We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic localtion”
Review of Medosz Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Medosz Hotel
Ranked #82 of 336 Hotels in Budapest
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 19, 2014

I stayed at Medosz for 4 nights in July. The location was great, on the Pest side. A few minutes from a main tourist area near the Octogon. Plenty of great eating places, HOHO buses and public transport. You could easily walk to so many places - the river, Jewish Quarter etc. The area felt very safe.
The room was small but well designed. My room had a balcony with stunning views. Double glassing kept the room quiet (from outside although there was a bit of noise from other room doors). There is a lift. Air conditioning was excellent.
The room needs the key in the slot to make the electricity work. This was far from ideal.You could NOT charge anything unless you were in the room! A big failing. I understand they want the air cond and lights off when you are out -but leave the power points on!
The linen was a bit scratchy. Only one small towel was given.
Bathroom was very small but very functional.
Staff at the front office were not at all happy chatty people. They did their job.
Wifi was free and available in the rooms - but the slowest I have had for a very long time. OK for checking a few emails - but frustrating for trying to post a photo etc.
Included breakfast was ...not to my liking. Plenty of variety, tables etc. But much of it was very fatty or tasteless.
The room was fine for one person but I wouldn't want to share. Too cramped.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the park.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank AussieVisi2r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MedoszH, Manager at Medosz Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 4, 2014

Dear Aussie Visi2r,

Thank you for your review, we really appreciate it. We are happy that all things considered you were satisfied with us, and we are very sorry about the problems you had. About the internet we had other probles before, and because of the compains we have decided to change are system, we are happy to inform you, that since last week we are providing a much better internet acces as before, we know this is not much help for you now, but we really hope that you will choose us again next time you visit Budapest, and you will be able to test the improvement yourselfe.
About the towels we are really sorry, it was our mistake, please inform the reception desk about the lack of towels next time, it should have been given to you, if we would have known we could have corrected the mistake, again, we are sorry about that.
We have also mentioned the electricity, and the breakfast problem to the owner, we will try to make some solution, for that as well.

We really hope that in spite of the small problems you have enjoyed your stay with us.
Best regads
Medosz Hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (616)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

143 - 149 of 616 reviews

Reviewed July 13, 2014

Good price for a nice hotel very-very well located: good communications, even if you decide to walk and right next to a pub area (and a 10-minute walk for another one even better).

Functional without accessories. The rooms are quite big and if you have the opportunity to get the ones that show the street, the views are nice to a park just next to it.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank iSSergio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MedoszH, Vezető at Medosz Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 29, 2014

Dear iSSergio,

Thank you for leting us know about your stay, we are happy to hear, that you were satisfied. Our hotel is in a good centered location of the city, unfortenetly this is also sometimes a problem here. Usually in the week ends, this is a popular area among young people, because of the pubs. Sometimes it can get noisy, and unfortenetly this is a problem we are not able to fix. We are happy to know, that this was not a problem for you, in fact you have enjoyed the surrounding activites, and possibilities of the area.

There are deffenetly a lot of ruin pubs, and clubs, festivals, and other interesting events, you have not seen yet in Budapest, you should come back again soon, and we hope you will choose us again.


Best regards
Hotel Medosz Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2014

if it were only the location, very center Budapest, just off the main avenue of the city, 2 minutes walk from the party area, already a good choice. but then we found the top level penthouse rooms are just magnificent with the 360 degree panoramic view of Budapest.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank marton k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2014

The Medosz Hotel is facing a beautiful park in the center of Pest, and is extremely convenient to see all the sights, especially places like the Hungarian State Opera House, the Budapest Operetta Theatre, Franz Liszt Academy (not to be missed!), and museums. Good restaurants are everywhere around this hotel.
The breakfast is a huge selection of good stuff, and for eco-bio people like me, I appreciate the morning müsli and fresh fruit. The only thing lacking is freshly brewed coffee. (A Nescafe machine is not acceptable.)
The budget-level room prices are a bonus for this location! The front desk staff is very helpful in all matters.

Room Tip: If you like to sleep late, avoid the 7th floor, because there's a lot of people traffic in the m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Xanthippe89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 25, 2014

• Outstanding “no frills” hotel. Terrific value. It has everything I care about functionally:
• Excellent location literally next to excellent dining and 2 short blocks from Metro
• Clean and efficient. Everything works, including free wireless internet in room.
• Room is a little Spartan but I have zero interest in paying more for “elegance” or features I don’t need or use, like a spa or room service.
• The elevators work and the front desk people were helpful and friendly.
• One personal priority of mine is to have decent towels. I hate when cheap hotels have towels that are as thin as their toilet paper. Again, Medosz scores top marks for excellent towels, shower, etc.
Negatives: The room is not as well lighted as I would like. Biggest deficiency is lack of light over desk. The desk itself is fine for computer work, but not enough light. This they should fix.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jason C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 30, 2014

This is a great hotel in Budapest. Nothing fancy, but great location and close to Franz Liszt Square with a lot of restaurants around the corner. One block away you have Oktogon and from there you can move quickly anywhere. in Budapest within 20 minutes with Metro or tram.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MiklosSweden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 27, 2014

The location of the hotel is great
Breakfast is good
Rooms are clean
The only problem was that the beds were not very comfortable. We had a double bed, the width of the bed was maybe less than a standard double bed, so we woke each other up with any small movement. The pillows were old and a bit uncomfortable too.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mononoke2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Budapest hotels
Terézváros
Star Inn Hotel Budapest Centrum, by Comfort
Central Hotel 21
#72 of 336 in Budapest
622 reviews
Benczur Hotel
#161 of 336 in Budapest
527 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Terézváros
easyHotel Budapest Oktogon
easyHotel Budapest Oktogon
#132 of 336 in Budapest
709 reviews
District V / Inner City
The Three Corners Hotel Art
The Three Corners Hotel Art
#49 of 336 in Budapest
787 reviews
Terézváros
Six Inn Hotel Budapest
Six Inn Hotel Budapest
#68 of 336 in Budapest
546 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Medosz Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Medosz Hotel

Address: Jokai ter 9., Budapest 1066, Hungary
Location: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest > Terézváros
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#51 Business Hotel in Budapest
#74 Romantic Hotel in Budapest
Price Range: $57 - $125 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Medosz Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 68
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Medosz Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Medosz Hotel Budapest

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing