We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Boutique Hotel Victoria Budapest
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Dunapart Hotel(Budapest)
View Hotel
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hilton Budapest(Budapest)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Burg Hotel(Budapest)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (1,671)
Filter reviews
1,671 results
Traveler rating
1,234
372
40
15
10
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,234
372
40
15
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsparliament buildingchain bridgebuda sidethe riverfree afternoon teamusic roombelgian barpicture windowmade to order eggstram stopcorner roomsmall hotelshort walklit up at nightbreakfast roomtop floorcastle hill
Filter
Updating list...
872 - 877 of 1,671 reviews
Reviewed November 10, 2013

My husband & I just arrived in Budapest yesterday. We are staying at the Hotel Victoria on the top (9th) floor in the middle room overlooking the Danube. Diagonally across to the left is the Hungarian Parliament bldg. and to the right is the Chain Bridge. It's absolutely beautiful at light when they are all lit up!

Hotel staff has been wonderful and very helpful. They will make your dinner reservations, taxi rides, you can buy Hop On-Hop Off bus tix, Budapest Card which is good for the trams and trains, etc.

Breakfast is very good. Cute room with choice of coffee or tea, meats, cheeses, juices, breads & rolls, jams, cold cereals, yogurt, fruit and they will make you either an omelette or scrambled eggs with ham. I'm gluten free and they accommodated me!

There is a small bar in the breakfast room where you can relax and have a drink or espresso/cappuccino.

The room is very modern with flat screen HDTV mounted on wall, floor to ceiling windows across the whole room that overlooks the Danube, mini fridge, a small seating area with desk & chair, 2 upholstered chairs with a small table in between, smart lights that automatically shut off when you leave the room and/or turn off if there is no motion. I.e., if you leave the bathroom light on it will go off after a few minutes but when you walk back in the light comes back on.

Every afternoon there is a free tea from 4p-5p and from 5:30p-6:30p they have 2 for the price of 1 drinks in the bar.

Lots of restaurants within walking distance.

You can order in-room spa services too!

The only drawback for the 9th floor is the lift only goes to the 8th floor so you have to walk up 1 flight of stairs, but I feel it's definitely worth it.

Room Tip: Room 93 is on top floor right in the middle. There are 3 rooms across the front of the hotel.
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Patricia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2013

I booked this hotel for a quick, one night business trip to Budapest. I chose it because of its proximity to the river and potential views. I was not disappointed!

First, the location. Right on the river front overlooking the Danube and the east bank, beautiful view, especially at night all lit up. You are a short walk from the Chain Bridge and access to the commercial city and only a few hundred metres from the Fisherman's Bastion and its incredible views over the city.

The reception is small but very friendly. I saw three separate receptionists and each one had perfect English and could not have been more helpful. The check in process was fast and easy with quick lift to the bedrooms.

I had a large double room on the 1st floor overlooking the river. Very clean and a definite 'boutique' feel to the furnishings. Modern without being clinical. Large flat screen tv, mini bar and ample drawers and wardrobe space. Free, fast wifi as well. So many hotels claim to offer wifi but actually don't have the bandwidth to service more than two users at once. The Victoria has bandwidth to spare, I could watch UK tv on my laptop at HD quality with no pauses, excellent for the European Champions League game!

The bed was probably the most comfortable I have slept in for years! The bathroom was a good size with a great shower, hand held or 'monsoon head', good pressure and lots of hot water.

Breakfast was good by usual east European standards. Hot eggs, ham, cheeses, cereal, a good selection of breads and pastries, as much coffee as you could desire and fresh fruit. All served up in a room with the best view in town.

The price was good too, £69 including breakfast!!

I can be a little critical of hotels (read my other reviews!), but the Victoria has got it absolutely right. Well worth a visit.

Room Tip: There is a little daytime road noise at the front of the hotel but the double glazing is excellent so, get a top floor room and enjoy the view!
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BillyAlicante
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2013

The Hotel Victoria ticked all the boxes for our short stay (4 nights) in Budapest.

The location was superb, with what must amount to some of the best views over the Danube between the Margret and Chain bridges and the magnificent Parliamentary buildings.

We arrived after midnight and really didn't see much Budapest that night. Our first morning however was magical. We awoke and pulled back the curtains, revealing the huge window. Outside the whole world was shrouded by mist and fog, but what initially was a disappointment quickly turned into an amazing unveiling of the Pest side of the Danube, the first thing to start to appear were the tips of the Parliamentary buildings. What a wonderful start to our day and our trip.

Beyond that our stay at the Victoria hotel was excellent.

Our room lacked nothing, and was clean and well appointed.

The staff were always attentive, friendly and very helpful. They even helped me to locate a specific Hungarian chocolate that I'd had in childhood (Konyakmeggy, which are exquisite cherry liqueurs). If you've not tried them they're worth a try, but make sure you get the real thing, not the cheaper imitation available in the supermarkets. We ended up getting the real deal in the Airport on the way home.

The location of the hotel was excellent. The castle district was easy walking distance. Alternatively, 15 minutes walk will take you over the chain bridge and to the starting point for the various Hop-on Hop-off buses.

Room Tip: All the rooms have views over the Danube, but the higher the room the better the view :o)
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TheWolfCub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2013

We spent three great nights here in October. It's located on the Danube, looking across at the Parliament building, gorgeous at night when it's all lit up. Staff was very friendly and helpful, the room was a delight with lots of storage and indirect lighting, and the included breakfast was great. One of the best omelets ever! Several genuine Hungarian restaurants nearby, and a short walk to the funicular that you can ride up to the Castle district. Only improvement I could ask for is thicker towels, but that's a nit. Great place to stay in Budapest!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank cm-in-ca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2013

Lovely room with spectacular views of Parliament,The Chain Bridge and, of course, the River Danube. We turned the chairs so we could enjoy the view rather than sit with our back to it!
Unfortunately, the position next to one of the main roads meant that it was rather noisy. Trams didn't seem to stop running for long before they started again!
There was a good selection of cold food at breakfast and eggs(scrambled, omelette) were available if you wanted. The room was on the small side and could get rather busy. One breakfast was spoiled by a large group of women ( 10 in all) who were noisily planning their day. Maybe I just don't like noise in the morning! We managed to avoid them next morning!
The room itself was modern with lots of quirky lighting, a good shower over the bath and very clean and tidy. Didn't try the complimentary afternoon tea, nor take advantage of the happy hour offer.
The hotel was within walking distance of restaurants, sights etc. Staff were friendly.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank MG1746
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews