We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good hotel with great location” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Orion Varkert

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Orion Varkert
Ranked #45 of 342 Hotels in Budapest
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Good hotel with great location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2013

Went over easter break at short notice. Location was brilliant. Right next to the palace. On buda side next to Elisabeth bridge so walk over bridge to get to pest side. hotel was clean and sufficient for our needs. Small hotel so do not expect a grand reception area. The reception was small but people working were very polite and helpful. Did not have breakfast here as the breakfast room was next to reception and looked small plus it finished by 10am - too early for us on holiday ! Reasonable 3 star hotel.
Tea and coffee facility in room. We had Quite room at the back.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Fk786
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

511 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    221
    230
    49
    8
    3
See reviews for
46
271
53
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 23, 2013

On arrival the pillows were a little flat but on asking were immediately given extras. Asked our new friend on reception for where to eat. He walked down the street and pointed out a reasonable restaurant but told us about a much better one. Being slightly cynical we went to the better one and to be honest it was actually superb!
On our return had a beer with the night manager and a chat. Not much of a bar but then we didnt intend spending much time in any way.
Paid for breakfast every day and was well worth it. Mostly continental but eggs / bacon cooked to order and really nice coffee!
We sorted out a couple of trips with the guys in the hotel and they were always happy to help with tips on which was the best. Sorted out taxis for our trip to the baths and to various bars / restaurants. Asked if we could hire some towels for the trip to the baths but gave us some anyway for free.Bathroom was on the small side but the shower was excellent and everything was there.
Excellent location (short walk over the elizabeth bridge to middle of pest or 5 mins to bottom of funicular)
All in all a really nice hotel made much better by the staff who could not do enough for us.
Recommended.

Room Tip: It can get a bit noisy in rush hour. Top floor is best
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank DaveOSmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stratford-upon-Avon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2013

Recent stay in this well situated hotel. It is clean, quiet and the staff very helpful. We were well situated to see most of the attractions, either on foot, or via the hop on hop off bus, which gave very good value at approx £17 for two days, using two different routes and a river trip. We went at night on the river to get a different perspective. Visited the Jewish Synagogue and museum and given an impromptu tour by a gentleman who had lived through the Holocaust. Fascinating and moving. Found the 'Secret Hospital'(eventually) and again interesting and informative. Did not get into the castle as went on a Monday and it was closed! Seems to be a confusing way of getting into the Parliament Building as it could be pre-booked but still people had to wait in a long queue with others who had not done this. We tried different restaurants and can recommend Apostolek,( opposite Marks and Spencers in the pedestrianised street), Imperator ( just across the Elizabeth Bridge,if you want to push the boat out as it includes a floor show ( on the Pest side) and a small one a few hundred yards from the hotel (on the Buda side) which was recommended by the night receptionist. We sat on the Fisherman's Bastion Terrace listening to live music, drinking coffee with the sun shining down on the Danube below at midday. Gorgeous!! Overall one of the best city breaks I have done.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fahaja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nieuwkoop, Zuid-Holland, Netherlands
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 7, 2013

We stayed here for 4 days during Januari-february. In this time of year, the city is not crowded with tourists, so the hotel is also half empty. The positive thing about this is that the staff has the time to just have a chat with you about things to do in the city, the weather, etc. The staff was very friendly and has helped us with all our questions (for example: we wanted to book a taxi which wasn't from the company the hotel has a contract with, but they called that taxi anyways). The breakfast was delicious: freshly baked croissants and some different cheeses, meats, etc. You can also order an egg.

The only negative point I have to mention is the shower: it is very difficult to get to the right temperature (it was too hot, or too cold). And the beds were as hard as a rock. The next days, my back hurt a little. But that's just my opinion.

I can definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Moniek A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
230 reviews
173 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 172 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 29, 2012

I was particularly pleased with the location of Hotel Orion. Situated on the Buda side of Budapest, it is within easy walking distance of baths and the Castle Hill. While it is located right next to Elizabeth Bridge, we also strolled a few times to the Chain Bridge to cross the Danube to the Pest side. For instance, to go to the Opera on Andrassy Avenue, we took 50 minutes to walk, and it was a very pleasant walk, rather than taking transportation, though there are buses and trams stopping nearby.

We were surprised to learn that the breakfast was not included in the price of the room, but this was worked out smoothly, and the breakfast is quite nice. They have a wide selection of offerings and they will also make eggs to order. All the cheeses, meats, croissants, and pastries were exceptionally fresh.

While our room overlooked the street, it was very quiet, generally there are not too many cars going down that street and the hotel is within a very quiet residential neighborhood. The room was rather plain, but very clean and functional. The bathroom was very small. On the plus side, they had scented toilet paper in the bathroom. There was a tea kettle and a refrigerator in the room as well. The wi-fi connection was dependable. The hotel was very clean.

Medz at the reception desk and all others were consistently helpful. They also were instrumental in getting the right types of cabs to take us to more remote places (e.g., Memento Park). Beware of some cabs in Budapest as in one instance one cab asked for 10 Euros to drive 50 yards, thankfully, we did not take the driver up on that offer.

Generally, Hotel Orion is a very decent choice for Budapest, while it is not a luxurious property, it is a very reliable base in the city, is ideally located, and I am happy to recommend it.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JasmineMarti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Romania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 28, 2012

At the suggestion of Trip Adviser's reviewers, we choose this hotel for a weekend in December spent in Budapest. Very good choice, because :
+ located in a quiet neighbourhood, but Central, near the funicular
+ located on a street with free parking, a very important issued when you travel by car and luggages,like us, and because parking in expensive in Budapest
+ our room, in the price of 50 euros, had a big bed and a sofa,too, extremely useful for our child
+ my son adored the big windows, he loves traffic :) and also liked the minibar
+ we were checked in when we arrived, at about 12 at noon
I can't express any minuses, excepting the fact that , for me (I hate winter), the temperature in the room, even on the highest level - also making some noise - wasn't enough high.
We are happy that - after some bad choices, for ex. Platanus Hotel - we finally found "our hotel" in Budapest.

Room Tip: Yes, rooms having the view to the street are a bit noisy, but the traffic isn't very busy there...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MichelleD26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kings Lynn, England
Level Contributor
72 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 26, 2012

Location good, tram stops close by to take you over the river to the main centre. Clean rooms, bathroom quite compact but adequate. We did not eat at the hotel, plenty of good and cheap
eateries close by. We went especially for the Christmas market which is very good.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Teejay55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Budapest hotels
District I / Buda
Hotel Charles
Hotel Charles
#44 of 342 in Budapest
4.5 of 5 bubbles 552 reviews
District I / Buda
Hotel Castle Garden
Hotel Castle Garden
#43 of 342 in Budapest
4.5 of 5 bubbles 877 reviews
District V / Inner City
Budapest Panorama Central
Budapest Panorama Central
#86 of 342 in Budapest
4.5 of 5 bubbles 437 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
District I / Buda
Lanchid 19 Hotel
Lanchid 19 Hotel
#63 of 342 in Budapest
4.5 of 5 bubbles 651 reviews
Central Hotel 21
#60 of 342 in Budapest
4.0 of 5 bubbles 559 reviews
District VII / Jewish Quarter
Ibis Budapest City
Ibis Budapest City
#53 of 342 in Budapest
4.0 of 5 bubbles 900 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Orion Varkert? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Orion Varkert

Property: Hotel Orion Varkert
Address: Doebrentei utca 13., Budapest 1013, Hungary (Formerly BEST WESTERN Hotel Orion)
Location: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest > District I / Buda , Várkerület
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#30 Best Value Hotel in Budapest
#39 Family Hotel in Budapest
#50 Romantic Hotel in Budapest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Orion Varkert 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Intimate city hotel with that home-away-from-home atmosphere. It is located in city centre in a quiet side street at the ancient Buda side of the Elisabeth Bridge. The historic city center of Pest is just across the river, the Citadel, the Buda Castel and all other major sites are also within easy reach, many of them in walking distance. Our guestrooms are all with Airconditioning, Mini-bar, Flatscreen SatTV, Caffee Tea making facilities, Private Bathroom with Hairdryer equiped. We provide our guests with the following complimentary services: WIFI in guestrooms and public area, Sauna, Fitness Room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Orion Varkert reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Orion
Best Western Budapest
Budapest Best Western
Best Western Hotel Budapest

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing