We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Opinion on the hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
ibis Budapest Heroes Square
Ranked #100 of 333 Hotels in Budapest
Alcoy, Spain
1 review
“Opinion on the hotel”
Reviewed February 8, 2013

The hotel is like any other Ibis. The room was very spacious, however the bathroom had no basin under the shower which means the whole bathroom was flooded. We had to shower in the evening in order to be able to access in the morning. The employees very nice and helpful. Breakfast rather poor. We had it in a café near by. The situation is, in my opinion, quite good. Not in the centre but very very well connected and the Beaux Arts Museum next door and so the Heroes Square. All together quite good.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank enriqueta b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Balazs K, General Manager at ibis Budapest Heroes Square, responded to this review, February 11, 2013
Dear enriqueta b,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay at ibis Budapest Heroes Square in Hungary.

Kindly inform you that we have noted your comments about breakfast. We have been working to improve it.
I hope you will choose our hotel again on your next Budapest trip and we can provide you our renewed breakfast.
I look forward to seeing you again in the near future.

Kind regards,
Balazs Kormany
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

723 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    181
    328
    160
    38
    16
See reviews for
120
299
79
71
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
West Witton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 4, 2013

I stayed in this hotel with my boyfriend in October 2012. We enjoyed our stay and the hotel was very nice and great value. We found that it was within walking distance of a lot of the things we wanted to see in Budapest. The room was spacious and comfortable, with blackout blinds on the windows. We heard no noise from the street during the night.

Most of the staff were very friendly and helpful, with the exception of one member of the night staff. As we arrived quite late on the first night and had not eaten, we were pleased to see a sign on the wall stating that food was served 24/7. However, when we approached a staff member in the bar/dining area and asked about food, he told us the kitchen was closed. We pointed out that the signs on the wall said food was served at all hours, and he simply repeated that the kitchen was closed. We asked him if we needed to go somewhere else within the hotel to get food, and he repeated himself again. Eventually we gave up and went to bed hungry, never solving the mystery of whether 24/7 meant something different to what we thought it meant. Breakfast was average and slightly expensive but plentiful.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EmdawgB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Balazs K, General Manager at ibis Budapest Heroes Square, responded to this review, February 6, 2013
Dear EmdawgB,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent visit to at ibis Budapest Heroes Square in Hungary.
I’m delighted that you enjoyed your stay and we have noted your comments about the issue with our bar member, which we have since addressed to the department manager.
Your feedbacks are really important to us, because otherwise we wouldn’t be informed about these sort of problems. I investigated the problem today. Unfortunately the person in shift of that time is not working here any more.

I fully understand your disappointment and I do apologies for that. As a kind of compensation, please accept a free weekend voucher for your next stay at our hotel.

Thanks for your review again and I hope me and my staff can welcome You back at ibis Budapest Heroes Square in Hungary.

Kind regards,
Mr. Balazs Kormany
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Debrecen, Hungary
Level Contributor
39 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2013

Delivers the Ibis standards, clean, rationally furnished rooms, a bit bigger rooms than average. Very good location, next door to several important museums, the pictoresque city park, and only two corners away from Andrasy street, nicest "Avenue" of Budapest and also a perfect connection to the rest of the city. Rather small parking lot with steep ramp, better sign-up for the space when booking the room. No restaurant, only bar food available apart from the breakfast. Otherwise good service, you get what you pay for.

Room Tip: The windows are of high quality, they keep away the outside noise completely (when closed).
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank istvanj_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Balazs K, General Manager at ibis Budapest Heroes Square, responded to this review, January 29, 2013
Dear istvanj_12,

Thank you for your very kind words. They are very much appreciated and my team will be delighted to hear that you enjoyed yourselves in our hotel. I look forward to welcoming you back at ibis Budapest Heroes Square in Hungary.

Kind regards,
Balazs Kormany
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed December 11, 2012

I was in Ibis hotel this November. The hotel looks very nice from the outside, and when you enter it really feels like a small, familiy hotel. Rooms are very simple, but comfortable. It has everything you need, from TV, safe, telephone, hair dryer and working table. Bathroom is a bit small, but practic. The bed was very big, and it was a pleasure to sleep on. Breakfest is basic, very similar to other hotels from that rang. The hotel stuff are very polite and kind. I would recommend Ibis hotel to everyone, the prices are acceptable, you are near the center of Budapest and staying in hotel feels very good.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tmilicic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Balazs K, General Manager at ibis Budapest Heroes Square, responded to this review, December 11, 2012
Dear Tmilicic,

Thank you for your very kind words. They are very much appreciated and my team will be delighted to hear that you enjoyed yourselves in our hotel. I look forward to welcoming you back at ibis Budapest Heroes Square in Hungary.

Kind regards,
Balazs Kormany
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed December 4, 2012

Positives: Good location with metro and bus close by and good restaurants within walking distance. Wi-fi excellent. We did not use restaurant or bar so cannot review these.
Negatives: Earplugs necessary if overlooking road or you want to sleep with the windows open.
Details: Stayed 15-20/9/2012 (Europe Trip Hotel 1 of 15!); age range 35-40.

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank holidaymakers00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Balazs K, General Manager at ibis Budapest Heroes Square, responded to this review, December 11, 2012
Dear Holidaymakers00!

Happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay at ibis Budapest Heroes Square in Hungary. I look forward to your next visit.

Kind regards,
Balazs Kormany
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dumfries, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 28, 2012

As usual Ibis delivered what was expected in this hotel. Good accomodation at an affordable price and in an excellent location which was away from the hustle and bustle of the city. We ate twice of times in the restaurant across the road 'Pater Bonifac' or as Monica our host translated to 'the fat priest' and we now know why. Thank-you Ibis and Monica at the fat priest for a lovely break in a very beautiful city

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Balazs K, General Manager at ibis Budapest Heroes Square, responded to this review, November 30, 2012
Dear Mark C,

Thanks for your review. I’m glad you had a good stay with us at ibis Budapest Heroes Square in Hungary and I hope to see you on your next trip.

Kind regards,
Balazs Kormany
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Budapest hotels
Ibis Budapest Centrum
#61 of 333 in Budapest
1,473 reviews
District VII / Jewish Quarter
Ibis Budapest City
Ibis Budapest City
#49 of 333 in Budapest
942 reviews
Ibis Budapest Aero
#111 of 333 in Budapest
147 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ibis Styles Budapest City
#40 of 333 in Budapest
227 reviews
District VII / Jewish Quarter
Ibis Styles Budapest Center
Ibis Styles Budapest Center
#59 of 333 in Budapest
292 reviews
Benczur Hotel
#158 of 333 in Budapest
458 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to ibis Budapest Heroes Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ibis Budapest Heroes Square

Property: ibis Budapest Heroes Square
Address: Dozsa Gyoergy ut 106, Budapest 1068, Hungary (Formerly Hotel Liget)
Location: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest > Terézváros
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#31 Best Value Hotel in Budapest
#90 Romantic Hotel in Budapest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — ibis Budapest Heroes Square 3*
Number of rooms: 139
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With 139 airconditioned, 100% non-smoking rooms, hotel ibis Budapest Heroes Square welcomes guests in the cultural heart of Budapest, next to the City Park, 10 minutes from the city centre. The harmonious ambiance of the hotel is enhanced by its immediate proximity to the Museum of Fine Arts, the Hungarian Art Gallery, Szechenyi Spa, the Zoo, Amusement Park, National Circus, boating lake and skating rink, Heroes Square and the National Opera House. Business guests will appreciate free WiFi internet access. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Priceline, ACCOR, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your ibis Budapest Heroes Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ibis Budapest Heroes Square Hotel Budapest
Accor Budapest Heroes Square

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing