We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“3 days at Buda during the Danub flooding”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Boutique Hotel Victoria Budapest
Ranked #9 of 336 Hotels in Budapest
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 11, 2013

Victoria is an excellent 4 stars boutique hotel. I really suggest to everyone is going to spend some days in Budapest. Everything works. It's central position. The beatiful view over the Danub with the parliament and the chain bridge you can enjoy from the confortable, modern and very clean rooms. And at last but not least the courtesy and the kindness of the staff. I.e. we had to leave at six am and they prepared a packed lunch for us.
We were at Budapest from 7 up to 10 June 2013 during the flooding of the Danub but except for the alarming view of the river everything went on smoothly like nomal days so thanks also to the seraphic calm of its citizens we fully enjoyed this beautiful city.
I'm gong to coming back in Budapest and at Victoria hotel of course.
Greetings/Andrea
Andrea

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gison77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zoltan_Palmai_Jr., General Manager at Boutique Hotel Victoria Budapest, responded to this reviewResponded June 12, 2013

Dear Andrea,

Thank you for your positive comment, I see in yours and in the previous reviews, that you really appreciated my colleague's efforts to operate the hotel smoothly during the flood. I think the whole nation did a great job this time and you could enjoy the unique view, what people can see only in every 500 years!
Kind regards,
Zoltan Palmai Jr.
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,537)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

831 - 837 of 1,538 reviews

Reviewed June 10, 2013

After finding good reviews online, we booked this hotel for our 3 day visit to Budapest. Upon arriving there and being dropped off with all of our luggage (and letting the taxi go), we get to the front desk (up many stairs) and were told that 'sorry, yes, you have a confirmed reservation, but we have no rooms available' !

I had confirmed our reservation 3 times, including the day PRIOR to our arrival on email, and was told that everything is fine. Problem compounds as 3 other couples we are traveling with (meeting them there - they are from Australia) are staying at this hotel as well, and now WE have no room in the same hotel.

The front desk person explained that an online booking service took all of the rooms and rather than irritate THEM, they are bouncing US to make room for the other reservations!! This is NOT a way to run a hotel and left a really bad taste upon arriving, after a very long flight.

They did arrange another hotel 2 blocks AWAY, but that did not help us in staying connected with our GROUP. We asked that they call and pay for a taxi to take us to the other hotel (we had lots of luggage in preparation for a river cruise), offer the same room rate plus free breakfast, and also allow us to at least SIT with our group during their breakfast (we needed to plan our day every morning with them). The hotel rep grudgingly agreed.

I cannot recall a more awful start to our arrival in a hotel. Nothing but hassle and problems with this hotel. It gets even better. The next morning, during our brief visit there for juice and coffee with our group (we already HAD breakfast at our 'new' hotel 2 blocks away and it BLEW AWAY the meager offerings and unfriendly atmosphere at the Hotel Victoria), the breakfast room was 90% full (no one was waiting for a table), and the Hotel VIctoria breakfast person tells us all (we had a big table for 8 - 6 of the guests were staying there) that we must leave shortly - there are people waiting to come in and sit!!! (no one was waiting) They just began removing plates and coffee cups. Totally obnoxious, but fitting considering our arrival experience. I would NOT recommend this place at ALL to ANYONE.

We then went upstairs to continue the visit with our group and see their rooms. The rooms were old looking and musty...they looked like 1960 decor in green and brown with ugly paneling. So, we were really glad we ended up at a superb hotel down the road with a fabulous view.

Room Tip: Get a better hotel down the street, for less, with a magnificent breakfast, friendly staff and much...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank L T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zoltan_Palmai_Jr., General Manager at Boutique Hotel Victoria Budapest, responded to this reviewResponded June 12, 2013

Dear LR,

I find it much more honest to say that sometimes we also make mistakes, rather than giving any excuse.
In your case we managed to book a room for you with the same conditions ( same price, same view) in another hotel nearby, which is much more expensive than ours.
Writing such a review without even staying with us, especially 9 months after the trip, tells me that you were guided only by your personal resentment.
That is true that our breakfast room is for breakfast and not for meetings during the breakfast time, but we have a beautiful , unique, historical event hall in the hotel, open for our guests for private meetings any time.
As your friends and all other guests have totally opposite view of our decoration, service and breakfast, specially after our renovation in early 2012, I’m sure that yours were just an isolated case, but warns us to do our job even better.
Best regards,
Zoltan Palmai Jr.
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 9, 2013

I know people tell you to disregard a five star rating, but I couldn't find any faults with this hotel.

I arrived early and they held my bags. Came back around 3 PM and my room was ready. I was in room 12 overlooking the Danube, Great views....the river is currently flooding, so it was also good people watching (people really are dumb...little kids playing in flood waters!).

Room was very spacious and decorated in a modern style. Bed was comfortable. TV was standard channels. Mini bar available with good prices (equal to street prices instead of inflated).

Shower was fabulous! There is a handheld shower and also a rain shower head. You need to pull a little knob to get the rain head to work. Good water pressure and hot water. Nice big towels too.

Reception very friendly and helpful with callin a taxi and knowing what trams were affected by flood.

Breakfast was included in my Expedia rate. Great selection. Granolas, cereal, breads, jams, etc.

Location was great. Right along the Danube. Only a 10 minute walk across the chain bridge. You can be on the top of castle hill in about 15-20 minutes. It's also on a tram line.

I would return again in a heart beat, oh, and the wifi is also fast enough to FaceTime. Always a winner in my book when that happens.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Naomi E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2013

Stayed 3 nights in May in room 333. Large comfortable western style room with magnificent views over the Danube to parliament house. Wall safe and Wi fi in room. Excellent breakfast with eggs also cooked to order. Staff were very friendly and helpful. Went to the free afternoon tea and experienced the warmth of the old part of the building. Took the funicular up to the castle and walked to all the other sites on the other side of the river. Would recommend this hotel to all others and would stay again

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank aged65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2013

On a recent business trip I spent two nights with 4 colleagues at the hotel. We shared 2 rooms, one having twin beds the other twins and a folding bed (this was fairly sturdy and quite comfortable). The rooms were both corner rooms on floor 8 and had magnificent views over the Danube. To the right we could see the nearby Chain Bridge and to the left the Parliament Buildings both of which were lit up at night. There were armchairs close to the window to make the most of watching the water traffic pass by and both rooms were very spacious.
For the quality of room and view they were not expensive and included breakfast which was very adequate including freshly cooked eggs etc for those with the stamina.
Staff were very helpful and were able to book tours, transport tickets etc.
Nearby there were numerous local bars and restaurants providing extremely reasonably priced meals and drinks. Budapest generally was surprisingly cheap. A very short walk away was Castle Hill and Fisherman's Bastion - essential visits. We had a lovely river cruise one evening; very relaxing and including a glass of sparkling wine.
I would thorougly recommend the hotel and am already planning a return trip with my husband.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank FrancesMalvern
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2013

This is a comfortable, well maintained hotel with a great view of the Danube.
Especially nice when lit up at night. It is within walking distance of most sights,
But is also close to the metro, hop on hop off etc. 5 minutes to the theatre with Hungarian
Folk Orchestra. Room was very clean good Internet,water pressure, Los of hot water
Great little Belgium Bistro right next door. Really good food and great beer. One of the best spots we have stayed.

Room Tip: Make sure you get a room facing the river
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank precious1952
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2013

Our modern, clean room overlooking the Danube is a pleasure to remember. We stayed four nights, and thoroughly enjoyed everything about Budapest, especially breakfast at the Victoria and coming in late to a comfortable room.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Robin G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Budapest hotels
Hotel Palazzo Zichy
#4 of 336 in Budapest
4,946 reviews
Andrássy út
Hotel Moments Budapest
Hotel Moments Budapest
#2 of 336 in Budapest
1,367 reviews
District V / Inner City
Aria Hotel Budapest
Aria Hotel Budapest
#1 of 336 in Budapest
1,211 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
District V / Inner City
Hotel Parlament
Hotel Parlament
#7 of 336 in Budapest
2,321 reviews
District V / Inner City
Prestige Hotel Budapest
Prestige Hotel Budapest
#6 of 336 in Budapest
1,468 reviews
Casati Budapest Hotel
#5 of 336 in Budapest
1,235 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Boutique Hotel Victoria Budapest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Boutique Hotel Victoria Budapest

Address: Bem rakpart 11, Budapest 1011, Hungary
Location: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest > District I / Buda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in Budapest
#8 Luxury Hotel in Budapest
#16 Family Hotel in Budapest
#65 Business Hotel in Budapest
Price Range: $97 - $180 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Boutique Hotel Victoria Budapest 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The newly renovated Hotel Victoria is located in the heart of historical downtown of Budapest, on the Buda side, directly on the riverside of the Danube. As the facility is equipped with large panoramic windows, one can enjoy the spectacular view of the city from all rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Boutique Hotel Victoria Budapest reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Victoria Hotel Budapest

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing