We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great location”
Review of Hotel Budapest

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Budapest
Ranked #203 of 336 Hotels in Budapest
Reviewed September 3, 2013

absolutely brilliant location, rooms were nice apart from my bed being on a funny angle. hotel food was nice especially as we could sit out on the terrace, staff were lovely. would definitely return. located more or less opposite the tram stop for easy access to everywhere. I recommend the tram thingy up into the hills as its really pretty.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hairflairgak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MezeyTamas, Manager at Hotel Budapest, responded to this reviewResponded September 4, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind words.
We do hope to see you back in the Hotel Budapest, soon.

Sincerely yours,

Tamás Mezey
Group Quality Manager - Danubius Hotels Group
Operations Manager - Hotel Budapest

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,024)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

404 - 410 of 1,024 reviews

Reviewed August 30, 2013

The lookmof hotel from outside is OK but once you enter the hotel you start feeling the problems.
First of all it is not well managed and always crowded.The staff is irresponsive and lazy.
Breakfast is not up to the expectation with many missing basic items.The main problem may be that it is preferred with many tour operators and offers a cheap price against poor service.
Good location but on a very noisy street.

Room Tip: Stay away from the rooms facing the street as trams keep moving all day and night with too much nois...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rtopsever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2013

This Hotel is a Home from Home for us as we sometimes spent weeks on end here to access therapy for my son, the staff at Reception, Breakfast, Bar, Chambermaids were fantastic and always helped us and went over and above to do so,the Breakfast was fantastic and if we wanted room service that too was Brilliant, we stayed when the Hungarian Footballers were there, so even though a very busy hotel, Staff and Managers go out their way to help.

So just wanted to say a heart felt thank you to u all, and I am looking forward to returning in the near future.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ann j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MezeyTamas, Manager at Hotel Budapest, responded to this reviewResponded August 24, 2013

Dear Ann,

Thank you for your kind words.
We do hope to see you back soon.
Kindly ask you to send me a short note after your reservation.

Kind regards,

Tamás Mezey
Operations Manager - Hotel Budapest
Group Quality Manager - Danubius Hotels Group

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2013

This hotel has nothing to offer except the location fairly close to the M2 stop Szell Kalman Ter.

The room had a practically non-functioning air-condition system, and it was in a poor state. When people were moving in the rooms 2 doors down the hall or on either floor above or beneath us, the beds shook, and the sound proofing in general was horrendous.

The cleanliness of the room was also poor, with what seemed like quite fresh stains of something covering the carpet, and seemingly no effort was done to remove it.

The staff promised to fix the air-conditioning, but during our 6-day stay, nothing happened, even though they said time and time again that they would. The staff wasn't very friendly either.

I've stayed at better 2-star hotels than this. Avoid it at all cost.

Room Tip: Just do yourself a favour and find another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Espen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MezeyTamas, Manager at Hotel Budapest, responded to this reviewResponded August 21, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your comments via Tripadvisor.

In almost 40 hotels of the Danubius Hotels Group operating in five countries, the requirements in connection with our Guests are regulated by standards of operation and services. These standards, the observation of which is obligatory for all our employees, list about 2700 professional criteria and ensure the satisfaction of our Guests, with the exception of certain rare cases.
Having read your comments and considering the importance of the case I have ordered a special examination without delay. After it we will make the necessary actions immediately.

Thank you and best regards,

Tamás Mezey
Group Quality Manager
Operations Manager - Hotel Budapest

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2013 via mobile

I stayed here in July 2013 and I must say its not a bad place to stay.
The location is very good you are about 20 mins from the city centre. The hotel is a bit out dated and needs a major refit as the furniture is old and worn out.
The staff here are fabulous and will help you out with anything.
The breakfast here is a standard continental with a few hot things which is tasty.
If I went back to Budapest I would stay here again but there are much better 4 star hotels in Budapest and I would rate this a 3 star at best

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank midas7908
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MezeyTamas, Manager at Hotel Budapest, responded to this reviewResponded August 7, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your comments.
We will work hard to give all the services related to the four star hotel expectations.

Kindest regards,

Tamás Mezey
Group Quality Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2013

What a fabulous stay at Hotel Budapest! A very busy hotel whilst we were there and the staff were perfect. We arrived late in the evening was greeted by the Manager, who was very helpful and checked we had knowledge of attractions, the hotel also supplied leaflets for everything you would need. We then ordered food, which was very good, obviously more money than local restaurants but that is always the case. The Hotel is on the Buda side of the Danube and this was also the cheaper side, we went to all the local bars and eating places and I must say, the friendlest people you could meet! Very happy that we said thankyou in hungarian and then taught us a little more :) Now back to the Hotel, Breakfast was good, but be warned, when the hotel is busy and you arrive for breakfast at 9.45am (breakfast finished at 10am) there was not as much choice, still enough for a good feed :) Thanks to the lovely lady who served us coffee most days, with a smile and a chat, i am sorry i did not ask her name to thank her personally (hotel manager, she was a little lady with dark hair who worked in the coffee bar) Also to Krisztina the Trainee receptionist, well done to you , you'll make a great receptionist! To those who inspect their rooms with a camera...yes some of the decor was tired but we did'nt even think about it, who would, when the staff were great and the view was amazing from our room, we were on the 9th floor by the way :) We shall return and THANKYOU :) room 915

Room Tip: we were on the smoking floor by choice, the further up the hotel, the better the view, from every an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank krissydabird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2013

My stay was due to having dental work in Budapest so I wasnt that bothered about the hotel to be honest. In its hayday this hotel would have been wonderful with very nice finishes, features and funiture. Unfortunatley it is now very dated and needs a lot of work to get it up to a reasonable standard. I had room 1303 and had a great view out of the window that could not be closed due to having no window catch fitted to it, the room was OK, clean and tidy and everything you expect from a 2 star hotel. The bathroom was clean but showed signs of mildew around the seals.
The breakfast as always in Budapest was very interesting i.e the usual pickled cauliflower but that aside you could always find plenty to eat, the fruit juice is not juice but what do you expect for 37 euros a night.
What is good are the staff they are very helpful and very attentive, its a busy hotel with coach loads of people arriving on mass at all times of the day and the night but the staff always managed a smile.
What is bad are the prosiitutes that offer their sexual services, this made sitting on the hotel patio a rather amusing experience as the prostitutes made their way around their unsuspecting next victim! and as this was the only place along with the reception area to get free wifi you kind of have to put up with it. They werent rude and took no for an answer so not a major issue.
As the hotel are fully aware of whats going, as aparently, charges can be added to your bill it is kind of up to the hotel to clean up their act.
Having said all of this you can do a lot worse for 37 euro a night.
Many thanks

Room Tip: Go High, quieter!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sinners72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Budapest hotels
Central Hotel 21
#68 of 336 in Budapest
612 reviews
Zugló
Danubius Hotel Arena
Danubius Hotel Arena
#114 of 336 in Budapest
1,551 reviews
ACHAT Premium Budapest
#153 of 336 in Budapest
282 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
District I / Buda
Mercure Budapest Buda
Mercure Budapest Buda
#132 of 336 in Budapest
1,738 reviews
District VII / Jewish Quarter
Hotel Hungaria City Center
Hotel Hungaria City Center
#130 of 336 in Budapest
2,296 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Budapest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Budapest

Address: Szilagyi Erzsebet fasor 47, Budapest 1026, Hungary
Location: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #203 of 336 Hotels in Budapest
Price Range: $48 - $93 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Budapest 4*
Number of rooms: 289
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay at one of the capital’s iconic buildings! Hotel Budapest – formerly called Round Hotel – caused a major stir as soon as it was built. The high-rise circular building full of windows was considered an architectural oddball, and so in time became one of the symbols of Budapest and a favourite with visitors. With its 15 stories and 64 metres in height, it’s still the tallest hotel in the country. From its higher floors, you get a breathtaking panoramic view of the various landmarks of the Buda and Pest sides of the city. The hotel, located in green surroundings at the foot of the Buda hills, is an excellent choice whether you want to go sightseeing, or you’ve come for a professional event, or if you want to go for a walk in the Buda hills: the buses or trams stopping in front of the hotel will take you to the M2 metro in Széll Kálmán Square in a few minutes, and also to many nice place in Buda, without having to change. The cog-wheel railway, a major tourist attraction in itself, stops right opposite the hotel, offering easy access to the Buda hills. The nearby Városmajor park is a great place for long walks, jogging and other outdoor exercise. Those arriving by car or coach can park their vehicle in the car park in front of the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, Travelocity and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Budapest reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing