We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“EXCELENT LOCATION, KIND STAFF”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Orion Varkert
Ranked #44 of 333 Hotels in Budapest
Certificate of Excellence
Povoa de Varzim, Portugal
Level Contributor
170 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
“EXCELENT LOCATION, KIND STAFF”
Reviewed September 30, 2013

We were in Kosice (Slovak) and decided to go to Budapest to visit some of the places we missed the first time we were there and we chose this hotel because the price was reasonable. But we were a litle bit afraid that the quality would not be very good. But it was quite a pleasant surprise because the hotel was very nice, well located and very kind staff.
Excelent touristic service: we could buy the tickets for the touristic tour (the stop is 8 minutes walk along the riverside) and also book a cheap transfer to the airport. Facility for tea and coffee. Clean, comfortable. We were satisfied.
The only thing I didn't like were the stairs for the reception. With heavy begs like we had, it was difficult.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maria149
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

537 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    237
    238
    51
    8
    3
See reviews for
48
284
55
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
minneapolis
Level Contributor
20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed September 27, 2013

We just spent 9 nights at the Orion and found it to be a great place to stay . As others have said, the staff is wonderful, always available to assist you in any way. They were always there to provide directions to sights, arrange an early morning run to the airport and point out bath houses that were near by and offered mixed bathing. The breakfast cost was 2400 HUF per person and the food was much to our liking with cereals, yogurt, fruit, breads, juices, meats and eggs cooked to order by Louis and staff. We considered it a reasonable price. The hotel was very clean and our front facing room was reasonably quiet. As noted by others, the bathroom was small - sink, toilet and bathtub with shower - but was not a problem for us. We would have liked a TV with more English options, BBC news is a bit dull. The hotel is well situated for public transportation. Two trams - #19 and #41 - run a mere two minute walk from the hotel ( walk out the front door, turn right and walk about 200 feet, turn left and go through the "park" to the tram stops!) These trams run along side the Danube River going on the right to Rudas baths and the Gellert Hill complex and to the left to the Chain Bridge and then to the Metro at Batthyany Square. From the Metro you can go anywhere quickly. It is easy to use the trams and Metro, a word of caution: the ticket inspectors were at virtually every Metro entrance and twice at the Metro exit, we were checked once on the Tram as well. The penalty for cheating was $80 per person. We found a very small "store" nearby, leave the front door, turn right and walk about a block or so, it is across the street. If you continue walking past the store, you will find a place to eat called "Plantin" which was not bad. The restaurant named Tabani Gosser Etterem is found by leaving the front door and turning left, walking to the end of the buildings, turning left at another "park", going up the stairs, crossing the street, up some more stairs and following around the buildings on Attila for about a block. We ate there several times and found good food and a charming atmosphere. Later we ate at a number of places near Clark Square by the Chain Bridge and other places on the Tram route.We dealt primarily with Louis but we were also impressed with the other employees we encountered including the women in the breakfast room and housekeeping. You cannot go wrong by staying here.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank thump29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff
Level Contributor
67 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed September 19, 2013

The hotel is really quiet, especially the rooms facing the church. The rooms are rather small and bathrooms aren't very modern, but still it was OK. The fitness suite in the hotel is extremely tiny and not really worth visiting. Coffee and tea making facilities are available, as is a minibar in a fridge. The location is excellent, close to the Gellert and Castle Hills and not far from the Elisabeth Bridge leading to Pest. Worth the price.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hancza9m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amerongen, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
217 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed September 16, 2013

The service of the hotel staff is top. Always friendly and supporting to make your stay in Budapest easy and comfortable. Breakfast is not included in the room rate but it is advisable to take the opportunity of having breakfast in the hotel. Rooms are pretty basic but clean. The only comment I can think of is the fact that you cannot open a window and the AC ws not providing enough cool/fresh air.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maarten0806
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
Level Contributor
39 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2013

This hotel is in the Buda side of the city about a 10 minute walk over the Elisabeth Bridge to the main part of the city. It is close to Gellert Hill and the Budapest Castle.

The hotel itself only has about 30 rooms, the staff at the hotel are courteous and will try and help you where they can. I think this is an older hotel as some of the fittings are dated but not broken or worn out. The room size is average though the bathroom is a bit small. There is no restaurant in the hotel but they do serve breakfast for €8 which is a fair price. There were no problems with outside noise.

I would stay here again if I were to come back to Budapest.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Freoshocker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montréal, QC, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 2, 2013

Stayed in this Best Western Hotel one week and was mainly satisfied. Other travellers complained about the windows one cannot open, however rooms 51-53 are in the uppermost floor and feature a balcony. Since there is a router in room 54, you really want to get no. 53 as I did. My complaints read as follows: The first two days we had no wireless connection on floor 5 at all and I got charged for some bottle of water I never drank.
Nevertheless, although the breakfast is a bit pricy (in terms of the local price level) it is absolutely worth it. The buffet is a great way to start your day!
In addition, the staff is helpful and really kind to every guest.
As a conclusion, it is a 3* hotel, not more, but by all means good value for money. Last but not least, it is really centrally located and all major sights along the Danube in walking distance. T
Next tram and bus stops are some 100m away from the hotel, to the next metro station (Ferenciek tere) it is a 10min walk across the bridge.

Room Tip: Go for 51-53, see above. There is an elevator and the fitness room is on floor 5, the sauna on floor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank exploring_Canada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
32 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed June 25, 2013

Lovely quiet location with room facing onto little courtyard. Short walk up to the castle and into Pest. Really friendly staff who do their utmost to make you feel at home - super breakfast, spacious and clean rooms. Reasonable price. Would definitely pick this hotel for a second stay in Budapest.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Maximalms
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Budapest hotels
District I / Buda
Hotel Charles
Hotel Charles
#46 of 333 in Budapest
576 reviews
District I / Buda
Lanchid 19 Hotel
Lanchid 19 Hotel
#56 of 333 in Budapest
684 reviews
District I / Buda
art'otel budapest
art'otel budapest
#38 of 333 in Budapest
2,690 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
District V / Inner City
Gerloczy Rooms de Lux
Gerloczy Rooms de Lux
#26 of 333 in Budapest
770 reviews
Ibis Styles Budapest City
#40 of 333 in Budapest
231 reviews
District I / Buda
Boutique Hotel Victoria Budapest
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Orion Varkert? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Orion Varkert

Property: Hotel Orion Varkert
Address: Doebrentei utca 13., Budapest 1013, Hungary (Formerly BEST WESTERN Hotel Orion)
Location: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest > District I / Buda , Várkerület
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#27 Best Value Hotel in Budapest
#39 Family Hotel in Budapest
#50 Romantic Hotel in Budapest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Orion Varkert 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Intimate city hotel with that home-away-from-home atmosphere. It is located in city centre in a quiet side street at the ancient Buda side of the Elisabeth Bridge. The historic city center of Pest is just across the river, the Citadel, the Buda Castel and all other major sites are also within easy reach, many of them in walking distance. Our guestrooms are all with Airconditioning, Mini-bar, Flatscreen SatTV, Caffee Tea making facilities, Private Bathroom with Hairdryer equiped. We provide our guests with the following complimentary services: WIFI in guestrooms and public area, Sauna, Fitness Room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Travelocity, Expedia, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, getaroom.com and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel Orion Varkert reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Orion
Best Western Budapest
Budapest Best Western
Best Western Hotel Budapest

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing