We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A good hotel in an excellent area”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Orion Varkert
Ranked #44 of 334 Hotels in Budapest
Certificate of Excellence
Winchester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“A good hotel in an excellent area”
Reviewed September 4, 2012 via mobile

An excellent location on the Buda side of the city in a very quiet street, only 10 minutes walk over the bridge to the centre. Also v good public transport. If you want to be in the heart of hustle and bustle next to pubs and restaurants then this is not the place for you. Rooms are simple and very clean and staff are very friendly, happy to help any way they can. Would highly recommend the hotel.

Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Tamara T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

542 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    238
    240
    53
    8
    3
See reviews for
48
289
55
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Fairhaven MA
Level 6 Contributor
98 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed August 18, 2012

We spent two nights here (three rooms, party of 5), and offer these observations: street parking was safe & free, the breakfasts were good, the location is excellent - a short walk to the funicular to the castle district, the hotel is old and fairly basic, but clean and serviceable. The wifi was OK & free. Good value.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DJHolroyd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bakewell
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2012

Love the hotel, very good service. Arrived late for check in and Lajos, the night manager had been really helpful, supplying us with all the information we need about the hotel and available services. Breakfast was good too with good quality choices of bread, ham, jam, coffee/tea and you can request for your preferences for eggs (scrambled, hard boiled, soft boiled, fried, etc). The hotel is also situated in a good location, very near to both Gellert Hill and castle district (walking distance of 10-15 minutes) where you get to enjoy nice view of Budapest from the top of the hills. Danube river is also a short distance away and you get to enjoy the beautiful nice night view at the Danube. As the hotel is not located on a busy road, you also get to enjoy good night sleep. Overall, a highly recommended hotel.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
2 Thank CL H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nanaimo, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
104 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed June 17, 2012

We had a one night stay at this hotel prior to an early morning flight. The front desk staff, especially Lajos, were amazing! They would do anything to help.
He helped us call to confirm our flight, and when we unexpectedly found it had been canceled, we were obviously upset. Lajos was incredibly supportive and seemed to make it his personal mission to help us make alternate arrangements - using his computer, speaking to authorities (foreign language for us), and letting us use his phone for long-distance calls. We are so grateful for his kindness and excellent service. Our room was very clean and comfortable, we were given advice about restaurants, and even chauffered to the airport at 4:30am. We cannot say thank you enough. We would definitely recommend this hotel to others and should stay again if in Budapest.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Karen L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed June 9, 2012

Good small and friendly hotel, positioned in-between the Gelert and Buda hills, 3 minutes walk to both. Situated 100m from the Danube on the Buda side, close to Elizabeth bridge for easy access to the Pest side.
Good breakfast, complementary tea/coffee in breakfast room all day

Room Tip: We asked for a room facing the Danube, ie the front of the Hotel, but I doubt you can see the river...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank steve2212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level 6 Contributor
909 reviews
290 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 522 helpful votes
Reviewed June 3, 2012

Good location half way between the Chain Bridge and the Elizabeth Bridge.  Very friendly staff and comfortable rooms.  This is part of the Best Western group. 

I was in room 46 which faced the back, a leafy tree  and the side of a church.  If I looked to the far left I could see the very top of Gellert Hill and the Liberty Statue, which is lit up at night.  The room was very quiet.
I peeked into room 42, 43 and 46, and all were the same size and configuration.  Room  #41 has a sofa and may be a teeny bit larger than the other rooms. However it is right next to the elevator.

The breakfast is excellent with cheeses, sausages, yogurts, muscli, cereal and eggs to order.  Service starts at 7am but if you let them know of an early departure, they will provide an earlier breakfast. 

There is free wi-fi  and laundry service available.

I stayed five nights and enjoyed staying it very much. I would stay here again.

Room Tip: I think all the rooms are pretty much the same size. The higher floors may be quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Esther P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saskatchewan, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
87 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2012 via mobile

You don't have to speak English to be understood, the manager was so funny and extremely personable. We paid for a king size bed and the room was a great size, very clean and well maintained. We had such a great experience in Budapest and with this hotel we have decided to come back next year! Got to try this hotel, location, location, location! (Not to mention a quiet, comfortable and home-felt establishment to boot!)

Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank dfedosoff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Budapest hotels
District I / Buda
Hotel Charles
Hotel Charles
#46 of 334 in Budapest
582 reviews
District I / Buda
Lanchid 19 Hotel
Lanchid 19 Hotel
#56 of 334 in Budapest
689 reviews
District I / Buda
art'otel budapest
art'otel budapest
#39 of 334 in Budapest
2,715 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ibis Styles Budapest City
#38 of 334 in Budapest
240 reviews
District VII / Jewish Quarter
Ibis Budapest City
Ibis Budapest City
#49 of 334 in Budapest
948 reviews
Central Hotel 21
#58 of 334 in Budapest
584 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Orion Varkert? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Orion Varkert

Property: Hotel Orion Varkert
Address: Doebrentei utca 13., Budapest 1013, Hungary (Formerly BEST WESTERN Hotel Orion)
Location: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest > District I / Buda , Várkerület
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#39 Family Hotel in Budapest
#50 Romantic Hotel in Budapest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Orion Varkert 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Intimate city hotel with that home-away-from-home atmosphere. It is located in city centre in a quiet side street at the ancient Buda side of the Elisabeth Bridge. The historic city center of Pest is just across the river, the Citadel, the Buda Castel and all other major sites are also within easy reach, many of them in walking distance. Our guestrooms are all with Airconditioning, Mini-bar, Flatscreen SatTV, Caffee Tea making facilities, Private Bathroom with Hairdryer equiped. We provide our guests with the following complimentary services: WIFI in guestrooms and public area, Sauna, Fitness Room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Orion Varkert reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Orion
Best Western Budapest
Budapest Best Western
Best Western Hotel Budapest

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing