We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pest,and the beautiful blue Danube”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Boutique Hotel Victoria Budapest
Ranked #9 of 334 Hotels in Budapest
Certificate of Excellence
Cherry Hill, New Jersey
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Pest,and the beautiful blue Danube”
Reviewed August 10, 2013

Wow, what a view! The Victoria Hotel in Budapest offers one of the most spectacular views in Eastern Europe. Not only that, throw in a comprehensive breakfast , high tea in two gorgeous rooms, and Lazlo at reception. Lazlo was a great help to us in getting taxi's , suggesting restaurants, and helping us get around in this most beautiful of cities.

Room Tip: Make sure you book well ahead as this hotel only has 26 rooms!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gypsy620
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,379 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,016
    309
    33
    12
    9
See reviews for
186
775
50
48
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (356)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Australia
Level 6 Contributor
290 reviews
87 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 150 helpful votes
Reviewed August 9, 2013

Good size room - picture window over looking the River Danube. We had an end room (room 71), which allowed us to overlook the Chain Bridge, as well as the Parliament buildings. The breakfasts in the small dining room were good and the hotel offered plenty of choice and eggs to order. In the evening we were offered a happy hour system based on buy one - get one free from 5.30 to 6.30 pm, which we used before heading out for our evening meal. They also offer free wi-fi, and I never had a problem with signal strength on the seventh floor.
On our third night the phone rang at midnight and we were warned that a 50 kilo World War Two bomb had been found not far from the hotel. We were informed that the police had visited two hotels, the Victoria being one of them, and that we had to be out of the hotel by 7.00 am as a precaution, before the bomb squad could begin their work. Breakfast would be served from 5.30 am instead of the normal time of 7.00 am. We were not allowed back until 3 pm, after the all clear had been given. On returning, the hotel gave us a bottle of wine as a thank you for our cooperation. A very nice gesture considering that the incident had nothing to do with the hotel, and they didn't have as choice, but to evacuate the hotel. As others have said the hotel is well positioned on the Buda side of the river, close to restaurants and bars. We found this side of the river to be a little cheaper than the more popular Pest side. The Victoria is located a short stroll from the Chain Bridge, so visiting Pest was good for our daily exercise as we crossed the river via this bridge. If we return to Budapest we wouldn't have any hesitation in booking the Victoria again.

Room Tip: Try for a corner room. Spend the little extra for a river view
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Geoff W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 9, 2013

We recently spent 6 nights in this hotel. Our room was on the 9th floor with a balcony. The view was fantastic. The room was spacious and clean. Breakfasts were something to look forward to each morning. The staff was extremely helpful and friendly. We enjoyed the walk to the supermarket at the square and across the Chain Bridge. The weather was HOT so the air conditioner was invaluable. A memorable time in Budapest.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jill N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed August 4, 2013

We spent one night at this lovely hotel after departing our Danube River Cruise. The views of Parliament Building and the Chain Bridge from our double river view room were spectacular. The room was comfortable and generous size and staff were friendly and helpful. We enjoyed a very good breakfast and wished that we could stay longer.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a double river view...you won't be disappointed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bev H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 6 Contributor
248 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
Reviewed August 1, 2013

My wife and I have just enjoyed three nights at this fabulous little hotel which is located on the banks of the Danube on the Buda side. We had room 43 - a delightful room with a fantastic view of the Chain Bridge and the Parliament building. The room was well equipped, clean and comfortable. Breakfast in the bar of the hotel was excellent, with a good choice of freshly cooked eggs, fruit, cold meats, breads etc.
The staff were at all times helpful, courteous, and keen to be of service and it appeared that nothing was too much trouble. We had a late flight from Budapest and, whilst we were unable to keep our room for a late checkout, we were able to leave our luggage at the hotel and later shower and change our clothes prior to leaving for the airport.
All in all a great experience, and we look forward to staying at the Hotel Victoria in the future.

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Peter D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norman, Oklahoma
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2013

Stupendous view from our room (71). We overlook the Danube, and can see several bridges, the Parliament bldg, and several other major architectural gems. This room is large enough to accommodate the bed, dressers, and convenient sitting area by the picture windows.

Staff is/are friendly and very helpful, as I needed extra help, being on crutches during this trip. There are 6 steps to getup to the hotel, then an elevator after that. Breakfast is included, and it's quite generous, they'll cook egg dishes, plus a diverse buffet. Good selection of teas. The breakfast room doubles as a bar during the day & evening.

Also,my hey serve tea at 4pm in a most beautiful room with stained glass windows, good art, and intriguing architectural details. .

This place is spotless and well-kept up. It's quiet. We didn't hear any other guests at night.

I highly recommend the Hotel Victoria!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GoldenRings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2013

This hotel is excellent with a very friendly staff. My one warning is NOT to stay in the three-star wing. First of all, it's NOT a wing -- it's on a completely different street and comprises a few dank, musty rooms off a poorly lit, rundown courtyard. Normally one considers a "wing" attached to something, but this so-called wing bears no resemblance whatsoever to the actual hotel. Sure, it's slightly cheaper than the main hotel, but who wants to feel unsafe while traveling in a foreign country at any cost? Note: my ratings below are of the main hotel -- not the "3-star wing" which we switched out of after the first sleepless night.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank musician1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Budapest hotels
Hotel Palazzo Zichy
#4 of 334 in Budapest
4,743 reviews
Andrássy út
Hotel Moments Budapest
Hotel Moments Budapest
#2 of 334 in Budapest
1,093 reviews
District V / Inner City
Aria Hotel Budapest
Aria Hotel Budapest
#1 of 334 in Budapest
978 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
District V / Inner City
Hotel Parlament
Hotel Parlament
#5 of 334 in Budapest
2,193 reviews
District V / Inner City
Prestige Hotel Budapest
Prestige Hotel Budapest
#6 of 334 in Budapest
1,277 reviews
District V / Inner City
Bohem Art Hotel
Bohem Art Hotel
#13 of 334 in Budapest
2,408 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Boutique Hotel Victoria Budapest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Boutique Hotel Victoria Budapest

Property: Boutique Hotel Victoria Budapest
Address: Bem rakpart 11, Budapest 1011, Hungary
Location: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest > District I / Buda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in Budapest
#8 Luxury Hotel in Budapest
#17 Family Hotel in Budapest
#65 Business Hotel in Budapest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Boutique Hotel Victoria Budapest 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The newly renovated Hotel Victoria is located in the heart of historical downtown of Budapest, on the Buda side, directly on the riverside of the Danube. As the facility is equipped with large panoramic windows, one can enjoy the spectacular view of the city from all rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Boutique Hotel Victoria Budapest reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Victoria Hotel Budapest

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing