We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent location & service for a bargain”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
ibis Budapest Heroes Square
Ranked #95 of 336 Hotels in Budapest
Reviewed July 24, 2013

The hotel is near to the Budapest Zoo, Heroes Square (as you'd guess from its name), Szechenyi baths and the Vidámpark amusement park, making its location excellent for travellers with kids. The yellow subway station is also a stone throw away.
We were delighted with the service during our stay: the staff members (especially Dora) were extremely helpful and assisted in every our need, e.g. we got an additional chair, etc.
Kids activities are excellent around the hotel, but inside we didn't find anything. We didn't expect anything either.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank d4th
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Balazs K, General Manager at ibis Budapest Heroes Square, responded to this reviewResponded July 26, 2013

Dear d4th,

Thank you for your very kind words. They are very much appreciated and my team will be delighted to hear that you enjoyed yourselves in our hotel. I look forward to welcoming you back at ibis Budapest Heroes Square in Hungary.

Kind regards,
Balazs Kormany

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (794)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

272 - 278 of 794 reviews

Reviewed July 17, 2013

good only for one night. poor parking places and very expansive - 12 euro/night, no silence, no facilities into rooms - only TV and conditional air looks very old. big diferences by IBIS other hotels.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
1  Thank hunyad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Balazs K, General Manager at ibis Budapest Heroes Square, responded to this reviewResponded July 19, 2013

Dear Hunyad,

I am sorry that on this occasion you were disappointed with your stay at ibis Budapest Heroes Square in Hungary.

As far as you know ibis brand work according to a strict standard all over the word, including room design and provided services. Of course there are some hotels, which is able to provide a bit more sort of service since the equipment and the facilities can be different also.

Once again, thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback, which is invaluable to our efforts to continually improve the quality of our services. I trust that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back to IBIS in the future.

Best regards,
Balazs Kormany

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2013

We were checked in very quickly by friendly staff.After a quick walk of the immediate area,we had a drink in the bar.Again friendly staff.There is a terrace where you can smoke,which although it overlooks the road was a good place for that drink after a long day.We also tended to go there last thing at night before bed.
The room was quite modern.No doors on wardrobes or drawers in bedside table,but it all worked.
You have a safe in the room which is always good.It took a couple of attempts and a trip to reception to get the right sequence for setting the code.
The bathroom was functional with a shower.Here I can understand a previous post about the toilet position,but I cant see how that could be changed.
Very comfortable bed apart from the pillows which seemed to stuffed with fresh air as they flattened to nothing when you lay your head on them.Another trip to reception saw more pillows delivered.I know pillows are a personal thing and they may be fine for other people.
As in previous posts the AC was not the best but it was just about ok.
Breakfast is another personal thing but we thought it was expensive for what it was.
The hotels position is near Heroes Square as the name suggests.You also have the zoo across the road and a couple of High end restaurants towards the zoo entrance.
You are also close to a metro station,M1,which will take you into Budapest centre or to the spa at Szechenyi.We used this most nights to get to the Oktogon/Opera area where there are more restaurants and bars.
When we used the spa,we asked at reception whether we could hire towels at the baths.We were told we could take the towels from the room as that was what a lot of guests did. At least we asked first.
Overall a good stay

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank andielDorset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Balazs K, General Manager at ibis Budapest Heroes Square, responded to this reviewResponded July 11, 2013

Dear andielDorset,

Thank you for your very kind words. They are very much appreciated and my team will be delighted to hear that you enjoyed yourselves in our hotel. I look forward to welcoming you back at ibis Budapest Heroes Square in Hungary.

Kind regards,
Balazs Kormany

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 4, 2013

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
1  Thank NewYork-Shoelace
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Balazs K, General Manager at ibis Budapest Heroes Square, responded to this reviewResponded July 8, 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed June 30, 2013

This typical Ibis hotel is well located for the city and main roads if you have driven to the city. Under ground parking is useful if the local streets are very busy. Minor issue was there are far too many smoking rooms in the hotel so even if you ask for non-smoking, you may not be lucky. Breakfast was a little sparse though never such that you went hungry.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank timcr005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Balazs K, General Manager at ibis Budapest Heroes Square, responded to this reviewResponded July 2, 2013

Dear timcr005,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent visit to at ibis Budapest Heroes Square in Hungary. I’m delighted that you enjoyed your stay and we have noted your comments about the breakfast and the non-smoking rooms.

I am really sorry, that we couldnn't provide you the maximum comfort regarding to the room type. Next time please indicate your request in advance and for sure you will get the proper room.

I look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Kind regards,
Balazs Kormany

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2013

After being on the road for 2 weeks in guesthouses, and hostels, was glad to have arrived at the Ibis in Heroes Square.

A great location, literally minutes from the metro station and Heroes Square, it was easy to get to after my arrival from Sarajevo.

Despite my late arrival, was pleased to find some bar food available for purchase, and albeit basic, was tasty and appropriate for the time of night I had arrived.

The room itself was the most surprising, especially for the Ibis chain. A brand new bed it seemed, and the room size was generous for the price. All clean and comfortable as well.

Although there was no restaurant to dine in for lunch/dinner, the plethora of dining options only a few stops away, was no trouble, although a reasonable breakfast was served in the mornings.

I had a problem with my flight on my final day, and the staff there were happy to let me use the phone to call British Airways, a welcome relief instead of having to use my mobile phone.

The only downside was the erratic nature of the wifi in my room. It may have been free, but inadequate in the room.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shooter25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Balazs K, General Manager at ibis Budapest Heroes Square, responded to this reviewResponded July 2, 2013

Dear Shooter25,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay at ibis Budapest Heroes Square in Hungary.

We have noted your comments about wifi, which we have since addressed. Hopefully this part of our service will work properly by the time of your next visit.

We look forward to seeing you again in the near future.
Kind regards,
Balazs Kormany

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 7, 2013

This is a great hotel and very well located.
My only problem was with the curtain did not fully closes, so in the morning the room was very clear.
The hotel is 50m from Heroes Square where some sightseen buss start their tour.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank CarlosTrudo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Balazs K, General Manager at ibis Budapest Heroes Square, responded to this reviewResponded June 9, 2013

Dear Carlos,

Glad you had a good time at ibis Budapest Heroes Square in Hungary! We have noted your comments about the courtains, which we have since addressed.

Hope to see you again.
Kind regards,
Balazs Kormany

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Budapest hotels
Benczur Hotel
#162 of 336 in Budapest
515 reviews
Ibis Budapest Centrum
#61 of 336 in Budapest
1,583 reviews
District VII / Jewish Quarter
Ibis Budapest City
Ibis Budapest City
#51 of 336 in Budapest
1,011 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Hotel 21
#68 of 336 in Budapest
612 reviews
Terézváros
easyHotel Budapest Oktogon
easyHotel Budapest Oktogon
#135 of 336 in Budapest
696 reviews
District VII / Jewish Quarter
Baross City Hotel
Baross City Hotel
#125 of 336 in Budapest
580 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to ibis Budapest Heroes Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ibis Budapest Heroes Square

Address: Dozsa Gyoergy ut 106, Budapest 1068, Hungary (Formerly Hotel Liget)
Location: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest > Terézváros
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Best Value Hotel in Budapest
#90 Romantic Hotel in Budapest
Price Range: $46 - $101 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — ibis Budapest Heroes Square 3*
Number of rooms: 139
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With 139 airconditioned, 100% non-smoking rooms, hotel ibis Budapest Heroes Square welcomes guests in the cultural heart of Budapest, next to the City Park, 10 minutes from the city centre. The harmonious ambiance of the hotel is enhanced by its immediate proximity to the Museum of Fine Arts, the Hungarian Art Gallery, Szechenyi Spa, the Zoo, Amusement Park, National Circus, boating lake and skating rink, Heroes Square and the National Opera House. Business guests will appreciate free WiFi internet access. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Cancelon, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and Travelocity so you can book your ibis Budapest Heroes Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ibis Budapest Heroes Square Hotel Budapest
Accor Budapest Heroes Square

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing