We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hospitality - good price = wonderful holiday”
Review of Medosz Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Medosz Hotel
Ranked #75 of 333 Hotels in Budapest
Certificate of Excellence
Kiev
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Hospitality - good price = wonderful holiday”
Reviewed April 25, 2012

We stayed in the Medosz almost a week. The first thing that I woluld like to mention is the friendly staff,I think this is one of the most important thing when you spend some day in a hotel, they were very helpful and kind.
The rooms were clean, the hotel located in te heart of the city, so we found everything easily.
The quality is absolutely bet the price. It was a wonderful holiday in Budapest.
Thank you at all!:)

Lisa & Victor

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lisa L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

499 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    167
    239
    71
    17
    5
See reviews for
93
192
42
31
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
England
Level Contributor
39 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed April 23, 2012

We stayed here over New Year and found this hotel to be welcoming, simple, clean and excellent value. It's not luxurious or pretentious. It is quite simply a good place to stay and a great base for exploring the city. I will definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: The apartment/suites are excellent value.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank deSigley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 27, 2012

The Medosz is a hotel with everything a budget traveler wants--plus! No need to choose here among the basics--location, cleanliness, and price. It's located close to the center of Budapest, just off the interesting (and for some stretches elegant) Andrassy boulevard and a couple of hundred meters from the Opera, it's also across the street from a wall-to-wall block of inexpensive restaurants that range from okay to excellent. Everything was clean, inside our rooms and outside them, in the public parts of the hotel. As to price, the double rooms range from €49 to €59 a night.

So much for the basics--now for those pluses. Only three, really: The doubles were luxuriously large by budget hotel standards; there was a real bathtub AND an overhead shower; and the breakfast buffet was one of the most lavish I've ever had, and, I think, THE most lavish in a budget hotel, with lots of cereals, lots of breakfast meats, breads, juices, cheeses, etc.--AND chafing dishes with scrambled eggs, and delicious little potato cakes.

Any drawbacks at all? The street stays lively late into the night, and the rooms in front can get street noise. It didn't bother me. Altogether, even for Budapest, which is a relatively inexpensive city, the Medosz may deliver the highest quality I've ever had for the money.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JMPNewYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed February 7, 2012

We stayed here during July 2010. We found the hotel was in a good location for major sightseeing attractions and was more than good value for the price we paid for the room. The hotel staff were more than helpful with any questions/requests we had and were always friendly and welcoming whenever we entered the hotel. The only real problem we found in the hotel was the lack of air conditioning it had.The period of our stay was ridiculously warm, and the odd occasion we were in the hotel of an afternoon, our room wasnt the most pleasant of places to be in. The hotel did provide a fan, however a fan wasnt anywhere near adequate to cope with a warm weather spell which we had whilst there.Other than this though, the hotel was clean in all communal areas, the rooms were cleaned to a good standard every day and the beds were comfortable.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank johnmc14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
64 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
Reviewed December 4, 2011

This hotel is in the best location and a bargain price. I booked 6 rooms in total, mine was supposed to be a standard room but we were upgraded to a superior room. It was on the corner, room no.308 and on entry to the room we were in a small hall leading on to a lounge with a sofa, wall mounted TV, small fridge and desk with a mirror (plenty of plug points). There was a kettle but no coffee, only fruit tea. There were two double bedrooms, nicely furnished with really comfortable beds and pillows and double wardrobes. The room itself was really warm, something we were grateful for as it was freezing outside. The small bathroom contained a hairdryer and small soaps / bodywash.

The hotel is around the corner from the Oktagon and Andrassy St, perfectly placed in my opinion. It was very clean and quiet and the receptionists were friendly and helpful. Prior to arriving we were advised to pay no more than 3000HUF for a taxi from Keleti train station to the hotel, the taxi driver requested more than double that! We ended up paying 7000HUF for a 7 seater. The hotel will arrange a transfer at a cost of 2000HUF per transfer so we used that on our return and it was much nicer, a chauffeur driven merc :)

Breakfast was the usual, croissants/bread with jam, fruit or joghurt, cereals, hams & cheeses, scrambled egg and eggy bread and a toaster was supplied. For drinks there was fruit juice and coffee, only expresso but there was a large urn with boiling water to dilute it.

It was definitely more than we expected for the price we paid and will stay here again when we return to Budapest.

Room Tip: Our corner suite was really big, airy and light - room 308 :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nic&Ade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
115 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed November 29, 2011

The location of the Medosz, just off Andrassy in downtown Pest, is reason enough to make it a good choice for a stay in Budapest. In the trade off between cost, facilities and location it is nearly unbeatable. Just about anything you want is within an easy walk or a short train or tram ride (train/tram stops are also only minutes away).

We had a very comfortable superior double on the 5th floor which clearly had been renovated in recent times (especially evident in the bathroom). It was actually much better than you'd normally expect for a "budget" hotel. I gather, however, that "unrenovated" rooms on higher floors and in the annex aren't anywhere near as nice.

The breakfast buffet is very good, with all the standard hot and cold items available. The decoration of the room itself is questionable, however.

The only downside for us was intermittent noise from Jokai Ter out the front during the night/early morning - not bad enough to disrupt our sleep but enough to be an annoyance.

Room Tip: Get a "superior" room. These are the recently renovated ones and are definitey worth the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CBK23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 22, 2011

Apparently Hotel Medosz just completed some major renovations, and the part of the hotel proper that I saw looked great, definite three star accommodations. But I stuck in the un-renovated -- and inaccessible by elevator -- annex, which is worn and old and kind of crummy. It felt like the room was cleaned, but there was still a decades-old layer of grime on everything that would never be scrubbed off. But on the plus side, the hotel's location can't be beat: it's right in the middle of what looked to me like Budapest's downtown. Plus, how much time am I going to spend in the room, anyway? Not a whole lot, since the wi-fi was spotty (throughout the hotel, not just in my far away room). The staff was friendly enough, nothing to write home about, and walls of the dining hall are littered with taxidermy, which was kind of weird. I believe I could do a lot worse for the money, and had I been moved down into the regular hotel, I probably could have done a lot better too.

Room Tip: Get a room on floor seven or lower, since those seem to the be the rooms that were renovated.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kempshalltrips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Budapest hotels
Terézváros
Six Inn Hotel Budapest
Six Inn Hotel Budapest
#66 of 333 in Budapest
456 reviews
District I / Buda
Hotel Charles
Hotel Charles
#46 of 333 in Budapest
576 reviews
Terézváros
Star Inn Hotel Budapest Centrum, by Comfort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Hotel 21
#60 of 333 in Budapest
579 reviews
District VII / Jewish Quarter
Ibis Budapest City
Ibis Budapest City
#50 of 333 in Budapest
942 reviews
District I / Buda
Hotel Orion Varkert
Hotel Orion Varkert
#44 of 333 in Budapest
537 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Medosz Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Medosz Hotel

Property: Medosz Hotel
Address: Jokai ter 9, Budapest 1061, Hungary
Location: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#51 Business Hotel in Budapest
#74 Romantic Hotel in Budapest
#82 Family Hotel in Budapest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Medosz Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 68
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Hotel.de so you can book your Medosz Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Medosz Hotel Budapest

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing