We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Value for money”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Papillon

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Papillon
Ranked #123 of 342 Hotels in Budapest
Level Contributor
17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Value for money”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 20, 2011

Clean, average size rooms, comfortable. The receptionist was a bit rude at times, when we wanted help she would talk to us and then immediatley start a new conversation with someone else who spoke Hungarian and would get back to us after she was done - it happened over and over again. Location is ok, could probably find something closer and still pay cheaper.

  • Stayed March 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Globetrotter1023
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

226 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    39
    117
    54
    13
    3
See reviews for
42
70
36
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bratislava
Level Contributor
52 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 9, 2011

Hotel is situated only few minutes from Moszkva ter (square) and Mammut shopping center. Tram stop (4,6) is aprox 150m. Direct tram to Nyugati train station, Westend shopping center, Blaha Lujza square (near keleti train station) and near buda castle, downtown and Margit island with thermal water pools.
Nearest old turkish spa with thermal water is Kiraly Bath, aprox 500m

I booked standart single room for last minute price.
Receptionist was very helpful and polite. She asked me, if I would like to sleep in a small single room in main building or in bigger room in annex.
Annex was situated aprox 100m from the hotel.

Room was with terrace, very nice 3* standart. Only TV wasnt good.
Breakfast was standart: (ham, hungarian salami, one type of cheese, butter, honey, jam and jogurth, Orange and apple juices, tea or coffe).

Hotel offered free of charge welcome cocktail and private restaurant
3-course dinner menu for only 9 Eur.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank michalz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
64 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2011

Staffs: were extremely nice. Location: not that central, and a little bit hidden on a side street, but the tram stop is not so far away. And within the proximity, supermarket and restaurant as well as snack boots are available around the main road. Room: the bed room was quite small, but with the shower room of almost the same size, very strange. All in all, nothing was perfect but everything was ok, this might be the charm of that kind of a small family run hotel. So, the hotel met my expectation corresponding to the price of the room, so 4 points.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GiovanniBKK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brasilia, DF
Level Contributor
101 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 28, 2010

The hotel location is nice (close to Mamute mall, Buda castle, bridge, churches), but you need to trudge a "hill" and some stairs in puzzled corridors to step to your room. Besides that the staff and services (nice dinner, standard breakfast) compensates the hurdle if you don't care for amenities and pride more your money than confort. The rooms were clean, but the toilet paper was of very low quality, calefation was good, room size adequate and bathroom small.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ABispo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
60 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 15, 2010

We paid the extra for a superior room and initially we were bowled over. Top of the house with huge terrace giving superb views over the Pest side of town. It was really a small suite but sadly no lock on bathroom door, no other mirror apart from the small one in the bathroom and the drains still smell slightly. I think the place has had a refurb as the piano bar refered to in earlier reviews did not appear to exist any longer so all was peaceful. Our curtians did not fit which meant that at 4:30am on a sunny morning it was heads under the duvet. After a thunderstorm the rain came in under the huge patio windows which looked new.Everything was very clean however .
Breakfast was Ok but not as good as a usual Austrian or German buffet. The poor kitchen staff seemed overwhelmed and the buffet wasn't actually ready at 7am for our early departure. However they were very quick and willing to sort it. Can't say I would eat in again----tried one evening meal but there are so many better places in the area.
The garden is tiny and despite the hot weather there was no water in the pool-----paddling pool size. The roof terrace seemed just to be a flat roof with clother lines
I would use it again, however, as it was good value. recommend you take an eye mask, decent mirror and book a superior room.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank roefamilyUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luxembourg
Level Contributor
24 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2009

This was my second stay at the Papillon Hotel and feel it merits a review - and an extremely POSITIVE one at that!
Whilst rooms are quite basic, they are also very clean - which is important! The staff are all incredibly friendly, speak great English, and couldn't be more helpful! Enjoyed a good breakfast, and also an evening meal which was SUPERB value! Am already looking forward to my 3rd visit end-September!

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AJFT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Switzerland
Level Contributor
33 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 12, 2009

I was already in Budapest when I booked to stay at the Papillon. In an internet cafe, I did a search and it came up with an extraordinarily cheap price. After the obligatory check on Tripadvisor I decided to give the hotel a go.

I arrived, and was surprised by the person at the counter greeting me and introducing themselves. I can't recall any hotel anywhere in the world where that has happened before, and it made me feel very welcomed. I was very early but they were able to get me into my room anyway, which was nice.

My room was, to put it tactfully, bijoux. Less tactfully, very very small. But as I was all alone, I didn't need much space and could plonk my suitcase on the second of the twin beds. There was a cupboard, a desk (which had a hairdryer tucked into the drawer) with a tv (CNN and bits of MTV being the only English speaking channels) and a small fridge. I was surprised to find a mini bar within, and when I looked at the price list for it, I thought it very reasonable. I was also impressed to see among the items in the mini-bar, full litres of orange and apple juice.

There were two pillows on each of the beds, with little welcoming sweeties too.

The bathroom was small but functional and clean.

Breakfast was included in the price of the room, and consisted of sliced meat and cheeses, bread rolls, bread for toasting, cereal (2 sorts), yoghurts, tea/coffee, boiled eggs. As soon as the trays got low they were refilled so there was certainly plenty to eat.

The hotel has its own little restaurant which offers each night a cheap meal for 9 euros of entree (usually soup) main course and dessert, however I didn't try it so I can't tell you how good it was - there are too many other places to eat in Budapest to eat at the hotel!

There is an internet computer in the entry which you can use: the connection was fast and the cache cleared whenever you closed the browser (a piece of security I appreciate).

The only minuses are that there a) is a bit of a steep walk to get to the hotel and b) the curtains are not heavy enough to block out light really well.

The tram line is close by and you are close enough to walk to Buda Castle so the general location is great. I was really happy with my stay in this hotel (especially at the amazing price I paid) and would recommend it to anyone - it may not be an amazing honeymoon hotel, but it is really very decent.

  • Liked — Location, price and service
  • Disliked — the hill... at the end of a long day it was a bit of a trudge.
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Kiriel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Budapest hotels
City Hotel Ring
#115 of 342 in Budapest
4.0 of 5 bubbles 383 reviews
Terézváros
easyHotel Budapest Oktogon
easyHotel Budapest Oktogon
#118 of 342 in Budapest
4.0 of 5 bubbles 650 reviews
Aventura Boutique Hostel
#109 of 342 in Budapest
4.5 of 5 bubbles 179 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
District V / Inner City
Gerloczy Rooms de Lux
Gerloczy Rooms de Lux
#27 of 342 in Budapest
4.5 of 5 bubbles 757 reviews
District I / Buda
Hotel Charles
Hotel Charles
#46 of 342 in Budapest
4.5 of 5 bubbles 556 reviews
District V / Inner City
Budapest Panorama Central
Budapest Panorama Central
#91 of 342 in Budapest
4.5 of 5 bubbles 438 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Papillon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Papillon

Property: Hotel Papillon
Address: Rozsahegy utca 3/b, Budapest 1024, Hungary
Location: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #123 of 342 Hotels in Budapest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Papillon 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Papillon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Papillon Hotel Budapest

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing