We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“fair price”
Review of Hotel Budapest

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Budapest
Ranked #196 of 334 Hotels in Budapest
Reviewed March 4, 2013

cost was 37 euro per night room was fine staff were courteous breakfast very good over all worth the money would return tram stops facing hotel short walk to moscow square for under groung ect.nearby shopping centers

Room Tip: go to higher floors for fantastic views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank michaeln186338
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MezeyTamas, Manager at Hotel Budapest, responded to this reviewResponded May 3, 2013

Dear Michaeln,

Thank you for your notes.
Fair price is one of the basic elements of our business strategy.

Hope to see you soon, back in our Hotel Budapest.

Best regards
Tamás Mezey
Group Quality Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (977)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

402 - 408 of 977 reviews

Reviewed February 26, 2013

Hotel has interesting architecture, but maybe needs some renovation. We had rooms on upper floor and the views are really nice. If you can, choose rooms on upper floors.

Staff is very nice, breakfast is average. I have expected at least something from Hungaryan cuisine, but there was nothing. And coffee was quite weak.

We had as a group three rooms, all of them were clean, although overheated.

Location was great - it was a quiet place few minutes walking from metro station. There is a tram station right before the hotel and if you are coming at night from Keleti railway station, you can go to hotel by night bus.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michal B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 12, 2013

We stayed at the Hotel Budapest for a few days and it was not a great experience. The very first impression is the overpowering smell of stale cooking oil throughout the hotel (not so much in the bedrooms). I am not exaggerating, it was really off-putting. The staff were friendly but very slow. The bedrooms were rudimentary with a clean bathroom and a not-so-clean carpet and stained bed covers. The rooms were overheated, and we all slept badly because of it. The food was good: We had a salad in the cafe on the first evening and it was really delicious, and the service at the cafe bar was good; also the breakfast was good with wide selection of options and nice teas. I won't be staying there again though...

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CKinLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 27, 2013

This monumental round building is interesting, but old furniture, too small rooms for any extra beds - we were 3 - and average service didn't really impress us, especially as it was not high season anymore, but room twice as expensive as in the same period in 4 star hotels in Prague. Fortunately we stayed there only one night, for longer period it'd be really uncomfortable. Extra bed was less comfortable than beach longer, so I ended sleeping on the floor. Staff in reception was not able to say where to leave our car as they didn't allow us to park on hotel parking! Breakfast was not bad, but it was impossible to find anybody to ask to bring cutlery and glasses for juice. Hotel definitely needs renovation - of rooms and employees! Location is quite OK, tram stop just in front of hotel, big shopping mall and metro station in walking distance.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank 24LiZa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 10, 2012

I stayed with my husband and our group 4 nights in this hotel.It was one of the most dirty hotels I have ever stayed .Only on the third day they changed the towels after our complaints.The room was in a very bad condition, the furniture was old and I am wondering if they have even changed the sheets from the previous customer.Breakfast was awful and they didn't even changed the dirty table cloths.
Stuff was very rude and I got the feeling that most of them do their job with no pleasure.
Another problem is that the hotel is not situated in the center and you must take the subway and the tram to be there.But if you be in the city in the winter or in the autumn you can't walk a lot or waiting for the transports when it is so cold or if it is raining.In this hotel they really don't care for the customer.
Unfortunately I had a very bad experience in this hotel and this didn't help a lot to have good memories from the city.

Room Tip: When I arrived at the hotel I asked for a better type of room.They gave me one on the highest floors...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank achilleas p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 7, 2012

We spent 5 days in October 2012 at this hotel. Definetely a great value for money ! Unless someone is used in high quality 5 stars hotels , will find this hotel the ideal choice in Budapest! We've travelled a lot and we never had such a nice hotel for 43 euros per night !

---Staff : Kind , helpfull and very professional, nice welcome, tourist maps offered e.t.c ( on a rainy day we asked if there was an umbrella availiable untill we buy one and they gave us one gladly and immediately. The reception man on our arrival even remembered that it was our anniversary, as i have stated in my request ! ).

---Room :.Comfortable and bright room with comfortable bed, just like the photos, little fridge , little sitting area, satelite LCD t.v., enough space for walking around pleasantly, wardrobe , nice and clean bathroom , hairdryer and the highlight of this hotel.. huge window with superb view ! A very normal level of noise from either outside or inside of the hotel, never being a problem to us..( 2 ladies talking loudly with their door open after midnight, i just appeared at their door and asked for quitness and that was all !! ).

Rooms are cleaned daily, changing of bed linen and towels depend on customer's wish.(green policy).Not always a perfectly cleaned carpet but not a big issue.

---Breakfast ;.We didn't have breakfast or any meal at the hotel so we have no opinion. But we had the right to enjoy free coffee and croissant every morning which we found very kind, although we never used it...

---Location:Very green, quiet and beautiful surroundings, we never felt away from center, very safe even at 11.00 p.m.Very good transportation links.

A).Just opposite the hotel a tram stop of Nr 59 and 61 trams.Both trams take you in 5 min. to the Szell Kalman Ter(( ex Moskva Ter )) , a big square with metro , buses, trams., eating options , the Mammut big market for some shopping , e.t.c . From this metro station you can reach within few minutes all interesting parts of the city.

B). Just steps from the hotel is the bus stop of Nr 5 bus which takes you to the Pest and the famous Vaci Street and Vorosmarty square.( get off before reaching the bridge ). Very convenient.

Szell Kalman Ter ::. 1). From here, taking tram Nr 18 in few minutes you get off at ''Gellert Ter'' stop, almost in front of the Gellert Hotel. At this spot starts a paved way up the Gellert Hill and Citadella, beautiful but tiring way . We ,instead, got a taxi in front of the Gellert hotel to the top for 10 euros ( overpriced ) but worth it and then easily walked down .

2).Some stairs lead from the square to a street above where there is the bus stop of the buses Nr 16, 16A and 116 that in a few minutes take you up the Castle hill ( there is a stop ( name Halazbastya ) in front of the Fisherman's Bastion and one near the Palace ).

3).From this square start also the important trams 4 and 6 to various places.

4).By the Szell Kalman Ter metro : a) you change at Deak Ference Ter ( 2 stops ) and there change to other metro lines. b). After 1 stop get off at '' Kossuth Layos Ter '' for the Parliament area.c). Get off at the next stop ''Bathyani Ter '', at the river promenade , for a wonderfull view of the front of Parliament, Dont' miss it also at night !

We found the transportation options from this hotel much better than we expected, getting everywhere we needed in a very short while !!

----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
For SMOKERS

The 9th floor is a smoking floor that offers great views of the city ! We asked for a smoking room and we were very pleased and enjoyed the fantastic and wide view all the time !
Also at the entrance of the hotel there is a nice terrace with tables where smokers can bring their coffee or laptop or just smoke...
-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

General Tips:

---Public toilets we found at the Fisherman's Bastion, the Castle Palace , also in front of the Szell Kalman Ter metro, at Bathyani Ter metro, at Deak Ference ter metro ( outside, exit Deak ter ) and Arpad Hid metro.( all payable, around 150 ft )

---Vorosmarty square with cafes and restaurants, the most alive square in the city, from there starts the beautiful Vaci Street.

---About 60 m from this square down to the river , there is the most picturesque part of the river with great views, some cafes and restaurants on the promenade ! Just between the 2 main bridges ! At this point you will also find the starting point of the river cruises and stalls where you buy the ticket.

----Important ! Arriving by plane , your first act is to find the ATM , near the newspapers shop, at the arrivals area, to exchange money.This is definetely the cheapest way to excange, not to a hotel or excange office in the city.At the newspapers shop you will buy a ticket for the 200 E bus taking you to the Kobanya Kispest metro station from which you can reach you final destination .At this station you can bye your 2,3,5-days Travel Card( around 15 euros ).Unfortunately we didn't find this card at the arrivals information office , only some ixpensive cards. With the travel card you have free travel to all buses, metro, trams and the bus 200E to return to the airport.(( There are also taxis and shuttle buses )).

****We had a great time in Budapest and the Budapest hotel proved a wise choice for us ! Of course we would come back and we definetely recommend it to all !!

ENJOY BUDAPEST !!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank _GreeceTheodosia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2012

This hotel was fantastic. Set in the quieter Buda side of Budapest, it is perfectly placed for the tram as the stop is immediately over the road from the hotel. Also immediately adjacent to this hotel is the station for the cog-wheel railway which takes you up to the fresh and picturesque Buda hills. It is a 5 minute walk to the food market and the Mammut shopping mall, where you can get a tram to absolutely anywhere in Budapest and the underground station. Over the road from the hotel (next to the tram stop) there is a friendly lace where you can have a beer and a snacks and further down the road is a friendly bar which has old vinyl records as part of its décor.

The room in the Budapest Hotel are quite snug and the wardrobe space is economic but the staff in the reception are extremely helpful, informative and happy. They are an absolute credit to this hotel and made our stay at this hotel incredibly enjoyable. May I thank each and every one of them.

The view from our room on the 12th floor was phenomenally breathtaking and you can see across Buda and Pest and you can admire the glorious Danube.

All in all, the quirky Hotel Budapest was exactly what I needed as a central but not bustling part of a beautiful capital city and would seriously recommend to anyone.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hooly71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Budapest hotels
Danubius Hotel Arena
#117 of 334 in Budapest
1,404 reviews
District I / Buda
Mercure Budapest Buda
Mercure Budapest Buda
#130 of 334 in Budapest
1,705 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Benczur Hotel
#162 of 334 in Budapest
504 reviews
District VII / Jewish Quarter
Hotel Hungaria City Center
Hotel Hungaria City Center
#131 of 334 in Budapest
2,099 reviews
District I / Buda
Hotel Charles
Hotel Charles
#44 of 334 in Budapest
629 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Budapest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Budapest

Address: Szilagyi Erzsebet fasor 47, Budapest 1026, Hungary
Location: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #196 of 334 Hotels in Budapest
Price Range: $44 - $111 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Budapest 4*
Number of rooms: 289
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay at one of the capital’s iconic buildings! Hotel Budapest – formerly called Round Hotel – caused a major stir as soon as it was built. The high-rise circular building full of windows was considered an architectural oddball, and so in time became one of the symbols of Budapest and a favourite with visitors. With its 15 stories and 64 metres in height, it’s still the tallest hotel in the country. From its higher floors, you get a breathtaking panoramic view of the various landmarks of the Buda and Pest sides of the city. The hotel, located in green surroundings at the foot of the Buda hills, is an excellent choice whether you want to go sightseeing, or you’ve come for a professional event, or if you want to go for a walk in the Buda hills: the buses or trams stopping in front of the hotel will take you to the M2 metro in Széll Kálmán Square in a few minutes, and also to many nice place in Buda, without having to change. The cog-wheel railway, a major tourist attraction in itself, stops right opposite the hotel, offering easy access to the Buda hills. The nearby Városmajor park is a great place for long walks, jogging and other outdoor exercise. Those arriving by car or coach can park their vehicle in the car park in front of the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, HotelQuickly, Hotwire and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Budapest reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing