We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Rooms resembling a skiing lodge” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Budapest

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Hotel Budapest
Ranked #189 of 342 Hotels in Budapest
Warsaw, Poland
1 review
“Rooms resembling a skiing lodge”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2013

We booked this hotel thinking that we managed to obtain a bargain price for a four star hotel. Bad mistake. Looking at the comments on tripadvisor we did not expect much. The expectation was of a clean, older type of a hotel with good service. The professional pictures and description at Daunubius Hotels website looked promising: relatively well furnished room, interesting shape of the building, and good connection to the sights. The reality proved to be far worse. Although the outside and connection to public transport was o.k. and allowed us to take full advantage of the beautiful Budapest, the inside of the hotel was a disaster. To name just a few negatives: room furniture resembled that of a skiing lodge – worse than in a hostel, the carpet was totally worn out everywhere, there was dirt all-over (for example under the flushing button at the toilet there was so much dirt that it looked like this part was not cleaned for ages), curtains in the room showed no washing, there was sponge coming out of arm chairs in the lobby. The positive was a free Wi-Fi in the lobby, but if you wanted to print something there was a high charge to use the computer booth. On the other hand the employees at the front desk were very helpful and sympathetic. All in all it is a mystery to us why it has a four stars rating. In all cases in our opinion the hotel should be thoroughly cleaned and refurbished.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HoHey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MezeyTamas, Manager at Hotel Budapest, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
Dear Guest,

With regret I have read your comments and experiences during your stay in our Hotel.

Of course it is the policy of our company to have all our guests to enjoy their stay in our hotels, however as it looks we have failed several times during your recent stay with us, and the services were not at all according to our policies and procedures.

I would like to apologize for all happenings, however to see the details is equally important as it is the basis in order to improve our procedures and/or focus our training efforts. After our investigation we will take the necessary steps immediately.

Once again, thank you for taking the time to write to us and detailing the experiences during your stay.

Tamás Mezey
Group Quality Manager
Operations Manager - Hotel Budapest
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

698 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    98
    240
    193
    92
    75
See reviews for
112
228
63
81
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sofia, Bulgaria
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 30, 2013

The hotel is in late Socialistic style furnished. The room was quite dirty, there was no shampoo in the shampoo dispenser (we stayed for 2 nights) and we actually didn't get any during our whole stay even if the room was cleaned in the morning. It was a luck that I carried with myself shampoo. The breakfast was quite satisfying. We had some problems with polish teenage neighbours who decided to have a room party after 0h, they shouted and screamed in the corridors and we couldn't sleep almost all night (it was important for us to sleep well as we had to get up at 7AM).
I called the reception by phone but nobody answered, I was shocked to understand that a 4* hotel does not have a all-night reception service....

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank zel4ica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MezeyTamas, Manager at Hotel Budapest, responded to this review, June 2, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your comments via Tripadvisor.

In almost 40 hotels of the Danubius Hotels Group operating in five countries, the requirements in connection with our Guests are regulated by standards of operation and services. These standards, the observation of which is obligatory for all our employees, list about 2700 professional criteria and ensure the satisfaction of our Guests, with the exception of certain rare cases.

Having read your comments and considering the importance of the case I have ordered a special examination without delay. After it we will make the necessary actions immediately.

Thank you and best regards,

Tamás Mezey
Group Quality Manager
Operations Manager - Hotel Budapest
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2013

You must be high if you give this hotel a rating over 2 stars. I honestly don't even know where to begin...

PROS:
Right across the street from a tram line

Pretty good view

Cheap (for good reasons, just continue reading)

CONS:
Dated decor, dark and dingy rooms, old unwashed bedding, old furniture, dingy bathroom, highly questionable shower curtain.

Free breakfast buffet consisted of: bread, rolls, lunch meat, deli cheese, PASTA (?!), cut up apples, oranges, grapefruits, more rolls, dry cereal, hot dogs, "scrambled eggs", hard boiled eggs, and rolls - needless to say we ate at McDonalds for breakfast every morning we were in Budapest (not proud of that either...).

Staff suggested "pizza from the stand across the street" as our first meal in Hungary, when we asked for an authentic Hungarian restaurant...and then told us one of the tourist site (recommended from TripAdvisor with 5 stars) was in a district he "goes to once every 10 years, if he has to..." hinting that it was dangerous. Wrong. It was a highlight of Budapest, so please get your facts straight.

Bathroom flooded because there was no convenient way to hang the shower head while showering.

Lack of space in the room - no need for a table and chairs in a room with 3 beds when you have nowhere to put your luggage.

Our "non-smoking" room sure felt/smelled like a smoking room.

The closest Metro station was a homeless person hot spot, I saw TWO people using the nearby bushes for a bathroom.

I don't even know where to begin on the lack of elevators...

Got locked out of lobby one night after coming back from the Pest side, and there were no clear directions to use any call box to reach the front desk.

Room Tip: Don't stay here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mary M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MezeyTamas, Manager at Hotel Budapest, responded to this review, June 2, 2013
Dear Guest,

With regret I have read your comments and experiences during your stay in our Hotel.

Of course it is the policy of our company to have all our guests to enjoy their stay in our hotels, however as it looks we have failed several times during your recent stay with us, and the services were not at all according to our policies and procedures.

I would like to apologize for all happenings, however to see the details is equally important as it is the basis in order to improve our procedures and/or focus our training efforts. After our investigation we will take the necessary steps immediately.

Once again, thank you for taking the time to write to us and detailing the experiences during your stay.

Sincerely yours,

Tamás Mezey
Group Quality Manager
Operations Manager - Hotel Budapest
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Budapest hotels

Pasig, Philippines
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 8, 2013

We stayed for 2 nights in this hotel as part of our Eastern Europe tour. The tour package is first class so all the hotels in the itinerary are 4 or 5 star. Hotel Budapest in my honest opinion is not 4-star: It is old and not well maintained and the worst feature is the room. Our small room has 3 small beds and a really tiny bathroom. There is hardly any space to position our luggage. The cabinets are worn down and the wall under the windows have open panels which I had to stuff with paper just so my daughter will agree to take the bed nearest to it. The beddings, particularly the cover, looked and smelled unclean and the room has a dirty smell which is most noticeable upon entry into the room. The redeeming features: beautiful view from the window, super friendly staff, okay breakfast buffet (but the same daily) and location. I loved Budapest, it is such a beautiful place but I can not recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Avoid this hotel unless you just want a bed to sleep on.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MalouPasig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MezeyTamas, Manager at Hotel Budapest, responded to this review, May 9, 2013
Dear Guests,

Thank you for your notes.
We were sorry to read your comment and understand, that your view and service related good experiences were ruined by some disappointing facts.
I will check them in details immediately and will take the necessary actions.
I hope, that I will be able to inform you about the changes in the rooms expected.

With best regards,

Tamás Mezey
Group Quality Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
144 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 161 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 28, 2013

List of things considered “nice” about this hotel:
1.-The great view from my room.
2.-The Hungarian goulash soup (dinner) at the hotel restaurant.
3.-The grand, curvy stair with solid golden railings.
4.-The patio with flowers…
5.-The location: this hotel was located at the foot of the Buda Hills surrounded by green,close to bus/tram and subway.
6.-Affordable, good value to meet budget need.

List of things not that positive:
1.-The overheated room, outdated furniture, dusty smell.
2.-The impossible bed linens, and the super old pillows with clusters of cotton stayed on one end and left the other end totally flat....

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Amber201083
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MezeyTamas, Manager at Hotel Budapest, responded to this review, May 3, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for all your comments.
We have already started to change our linen in the rooms and we work hard on all the rest of your negative experiences.

Thank you and best regards,
Tamás Mezey
Group Quality Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
43 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 25, 2013

My husband and I spent a week at the Hotel Budapest in Budapest Hungary in April 2013. We chose it because it was within our budget and was an interesting looking building. It is a circular shape and is one of the tallest hotels in the city. We requested a high floor and was put in a room facing back towards the Danube and the wonderful city views on the 13th Floor.
This was not the Sheraton or the Marriott for sure and it was a good walk to town from our hotel on the buda side. We love walking so it wasnt a problem but if you want to be close to all the sights you can stay down town on the pest side or take the frequent metro bus and trains that are very regular. The room was functional with the usual ONE english speaking channel tv station BBC news room service stopped right on 10pm which was a bummer the night we arrived we were late getting in and had to survivie on a bag of crisps my husband got at a gas station down the street.
The insulation in the place is not good to say the least and we had to listen to a number of guests banging doors at all hours of the night and footfall in the corridors were noisy also.
I would say the staff were extremely polite and helpful food was edible but if you want a four star experience dont stay here its a tourist level hotel that attracts all the school tours from Italy Spain and the USA and the two lifts are like downtown New York Subway in the mornings and late evenings and being on the 13th Floor they were a nuisance and very rude children - our next visit to Hungary will be in about a month and I intend to stay in the pest side for convenience and ease of access to the mirade of beautiful buildings and streets in Budapest.

Room Tip: Ask for a high floor facing back towards the River and the castle also consider booking breakfast wi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Colleenbaid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MezeyTamas, Manager at Hotel Budapest, responded to this review, May 5, 2013
Dear Guests,

Thank you for your very detailed comments. Sharing your experiences with us was an excellent opportunity to review some critical parts of the hotel from operational and service point of view.

We hope you will be back soon and see the differences.

Sincerely yours,

Tamás Mezey
group quality manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gatineau
Level Contributor
36 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 12, 2013

Stayed in this hotel for 2 nights in March 2013. The cylindric hotel reminds me a similar building in LA. The hotel is well located and the view on the city from there is stunning. The room was clean and large enough. The food was quite good. The only bad side of this hotel is the elevators that are quite small and not fast enough. Only 2 elevators for an 18 story hotel is not enough. One good point is the free high-speed internet in the lobby.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Spyder1867
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MezeyTamas, Manager at Hotel Budapest, responded to this review, May 3, 2013
Dear Ms. Spyder,

We were happy to read your comments and understand, that you were satisfied with our services.
Let me mention, that our Hotel Budapest has three elevators. I hope that I will be able to show it soon, when you visit our hotel again.

In the meantime, I remain,
with best regards,

Tamás Mezey
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Budapest hotels
District I / Buda
Hotel Charles
Hotel Charles
#45 of 342 in Budapest
4.5 of 5 bubbles 553 reviews
Danubius Hotel Arena
#129 of 342 in Budapest
3.5 of 5 bubbles 868 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
District VII / Jewish Quarter
Corinthia Hotel Budapest
Corinthia Hotel Budapest
#17 of 342 in Budapest
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6,822 reviews
Leonardo Hotel Budapest
#117 of 342 in Budapest
3.5 of 5 bubbles 743 reviews
Gellert Hill
Danubius Hotel Gellert
Danubius Hotel Gellert
#99 of 342 in Budapest
4.0 of 5 bubbles 5,235 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Budapest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Budapest

Property: Hotel Budapest
Address: Szilagyi Erzsebet fasor 47, Budapest 1026, Hungary
Location: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #189 of 342 Hotels in Budapest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Budapest 4*
Number of rooms: 289
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay at one of the capital’s iconic buildings! Hotel Budapest – formerly called Round Hotel – caused a major stir as soon as it was built. The high-rise circular building full of windows was considered an architectural oddball, and so in time became one of the symbols of Budapest and a favourite with visitors. With its 15 stories and 64 metres in height, it’s still the tallest hotel in the country. From its higher floors, you get a breathtaking panoramic view of the various landmarks of the Buda and Pest sides of the city. The hotel, located in green surroundings at the foot of the Buda hills, is an excellent choice whether you want to go sightseeing, or you’ve come for a professional event, or if you want to go for a walk in the Buda hills: the buses or trams stopping in front of the hotel will take you to the M2 metro in Széll Kálmán Square in a few minutes, and also to many nice place in Buda, without having to change. The cog-wheel railway, a major tourist attraction in itself, stops right opposite the hotel, offering easy access to the Buda hills. The nearby Városmajor park is a great place for long walks, jogging and other outdoor exercise. Those arriving by car or coach can park their vehicle in the car park in front of the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Budapest reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing