We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly staff, quiet location and everything clean”
Review of Hotel Papillon

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Papillon
Ranked #120 of 334 Hotels in Budapest
Santiago, Chile
Level 5 Contributor
89 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Friendly staff, quiet location and everything clean”
Reviewed September 24, 2013

This a hidden gem in Budapest If you dont mind walking a bit extra to downtown area, this a perfect place to rest after a long day. Rooms are small but very clean, and the area is very quiet also. The staff is extremely friendly and helpful. There is also a small restaurant in its premises, so you dont have to bother about finding any other place around to eat.

Room Tip: Second floor rooms to the backyard dont have a good access to WiFi, so avoid if this matters you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PirataGambrinus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

250 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    43
    130
    58
    15
    4
See reviews for
47
76
39
23
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Maidstone, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
48 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2013

Good value hotel especially for a family of 4, breakfast was OK but room size was great. We could have slept 6 in the room we had, with 4 it was very spacious. All I would say is that fixtures and fittings all needed a little work - shower screen almost fell off, shower head would not stay up etc. all minor and only a few minutes to fix. Near to Margaret Island and the tourist bus stops so convenient to see what is a surprisingly big city.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
Reviewed July 27, 2013

Hotel Papillon cost 54 Euros a night for a twin room when we were staying. For this we got clean, homely rooms, excellent service and recommendations from the staff on reception, a location that is right in the 'Castle Hill' area and a 5 minute walk from the Danube and several of the top sightseeing attractions on the opposite side of the river.

Breakfast was included and offered a decent variety and there is also a pool for guests to relax in. The bathrooms were simple but good - especially the high pressure showers which were very refreshing and a great start to the day. The wifi was free and always offered a strong connection and finally the hotel is not far from several different forms of public transport.

The hotel is not in the thick of the 'action' and so maybe wouldn't suit the Budapest party seekers but for anyone else looking for peaceful rest in comfortable beds with good air-con couldn't go far wrong.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank richardmalpass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Illinois
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed July 14, 2013

After a long day driving from Sarajevo we couldn't have been more pleased to have the Hotel Papillon as our place to stay for a couple of nights. The staff was so friendly and helpful to us. There were 4 of us, so we got 2 separate accomodations. I was in a room in the main building....it was small but when I travel I spend very little time in a room so it was fine. My adult daughter and son were in the building on the next street and they had a brand new and spacious apartment. Both places had AMAZING SHOWERS! That is something that is really important to me.....so both thumbs up for that. I thought that the free breakfast was very nice. You can't beat the location and the price.....it was a great deal.....also, we got to get rid of our car for a couple of days in the garage right across the street....a real bonus!

Room Tip: I didn't see the apartment on the next block but the way my kids described it, for the same pric...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank keddie43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bogota, Colombia
Level 6 Contributor
94 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed July 12, 2013

This hotel is listed in a few different guide books as a good place to stay and they are right. The price is good and so is the location. It's a short walk to the bridge and public transportation. The rooms are clean and the bathroom was quite large. Free breakfast is always nice too! The staff was super helpful and nice! I would stay here again!

Room Tip: Get the room with the balcony!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mary M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Budapest
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed June 7, 2013

Good place for a budget. The staff out front is great and extremely helpful and nice. The restaurant and breakfast buffet are on a budget and ok, but usually best as a back up if you're tired and don't want to go out. The rooms have amenities, but they are pretty basic. The TVs are small, 9-13 inch screen, CRT, the beds are clean but creaky and occupy about 70% of floor space, which makes getting up a little difficult at times. The beds are also relatively low to the ground. The towels are rough on the skin but replaced daily, if so required, the blankets are small, and the mattresses are pretty darn firm. High room ceilings help make it less claustrophobic. The bathrooms are small but functional, although they do show wear. Lovely breeze off Rose Hill in the evening. Quiet area, have to walk a few blocks just to get to transportation and have to cross the river for more of the night life in Pest. And when coming back it is steep, uphill, so consider a cab if you have been out drinking.

Even given all these limitations, the service and ambiance of the neighborhood are nice for an inexpensive, safe, reliable place to stay.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HaveMouthWillTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2013

I stayed in one of the little apartment units for a few nights, in the building on the next street. It was tiny and basic but very clean. The kitchen was bare-bones in terms of utensils etc, I had to ask the front desk for a few things (dish towels, etc). The little patio off the bedroom was kind of charming.

It's not really convenient in terms of location if you're just in Budapest to see the sights for a couple of days (I was moving here for work so I stayed there until I found an apartment to rent). I'd recommend staying on the Pest side if that's the case, in district 5, 6 or 7.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GiliGirlie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Budapest hotels
District V / Inner City
Budapest Panorama Central
Budapest Panorama Central
#92 of 334 in Budapest
458 reviews
Csaszar Hotel
#188 of 334 in Budapest
210 reviews
Aventura Boutique Hostel
#95 of 334 in Budapest
193 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Chesscom
#106 of 334 in Budapest
371 reviews
Hotel Manzard Panzio
#139 of 334 in Budapest
58 reviews
Central Hotel 21
#69 of 334 in Budapest
589 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Papillon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Papillon

Property: Hotel Papillon
Address: Rozsahegy utca 3/b, Budapest 1024, Hungary
Location: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #120 of 334 Hotels in Budapest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Papillon 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Otel, HRS, Priceline, Hotel.de, Hotwire, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Papillon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Papillon Hotel Budapest

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing