We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“So-so”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Kulturinnov

Hotel Kulturinnov
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Budapest
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel Kulturinnov
Ranked #240 of 342 Hotels in Budapest
Deerfield, Illinois
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“So-so”
Reviewed October 18, 2006

The location of this hotel is great for seeing the castle, but is therefore quite a hike from the restaurants and night-life in Pest. The staff were very friendly and the breakfast was sufficient (cereal, bread, meats and cheeses). Our room could have used much improvement. The bathroom had a moldy shower, a hole in the wall, peeling paint, and a sink drain that leaked water over the floor.

  • Liked — The friendly staff
  • Disliked — The cleanliness
  • Stayed October 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank travelbun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

15 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    0
    7
    2
    4
    2
See reviews for
2
2
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bethesda, MD
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed September 11, 2006

Don't get me wrong, the location is very nice and there's some charm in staying in such an old building, BUT I wouldn't stay here again. First of all, staying in the Castle District is not all it's cracked up to be. At night there is NOTHING up there, not even that many restaurants. It's not easy getting to the rest of the city from there either and seeing the Castle District really only takes one day.

The hotel itself is not very nice. The bathroom smells REALLY bad every time you flush the toilet. The building is also so old that it doesn't look very clean anymore. The bottom sheets on the bed don't cover the entire mattress either and it took a lot of asking for me to get another one.

In the end it's not a terrible hotel, but it's also not SOO cheap that it's worth the problems. Budapest is great but I know I wouldn't stay here again.

Stayed August 2006
Helpful?
4 Thank nomsl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Budapest hotels

Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed December 27, 2005

We loved it. It definetly was just the basics but for the price and location it was the best. It's very close to all the attraction on Castle Hill but quiet in the evening since most of the nightlife is on the Pest side.

  • Stayed September 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank RandTall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed August 6, 2005

Very shocked when we arrived to see our "budget" hotel nestled in between old churches and castles and a funicular railway to take you up to the castle district in which the hotel is situated, stayed for three nights and although the rooms are very basic for the price they have all you need.
If your looking for a hectic night life you will however have to travel down to pest which is only two minutes on bus 16 which runs late into the night about every twenty minutes from just outside the hotel. Would definitely stay again. staff are most helpful and all city tour etc can be booked in reception and paid on departure.

Helpful?
6 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Smithville, Texas
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed December 26, 2004

The location is unbeatable but unfortunately the hotel is in very poor condition. The hotel has a Soviet era feel to it. Our bathroom floor had a dangerous hole in it! The entry and lobby carpet was thread bare and dirty. We changed hotels after one night of our planned four night stay (the first time we have ever done this).

Helpful?
6 Thank TedEstonia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed November 4, 2004

The Kulturinnov is not your typical hotel, but that's just part of its charm. After all, how often do you get to stay in the former Finance Ministry? (I was there in November 2004.) The beds are comfortable, the showers warm, and the breakfast fine. What makes the place great, though, is its professional, courteous staff and unbeatable location, which is accesible via public transportation (the first ride seems complicated, but gets vastly easier from there). I would definitely stay there again, and recommend it without hesitation.

Helpful?
5 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
69 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed October 6, 2004

I stayed here in November 2003. THe location is primo--a short bus ride from a subway stop, in the center of the castle complex on Buda Hill. 50 paces from Matthias Church and the overlook of the river toward Pest. The rooms are simple but comfortable and clean, and the staff could not have been nicer. For budget accommodation in a very cool setting, you can't do better.

  • Stayed November 2003
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank kurtzu2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Budapest hotels
District I / Buda
Burg Hotel
Burg Hotel
#126 of 342 in Budapest
309 reviews
District I / Buda
Buda Castle Fashion Hotel
Buda Castle Fashion Hotel
#28 of 342 in Budapest
837 reviews
District I / Buda
Hilton Budapest
Hilton Budapest
#19 of 342 in Budapest
3,972 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
District I / Buda
Pest-Buda Hotel
Pest-Buda Hotel
#97 of 342 in Budapest
87 reviews
District I / Buda
Milford Suites Budapest
Milford Suites Budapest
#112 of 342 in Budapest
49 reviews
District I / Buda
Buda Castle Apartments
Buda Castle Apartments
#192 of 655 in Budapest
14 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Kulturinnov? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Kulturinnov

Property: Hotel Kulturinnov
Address: Szentharomsag ter 6, Budapest 1014, Hungary
Location: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest > District I / Buda , Várkerület
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #240 of 342 Hotels in Budapest
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Kulturinnov 2*
Number of rooms: 16
Also Known As:
Kulturinnov Hotel Budapest

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing