We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Get what you expect” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of ibis Budapest Heroes Square

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
ibis Budapest Heroes Square
Ranked #100 of 342 Hotels in Budapest
Pásztó
Level Contributor
28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Get what you expect”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2012

I stayed here several times, and you always get what you expect from Ibis. A nice, clean room without any luxury. The rooms are really good priced, but they do not give you any unique experience. If you would like to discover Budapest without staying a lot in the hotel room, I really recommend this property. But if you are looking for something unique, this hotel is not your choice. The location is excellent, close to some famous place that tourist should visit. So really, the main advantage of this hotel is the location. The windows are soundproof, so you won't hear the noise of the street (which is a good point). The breakfast was good, it is a good start of the day. However, once we wanted to drink just a cup of coffee in the morning, but unfortunately it was not possible - they asked me to pay the price of the whole breakfast, to drink one coffe.
Anyway, as I wrote, great location and value without any unique charm.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Attila_Balas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Balazs K, General Manager at ibis Budapest Heroes Square, responded to this review, October 11, 2012
Dear Attila Balas,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent visit to at ibis Budapest Heroes Square in Hungary. I’m delighted that you enjoyed your stay and we have noted your comments about breakfast service, which we have since addressed to our Food and Beverage Manager.
Once again, thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback, which is invaluable to our efforts to continually improve the quality of our services. I trust that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back to IBIS in the future.

Kind regards,
Balazs Kormany
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

685 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    174
    312
    147
    38
    14
See reviews for
112
285
74
67
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Paris, France
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 21, 2012

Another Ibis, looking like the other ones! The restoration of the hotel is in progress, and some rooms are already in the standards of new Ibis. Good location, close to Heroes Square, and the subway. The breakfast is not the best I’ve taste, but ok.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LauretteSB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Balazs K, General Manager at ibis Budapest Heroes Square, responded to this review, September 27, 2012
Dear LauretteSB,

Thank you very much for your review. Glad you had a good time at ibis Budapest Heroes Square in Hungary! Hope to see you again.

Kind regards,
Balazs Kormany
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent, UK
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2012

This hotel was ideally situated for the start of the Budapest Half Marathon. It was right by Heroes Square and close to a spa bath, zoo, amusement park, circus and museums. The hotel was clean, although we were surprised to find soap and shower gel dispensers on the walls in the bathroom as opposed to the more usual small bottles/sachets of toiletries. The staff were very helpful. Breakfast was in the form of a self-service buffet and food was plentiful. The only problem was that an early riser breakfast was advertised as being available from 4.30 - 6.30am and on the day before we wanted one we were told that due to being short staffed we would be unable to book this.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KatKent1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Balazs K, General Manager at ibis Budapest Heroes Square, responded to this review, September 26, 2012
Dear KatKent 1,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent visit to at ibis Budapest Heroes Square in Hungary.
I’m delighted that you enjoyed your stay and we have noted your comments about early riser breakfast, which we have since addressed.
I look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind regards,
Balazs Kormany
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2012

The Heroes Ibis is in a good location right next to the The Museum of Fine Arts and Heores Square. It is fairly basic. The rooms are of a good size and the beds comfortable. It was clean but some lessons in bed making would not go amiss. The breakfast was okay but nothing to write home about. The fresh apples were delicious.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jacky W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Balazs K, General Manager at ibis Budapest Heroes Square, responded to this review, September 26, 2012
Dear Jacky W,

Thank you very much for your review. I am delighted that you enjoyed your visit at ibis Budapest Heroes Square in Hungary. I look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind regards,
Balazs Kormany
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2012

good price for a IBIS hotel in the centre of the city. However poor service. Hotel seemed very very dirty. Room smelt of smoke. We was given a twin bed when we paid for a double room. When we complain about this we were told that '' The hotel is full '' Even though we had paid in advance for a double room!!!!!!!! Go elsewhere

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Aomisore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Balazs K, General Manager at ibis Budapest Heroes Square, responded to this review, September 9, 2012
Dear Aomisore,

thank you for bringing to my attention the difficulties you experienced during your recent stay at IBIS Budapest Heroes Square. Firstly, I would like to apologize for the shortfall in the standard of service and quality that you received on this occasion. Please let me assure you that this is not a true reflection of the high standards upon which IBIS prides itself.

With this email I would like to inform you that I have made further investigation towards this case and had the opportunity to discuss your concerns with all my staff they have been working during your stay.
Please feel free to call me on +36 30 456 43 19 or email me on balazs.kormany@accor.com to discuss further.

Kind regards,
Balazs Kormany
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2012

Ibis hotels are always good value and the staff at Heroes Square, Budapest are particularly friendly and helpful.
Rooms very clean and comfortable. Excellent selection at breakfast.
Location, although slightly out from centre ,the hotel is very close to metro and travelling around is, in my opinion, is the easiest of all European cities.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank arizona78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Balazs K, General Manager at ibis Budapest Heroes Square, responded to this review, September 9, 2012
Dear Arizona78,

Thank you for your kind comments and compliments. I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay at ibis Budapest Heroes Square in Hungary and look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Kind regards,
Mr. Balazs Kormany
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Budapest hotels
District VII / Jewish Quarter
Ibis Budapest City
Ibis Budapest City
#53 of 342 in Budapest
4.0 of 5 bubbles 900 reviews
Ibis Budapest Centrum
#67 of 342 in Budapest
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,402 reviews
Ibis Budapest Aero
#105 of 342 in Budapest
4.0 of 5 bubbles 130 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
District I / Buda
Hotel Charles
Hotel Charles
#44 of 342 in Budapest
4.5 of 5 bubbles 553 reviews
Terézváros
easyHotel Budapest Oktogon
easyHotel Budapest Oktogon
#115 of 342 in Budapest
4.0 of 5 bubbles 645 reviews
District VII / Jewish Quarter
Ibis Styles Budapest Center
Ibis Styles Budapest Center
#59 of 342 in Budapest
4.0 of 5 bubbles 239 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to ibis Budapest Heroes Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ibis Budapest Heroes Square

Property: ibis Budapest Heroes Square
Address: Dozsa Gyoergy ut 106, Budapest 1068, Hungary (Formerly Hotel Liget)
Location: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest > Terézváros
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Best Value Hotel in Budapest
#90 Romantic Hotel in Budapest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — ibis Budapest Heroes Square 3*
Number of rooms: 139
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With 139 airconditioned, 100% non-smoking rooms, hotel ibis Budapest Heroes Square welcomes guests in the cultural heart of Budapest, next to the City Park, 10 minutes from the city centre. The harmonious ambiance of the hotel is enhanced by its immediate proximity to the Museum of Fine Arts, the Hungarian Art Gallery, Szechenyi Spa, the Zoo, Amusement Park, National Circus, boating lake and skating rink, Heroes Square and the National Opera House. Business guests will appreciate free WiFi internet access. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and ACCOR so you can book your ibis Budapest Heroes Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ibis Budapest Heroes Square Hotel Budapest
Accor Budapest Heroes Square

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing