We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quirky shaped, perfectly located for Buda with fabulous staff”
Review of Hotel Budapest

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Budapest
Ranked #164 of 334 Hotels in Budapest
manchester
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Quirky shaped, perfectly located for Buda with fabulous staff”
Reviewed October 26, 2012

This hotel was fantastic. Set in the quieter Buda side of Budapest, it is perfectly placed for the tram as the stop is immediately over the road from the hotel. Also immediately adjacent to this hotel is the station for the cog-wheel railway which takes you up to the fresh and picturesque Buda hills. It is a 5 minute walk to the food market and the Mammut shopping mall, where you can get a tram to absolutely anywhere in Budapest and the underground station. Over the road from the hotel (next to the tram stop) there is a friendly lace where you can have a beer and a snacks and further down the road is a friendly bar which has old vinyl records as part of its décor.

The room in the Budapest Hotel are quite snug and the wardrobe space is economic but the staff in the reception are extremely helpful, informative and happy. They are an absolute credit to this hotel and made our stay at this hotel incredibly enjoyable. May I thank each and every one of them.

The view from our room on the 12th floor was phenomenally breathtaking and you can see across Buda and Pest and you can admire the glorious Danube.

All in all, the quirky Hotel Budapest was exactly what I needed as a central but not bustling part of a beautiful capital city and would seriously recommend to anyone.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hooly71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

881 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    125
    297
    245
    113
    101
See reviews for
167
276
74
108
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Colchester
Level 6 Contributor
82 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed October 19, 2012

The distinctive cylindrical shape of this "cold war" inspired hotel is certainly a landmark in Budapest The locals call it the water heater and you can instantly see why. The 1960's exterior and its unusual shape internally does give this hotel a fairly unique feel. Only staying for two nights may not give full justice to the hotel but enough to form an impression. The staff were very helpful and for the most part you could cope in English particularly at reception. The meals were provided in a square slightly austere restaurant but were adequate and wholesome.

The centre of the hotel is dominated by a sweeping staircase and central lifts. When you navigate around the hotel it is quite disorientating as you sweep round the spiral or alternatively emerge from the lift on floors that look exactly the same. The circular corridors and wedge shaped rooms mean you need to check which room you are at before fiddling with the keys at the wrong one (lesson learnt). The wedge shaped rooms are not great and need a makeover but for a short stay adequate. Great view of the Castle and river out of the window (Rm 1320).The bathroom is tiny and the lighting poor be careful not to fall in or out of the bath/shower its a tricky one. The closets and drawers have seen better days so my stuff stayed packed.

An interesting experience to go back in time to the communist inspired "water heater", but if I return then I think I shall look more centrally for a hotel in Pest, a lovely part of the City.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LazyT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2012

It's old, filthy (rooms were filthy with dust evrywhere and and unfriendly. The food was average. The ventialtion grid came from hell. The airconditioning was not really helpfull to cool the temperature.
Only 2 elevators for many many rooms. And at last the hotel is not located at a convenient place. The only good thing about is is the supermarket nearby and the tram before the hotel door.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank Ilena73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MezeyTamas, Manager at Hotel Budapest, responded to this review, September 24, 2012
Dear Guest,

I was sorry to learn the facts during your stay in our Hotel Budapest.
I will take all the necessary actions immediately, to avoid these incidents would happen again.
Thank you for your comments.

With sincere apologize and best regards,

Tamás Mezey
Operations Manager - Hotel Budapest
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Budapest hotels

Amsterdam, The Netherlands
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 29, 2012

I was five days in Budapest Hotel. It's a beautiful, clean, well located hotel with very helpful, nice, funny employees! I liked the great service and the croissants in the morning on the terrace. I can recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank C M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MezeyTamas, Manager at Hotel Budapest, responded to this review, September 1, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your nice comment. We all were happy to know, that you had a good time in the Hotel Budapest.

We do hope, you will come back soon.

In the meantime, I remain
With best regards

Tamás Mezey
Operations Manager - Hotel Budapest
Group Quality Manager - Danubius Hotels Group
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
galway
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed August 23, 2012

Enjoyable stay, hotel does what it says on the tin. well priced in a convenient location for sightseeing, lacks kettle in room which other Danubius hotels have. The staff were friendly and helpful without being intrusive. Breakfast was pleasant but the bread appeared to have been either defrosted or heated in the microwave which made it very chewy!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank karngalway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MezeyTamas, Manager at Hotel Budapest, responded to this review, August 27, 2012
Dear Guest!

Thank you for your notes.
We were happy to hear, that you were satisfied with our services.
We also took the necessary actions in connection with your comment on the bread.
Looking forward to seeing you back in our hotel.

Kind regards:

Tamás Mezey
Operations Manager - Hotel Budapest
Group Quality Manager - Danubius Hotels Group
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utrecht, The Netherlands
Level 6 Contributor
66 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2012

I spent 3 nights here... service & staff were attentive... the view from the window is nice... its location is perfect!!
There is also a gas station nearby and the bar at the hotel is very good!
Information and tips from the reception... at all times!
Definitively it is a place to come back!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HotelsOverview
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MezeyTamas, Manager at Hotel Budapest, responded to this review, August 24, 2012
Dear Guest,

We were happy to read your notes, and understand that you enjoyed your stay in the Hotel Budapest.
We do hope, that you will visit us again, soon!

With best regards,

Tamás Mezey
Operations Manager - Hotel Budapest
Group Quality Manager - Danubius Hotels Group
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed August 18, 2012

Stayed at this hotel for 4 nights in August 2012. Check in was excellent. Were almost 2 hours early but got to our room within 10 minutes. Room was on floor 3A - avenue view. Apparently 'A' floors are the older part of the hotel. It was quite narrow. We had two single beds. Wardrobe ample - only 2 coathangers per person. TV had CNN and BBC world news. Bathroom absolutely fine. Very clean, with a powerful shower. Only downside was the hair dryer. Thankfully I have short hair, otherwise it would have taken all day to dry. Housekeeping was excellent and they do work hard. Didn't try the pool as it was 11euros and we thought that a bit steep. Breakfast is from 7 - 10am but as with most places best to get there early. No complaints though. Staff were all really friendly. Used the small hotel bar a couple of nights and they were fantastic ! More pricey than the local bars and no draught beers but the service makes up for that.
Hotel is located in the embassy and Parlaiment area - within 5 min walk to the Parliament actually. Couple of restaurants along the streets. First one is by far the best. Only go to the next one along if you want a beer. Food appalling - frozen veg and microwave food.
Hotel is only a short walk form the main hub with plenty of bars/restaurants on the way. On the squares/Ter prices can go up quite markedly so look around as there are gfreat places to eat and drink for a third of the price and good quality.
Do the hop on tourist bus with green bus -48hrs full tour with good audio - includes 1 hour - can transfer also to the pink tour aong the Danube - plus you get a booklet of vouchers to use at different places along the route for free drinks.
If you are going to this hotel it is 5 minute walk max from the metro station Arany Janos.

Room Tip: Ask for garden view on flors which don't have an 'A' next to their number
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Splendoura
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MezeyTamas, Manager at Hotel Budapest, responded to this review, August 21, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your comments you addressed to the staff of the Hotel President.
Unfortunately you sent it to the Hotel Budapest, I am the manager of.
Kindly ask you to resend it to the Hotel President.

With best regards

Tamás Mezey
operations manager - Hotel Budapest
Group Quality Manager - Danubius Hotels Group
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Budapest hotels
Danubius Hotel Arena
#117 of 334 in Budapest
1,245 reviews
District VII / Jewish Quarter
Hotel Hungaria City Center
Hotel Hungaria City Center
#133 of 334 in Budapest
1,865 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Benczur Hotel
#160 of 334 in Budapest
479 reviews
District I / Buda
Hotel Charles
Hotel Charles
#46 of 334 in Budapest
596 reviews
Hotel Chesscom
#105 of 334 in Budapest
370 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Budapest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Budapest

Property: Hotel Budapest
Address: Szilagyi Erzsebet fasor 47, Budapest 1026, Hungary
Location: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #164 of 334 Hotels in Budapest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Budapest 4*
Number of rooms: 289
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay at one of the capital’s iconic buildings! Hotel Budapest – formerly called Round Hotel – caused a major stir as soon as it was built. The high-rise circular building full of windows was considered an architectural oddball, and so in time became one of the symbols of Budapest and a favourite with visitors. With its 15 stories and 64 metres in height, it’s still the tallest hotel in the country. From its higher floors, you get a breathtaking panoramic view of the various landmarks of the Buda and Pest sides of the city. The hotel, located in green surroundings at the foot of the Buda hills, is an excellent choice whether you want to go sightseeing, or you’ve come for a professional event, or if you want to go for a walk in the Buda hills: the buses or trams stopping in front of the hotel will take you to the M2 metro in Széll Kálmán Square in a few minutes, and also to many nice place in Buda, without having to change. The cog-wheel railway, a major tourist attraction in itself, stops right opposite the hotel, offering easy access to the Buda hills. The nearby Városmajor park is a great place for long walks, jogging and other outdoor exercise. Those arriving by car or coach can park their vehicle in the car park in front of the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Travelocity, HotelQuickly and Hotwire so you can book your Hotel Budapest reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing