We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
ibis Budapest Heroes Square
Ranked #95 of 334 Hotels in Budapest
Reviewed November 9, 2013

This is a very nice hotel in a great location. It is close to the zoo, Heroes Square, the baths and lots more. The breakfast which is included is very good. And free wifi. It is also close to the subway.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tracy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Balazs K, General Manager at ibis Budapest Heroes Square, responded to this reviewResponded November 12, 2013

Dear Tracy B,


Happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay at ibis Budapest Heroes Square in Hungary. I look forward to your next visit.

Kind regards,
Balazs Kormany

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (768)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

240 - 246 of 769 reviews

Reviewed November 6, 2013

Near Heroes Square and the Metro, this is an easy hotel to home base from.
Clean spacious room with all basic amenities.
Many interesting restaurants in the immediate area
Substantial Eastern European style breakfast, eggs, meats, cheese, porridge, breads, yoghurt and fruits.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PARIS052010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Balazs K, General Manager at ibis Budapest Heroes Square, responded to this reviewResponded November 12, 2013

Dear PARIS052010,

Thank you for your very kind words. They are very much appreciated and my team will be delighted to hear that you enjoyed yourselves in our hotel. I look forward to welcoming you back at ibis Budapest Heroes Square in Hungary.

Kind regards,
Balazs Kormany

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2013

We found this hotel on lastminute deals with the flight. It cost us about 20 euro per night. Really ridiculous for a IBIS that offers all the traditional collateral ibis and a little bit more. Cleanliness, friendliness, languages ​​spoken. The hotel is not close to the city center, but the avenue (unesco), which leads to the center and beautiful and is a nice walk. For the rest there is mtropolitana 200 m. In short, highly recommended

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alberto D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Balazs K, General Manager at ibis Budapest Heroes Square, responded to this reviewResponded November 4, 2013

Dear Alberto D,

Thank you for your very kind words. They are very much appreciated and my team will be delighted to hear that you enjoyed yourselves in our hotel. I look forward to welcoming you back at ibis Budapest Heroes Square in Hungary.

Kind regards,
Balazs Kormany

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2013

We stayed for 3 nights and really enjoyed our time here. It's a great base to explore Budapest with the Metro only a few minutes walk away. The area its self is really nice and regretfully we only decided to explore the nearby park on our last day, which had a few good restaurants, in particular Bagolyvar was really good value. We could not fault the staff at the hotel who were all friendly and helpful. The rooms were clean and the bed was really comfortable, our only minor issue was that the shower would sometimes go cold or even stop for a few seconds but would then come back on again. It wasn't a major problem and I only experienced this once but it seemed to happen more often to my boyfriend. This would not put me off though and I would definitely stay again and recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank Embob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Balazs K, General Manager at ibis Budapest Heroes Square, responded to this reviewResponded October 24, 2013

Dear Embob,

Thank you for your very kind words. They are very much appreciated and my team will be delighted to hear that you enjoyed yourselves in our hotel. I look forward to welcoming you back at ibis Budapest Heroes Square in Hungary.

Kind regards,
Balazs Kormany

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2013

A friend and I and another couple spent four nights at this hotel. We arrived early but was accommodated by the staff to park our vehicle and begin exploring the sites nearby. The breakfast was plentiful, very good and the choices were also commendable. Of note, the hotel has a policy that any situation that may arise will be dealt with within 15 minutes. As we have been on the "road" for over a week we needed laundry service. Mr. Istvan Barath took the time to take our clothing to a laundry to as we were not familiar with the area.. Such outstanding service is rarely received. Aside from the excellent public transportation the hotel is situated near some of the best restaurants the names of which were recommended by the staff at the hotel.
Public transportation is the cheapest, most efficient method of traveling in the city. A short walk to the subway, a 15 minutes ride will take you to the heart of the major tourist area. Personal safety in this area is excellent, we walked to two four star restaurants without any reservation

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sandor K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Balazs K, General Manager at ibis Budapest Heroes Square, responded to this reviewResponded October 16, 2013

Dear Sandor K,

Thank you for your very kind words. They are very much appreciated and my team will be delighted to hear that you enjoyed yourselves in our hotel. I look forward to welcoming you back at ibis Budapest Heroes Square in Hungary.

Kind regards,
Balazs Kormany

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2013

Situated just off Heroes Square, the Ibis Heroes is a short walk from the M1 metro line, but also close to many bus and trolley stops enabling you to make the most of your visit. Getting to it is easy using public transport. Look out for the wonderful sculpture on its corner!

The hotel is clean and well maintained and the staff, like everybody I encountered in Budapest, warm, friendly and helpful. The rooms are fairly basic but clean with satellite TV, the beds are very comfortable (with nice big duvets) and bathroom perfectly functional.

The breakfast buffet is a generous continental style, so has bread, meat, cheese, eggs, fruit etc. Whilst it's not a 'Full English' style buffet (which I think that some reviewers may have been hoping for), there's lots of choice.

Only a couple of small niggles. The shower was a little weak and the temperature had a tendency to fluctuate a bit. Also, the small reception area seemed to be frequently crowded with coach trips (maybe group check-in could be carried out on the coach or in the restaurant area so that the lobby and entrance are kept clear for other guests?).

Anyhow, The Ibis Heroes is excellent value for money and I'd happily rebook here without hesitation and recommend it to friends and family.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Awayfromeastbrook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Balazs K, General Manager at ibis Budapest Heroes Square, responded to this reviewResponded October 8, 2013

Dear Awayfromeastbrook,


Thank you for your very kind words. They are very much appreciated and my team will be delighted to hear that you enjoyed yourselves in our hotel.
I defenetly agree with you, that the lobby area is too busy and noisy at group check in/out and we are aim to handle this problem.
Once again, thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback, which is invaluable to our efforts to continually improve the quality of our services. I trust that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back to IBIS in the future.

Kind regards,
Balazs Kormany

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2013

It is our first time in Budapest. After reviewing on trip advisor more than 20 hotels, and looking into a range of 40-60usd per night, located nearby subway, in town, near tourist sites, in safe area, I have read all reviews and after spending already 2 nights, we are very happy with the professionalism of the manager, Mr Kormany, who clearly understand what customer service means. He has been very proactive in answering demands, and his team is as well very serious and helpful. I can t understand the complaints about cleanliness and other low ratings from past customers. The hotel easily up to the Ibis standards. Ibis have this very specific chart to satisfy any reasonable customer demands in less than 15mn, which ensure you good quality standards. The hotel is well located, the rooms are very comfortable, the beds to, everything is very clean. The neighborhood is very safe. It is to me an excellent quality/price ratio and one can not go wrong selecting it. We plan to stay 4 nights and we know will enjoy the remaining 2 nights. 2 Free internet stations near reception, and the staff will give you free tourists map and docs to help you during your visit. Again special thanks to the manager Mr Balaz Kormany. Reading all his answer to the positive and negative post was a decisive factor for us to select the hotel.

Room Tip: We took a room on 6th floor, looking over a garden. Some very light background noise from the main s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank solinnath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Balazs K, General Manager at ibis Budapest Heroes Square, responded to this reviewResponded October 2, 2013

Dear solinnath,

Thank you for your very kind words. They are very much appreciated and my team will be delighted to hear that you enjoyed yourselves in our hotel.
I hope that your last day in Budapest will be as delightful as the previous ones. If you had any sort of problem or question, we are at your disposal.

Once again, thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback, which is invaluable to our efforts to continually improve the quality of our services. I trust that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back to IBIS in the future.

Kind regards,
Balázs Kormány

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Budapest hotels
District VII / Jewish Quarter
Ibis Budapest City
Ibis Budapest City
#52 of 334 in Budapest
989 reviews
Ibis Budapest Centrum
#61 of 334 in Budapest
1,547 reviews
Benczur Hotel
#162 of 334 in Budapest
504 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ibis Styles Budapest City
#36 of 334 in Budapest
313 reviews
District VII / Jewish Quarter
Ibis Styles Budapest Center
Ibis Styles Budapest Center
#63 of 334 in Budapest
360 reviews
Terézváros
easyHotel Budapest Oktogon
easyHotel Budapest Oktogon
#137 of 334 in Budapest
686 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to ibis Budapest Heroes Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ibis Budapest Heroes Square

Address: Dozsa Gyoergy ut 106, Budapest 1068, Hungary (Formerly Hotel Liget)
Phone Number:
Location: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest > Terézváros
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#22 Best Value Hotel in Budapest
#90 Romantic Hotel in Budapest
Price Range: $46 - $112 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — ibis Budapest Heroes Square 3*
Number of rooms: 139
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With 139 airconditioned, 100% non-smoking rooms, hotel ibis Budapest Heroes Square welcomes guests in the cultural heart of Budapest, next to the City Park, 10 minutes from the city centre. The harmonious ambiance of the hotel is enhanced by its immediate proximity to the Museum of Fine Arts, the Hungarian Art Gallery, Szechenyi Spa, the Zoo, Amusement Park, National Circus, boating lake and skating rink, Heroes Square and the National Opera House. Business guests will appreciate free WiFi internet access. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, ACCOR, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Travelocity, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your ibis Budapest Heroes Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ibis Budapest Heroes Square Hotel Budapest
Accor Budapest Heroes Square

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing