We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very helpful staff and a good location”
Review of Hotel Papillon

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Papillon
Ranked #120 of 334 Hotels in Budapest
Glenbrook, NSW
Level 5 Contributor
85 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Very helpful staff and a good location”
Reviewed August 28, 2012

The hotel is as good as described on web page. Staff were absolutely brilliant - nothing was too much trouble - they were committed to making your stay as good as possible. The outdoor area was a very nice bonus for relaxing. Rooms very well serviced and clean. Only problem was rooms are a bit small. Cleanliness and quietness of rooms both good. Location is convenient and central. We had no problem with noise and no complaint. Hotel is more like 15 minutes walk from Buda castle aea. Would highly recommend

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank JED52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

249 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    43
    130
    58
    15
    3
See reviews for
46
76
39
23
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Margate
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2012

Hotel was great. Nice balcony with view. Good quality for such a cheap price. Breakfast & dining was not great but pleasant & manageable. Rooms were clean, tidy. Hotel staff spoke Hungarian, French & english.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Flashtotty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Al Ain, United Arab Emirates
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed July 31, 2012

Stopped here for one night with my family of four between travel from Prague and south Hungary. Had comfy family room of one double and two singles for around 60 euros inc. breakfast. Short downhill stroll to 4/6 tram which connects Buda and Pest. Good value for the price.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank markh1066
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exmouth, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed May 22, 2012

Since I stayed here last the hotel has been renovated and modernised. My room was a good size as was the bathroom. Everything very clean and the room was quiet, as I had requested. Breakfasts were substantial including cereals, yoghourt, rolls etc plus scrambled egg every day. The breakfast room waitress/cook was extremely pleasant and the same applies to the reception staff. One problem; as its name suggests, it is on a hill,(and quite a steep one) so approaching it on foot from Margit Krt is hard going if carrying luggage. Apart from that this is a good, clean, comfortable 3 star hotel in a pleasant part of Budapest. I shall probably use it again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from Rozsahegy u if you want a quiet room
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank JamesBrian037
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
Level 4 Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed March 4, 2012

I agree with melodia 1705. I have stayed here as a non driving solo traveller 5 times since September 2009 which I suppose is all you need to know. I chose it initially (and subsequently) for its cost and close location to my dental clinic. Rooms are basic ie clean and comfortable and you will be guartanteed a good night's sleep. Breakfast is basic (adequate) and you can pre order a similar evening meal also. Reception staff are fluent in 4 languages I recognised but more importantly their attitude is good and will offer help with directions etc if you ask. Just don't expect anything fancy for the price you're paying.
The hotel is located in Buda which is 20/25 minutes walk from the Castle District which is one of the main tourist spots in the city and is also < 10 walk to public transport into the city centre by tram or you can take the at Metro Moskva Ter (square) which takes about 15 minutes.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PhillipeGlasgow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Carolina
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 6, 2012

We stayed at Hotel Papillon a few nights last June. Based on reviews we thought it would be better than average - it was ok. Not great, not terrible. Our beds were fine, our bathroom was a little basic (our towels were tiny, and the front desk person was annoyed when we asked for normal sized ones...which they ended not having anyway). Breakfast was average. All in all it was fine, and probably a definite step up from a youth hostel. I wish I knew more about other BnBs and hotels in Budapest to know whether this was actually a good deal or not. Bottom line: It was fine, but I don't think I would choose to stay there again if I return to Budapest.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank melodia1705
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sondrio, Italy
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed January 17, 2012

No problems with bedroom, Internet connection apart that sometimes went broken or very low.
It is also very close to both British Council Istitutions in case you need to improve your English, the metro and Mamuth shopping Center as well.
I would express all my gratitude to all staff.
Anonimous - Italy

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank pap_132011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Budapest hotels
District V / Inner City
Budapest Panorama Central
Budapest Panorama Central
#92 of 334 in Budapest
458 reviews
Csaszar Hotel
#189 of 334 in Budapest
210 reviews
Aventura Boutique Hostel
#101 of 334 in Budapest
193 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Manzard Panzio
#139 of 334 in Budapest
58 reviews
Ibis Budapest Aero
#114 of 334 in Budapest
154 reviews
Hotel Chesscom
#105 of 334 in Budapest
370 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Papillon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Papillon

Property: Hotel Papillon
Address: Rozsahegy utca 3/b, Budapest 1024, Hungary
Location: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #120 of 334 Hotels in Budapest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Papillon 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotel.de, Otel, Booking.com, Priceline, HRS, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Papillon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Papillon Hotel Budapest

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing