumb was the higher the room the better due to the view and noisy trams. We had booked the hotel 6 months early and requested a high room on many occasions which was acknowledged by the hotel.
We did not arrive until the late afternoon and the person already at reception had just changed his room and was given the 8th floor. So, I was quite disappointed to be given a room on 3rd floor, I was told this was the highest available.

The room - On first impressions the room was spacious, clean and nicely decorated. However there were a few problems.
Firstly we had booked a double room and had this confirmed, yet we were given a twin. When I complained at reception they told me all the rooms were like this and they would send somebody to fix it. This happened and basically involved pushing the beds together, leaving a gap between the two mattresses and two lots of single bedding (not great for couples who like any kind of contact!).
Secondly the view was a disappointment, as outside the hotel there are large, well foliaged trees lining the river (see photo) which extend up to about the 4th floor. These almost completely blocked all views of the chain bridge and parliament, leaving jut small glimpses of random river.
This is big downside as the views are its biggest asset and if you get the first four floors the views are almost non-existent; its basically a 50/50 gamble.
The only other problem with the room (actually two whole floors) was the electricity was on the blink and we had no power for about 25% of our stay, the hotel responded fast to this problem, but with no success and the power kept cutting out. This was highly annoying when trying to get ready to go out in the evening.
We had no problems with a smoky room, dodgy air-con, or tram noise as reported in previous reviews.

Breakfast - Very good, and well maintained. There was also a good range and cooked food available on request. The only problem was tables were in short supply and for some reason we were told that two empty ones were reserved for the people on the eighth floor.

Location - Another key strong point, 10 minute walk from the castle district, 10 minutes from the centre of Pest and 5 minutes from the underground. A tram runs past the front of the hotel, but is only useful for going to Gellert.

Staff - Polite and helpful. They gave us some good advice on restaurants and attractions in the city and tried (but mainly failed) to solve our problems.

Conclusion - A good value hotel, in a top location, but don't set your heart on having good views of the Danube, Parliament and Chain Bridge as there's a fair chance you won't!

  • Stayed: May 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank DanNewcombe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews