We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value & location. Highly recommended”
Review of Medosz Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Medosz Hotel
Ranked #81 of 333 Hotels in Budapest
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 24, 2012

I have no hesitation recommending this hotel. I stayed here recently with a group, and found the facility and the staff to be both excellent. Although the floor above me was under heavy renovation, making for some noise during the day, it was hardly a problem. My room was quite nice, clean, comfortable, with a view over a small square. Very close to a main subway line. Breakfast buffet was quite lovely. The staff was very agreeable and helpful. For the price paid, this was a great value. I would return here without a doubt should I come back to Budapest in the future.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jeff B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (538)
There are newer reviews for Medosz Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

158 - 164 of 538 reviews

Reviewed June 23, 2012

We stayed here 1 week ago for 3 days and had a great time.The hotel is in the centre. The sights are near and you can easily approach them by bus, tram, and subway they are also near to the hotel. I was suprised of the cleanness of the room.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Csenge B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2012

Newly renovated rooms on the top floor are worth the extra expense. Very good location and hearty buffet breakfast. Not sure about the dead animal heads on the restaurant walls though...

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gordon E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 25, 2012

We stayed in the Medosz almost a week. The first thing that I woluld like to mention is the friendly staff,I think this is one of the most important thing when you spend some day in a hotel, they were very helpful and kind.
The rooms were clean, the hotel located in te heart of the city, so we found everything easily.
The quality is absolutely bet the price. It was a wonderful holiday in Budapest.
Thank you at all!:)

Lisa & Victor

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lisa L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2012

We stayed here over New Year and found this hotel to be welcoming, simple, clean and excellent value. It's not luxurious or pretentious. It is quite simply a good place to stay and a great base for exploring the city. I will definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: The apartment/suites are excellent value.
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank deSigley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 27, 2012

The Medosz is a hotel with everything a budget traveler wants--plus! No need to choose here among the basics--location, cleanliness, and price. It's located close to the center of Budapest, just off the interesting (and for some stretches elegant) Andrassy boulevard and a couple of hundred meters from the Opera, it's also across the street from a wall-to-wall block of inexpensive restaurants that range from okay to excellent. Everything was clean, inside our rooms and outside them, in the public parts of the hotel. As to price, the double rooms range from €49 to €59 a night.

So much for the basics--now for those pluses. Only three, really: The doubles were luxuriously large by budget hotel standards; there was a real bathtub AND an overhead shower; and the breakfast buffet was one of the most lavish I've ever had, and, I think, THE most lavish in a budget hotel, with lots of cereals, lots of breakfast meats, breads, juices, cheeses, etc.--AND chafing dishes with scrambled eggs, and delicious little potato cakes.

Any drawbacks at all? The street stays lively late into the night, and the rooms in front can get street noise. It didn't bother me. Altogether, even for Budapest, which is a relatively inexpensive city, the Medosz may deliver the highest quality I've ever had for the money.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JMPNewYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 7, 2012

We stayed here during July 2010. We found the hotel was in a good location for major sightseeing attractions and was more than good value for the price we paid for the room. The hotel staff were more than helpful with any questions/requests we had and were always friendly and welcoming whenever we entered the hotel. The only real problem we found in the hotel was the lack of air conditioning it had.The period of our stay was ridiculously warm, and the odd occasion we were in the hotel of an afternoon, our room wasnt the most pleasant of places to be in. The hotel did provide a fan, however a fan wasnt anywhere near adequate to cope with a warm weather spell which we had whilst there.Other than this though, the hotel was clean in all communal areas, the rooms were cleaned to a good standard every day and the beds were comfortable.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank johnmc14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Budapest hotels
Terézváros
Star Inn Hotel Budapest Centrum, by Comfort
Terézváros
Six Inn Hotel Budapest
Six Inn Hotel Budapest
#66 of 333 in Budapest
496 reviews
District VII / Jewish Quarter
Ibis Budapest City
Ibis Budapest City
#50 of 333 in Budapest
974 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Hotel 21
#63 of 333 in Budapest
593 reviews
District I / Buda
Hotel Charles
Hotel Charles
#44 of 333 in Budapest
625 reviews
District V / Inner City
The Three Corners Hotel Art
The Three Corners Hotel Art
#43 of 333 in Budapest
721 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Medosz Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Medosz Hotel

Address: Jokai ter 9, Budapest 1061, Hungary
Location: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#23 Best Value Hotel in Budapest
#51 Business Hotel in Budapest
#74 Romantic Hotel in Budapest
#82 Family Hotel in Budapest
Price Range: $53 - $145 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Medosz Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 68
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Medosz Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Medosz Hotel Budapest

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing