We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Budapest
Nearby Hotels
$196
$176
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$245
$192
Marriott Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
New York Palace(Budapest)
$158
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Hilton Budapest(Budapest)
$176
$158
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$301
$250
InterContinental
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$152
$148
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$198
$135
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$118
$101
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$410
$307
Cancelon
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$545
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (1,122)
Filter reviews
1,122 results
Traveler rating
158
359
299
157
149
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
158
359
299
157
149
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbuda hillscog railwaythe upper floorstram stoptrams and busescity centrepublic transporton footparliament buildingcylindricalparlamentticketsminibar
Filter
Updating list...
486 - 491 of 1,122 reviews
Reviewed July 12, 2012

We were very excited, happy and relaxed when we arrived at the hotel (Friday, July 6, 2012 – 1:00 pm). Unfortunately not for a long time.
I don't remember the name of the old man from the reception but I want to say that he was rude, spoke sarcastically, ungallant, impolite from the first moment. Seriously.
However, that was the worst welcome/service that I ever had.
Otherwise, the room was ok, not 4 star but a good value for money, clean comfortable, perfect for a city break.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Flr02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2012

Good location... Friendly staff... Priced very well.

Room Tip: Quite location.
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Steve C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 5, 2012

Dear Steve,

Thank you for your kind words.
We do hope, that we will welcome you back in our Hotel Budapest, soon.

Kind regards,

Tamás Mezey
Group Quality Manager
Danubius Hotels Group

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2012

The staff went out of their way to be 100% sure that me and my wife were looked after, they were amazing! And my only regret was that I didn't leave them a big enough tip! The location was perfect and the view was amazing! Highly recommended!

Room Tip: Higher is better
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank DominicFerry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2012

the room was nicely laid out, comfortable and the bathroom fine. and the view spectacular! - on the right side of the building, i.e. overlooking the city. we were on the 15th floor. it was a warm/hot week in budapest and the room was stifling hot with no fresh air vented in. and we couldn't open the window. there was an inadequate air-conditioner in the room that just circulated the stale air. we moved from the hill view side which gets the setting sun as the room was 26 degrees C. if it wasn't located so close to where my meetings were, we would have moved hotels. it can't be healthy not to get fresh air in.

the location is good, in that you have great transport connections to everywhere on the doorstep, but the immediate area is not appealing to wander around. 10 mins walk is a great area tho.

the hotel caters for bus tours, so the lobby and lifts are overcrowded morning and night and in the hot weather - sweaty, tired people are not great all jammed in a lift. I would have walked up but we were on the 15th floor and i had a heavy bag. I definitely walked down in the morning!

but i think having so many people there to cater for, we had a fantastic buffet for breakfast, which was varied and delicious.

Room Tip: rooms with city views don't get afternoon sun
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bun08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 22, 2012

Excellent hotel for the price, in an ideal location directly opposite the tram station and just two stops from the nearest metro station at Szall Calman Ter. Be aware that many books and maps still refer to this as Moskva Ter! You can walk there in 10 minutes if you prefer.
We were in Budapest city centre in little more than 10 minutes from the hotel, and even as far away as the pretty town of Szentendre some 20km north of Budapest in less than an hour. Also opposite the hotel entrance is the station for the cog-railway up the Buda hills.
You can travel on the whole public transport system for some 15 euros per week (buy your ticket at the metro entrance in Szall Calman Ter), thus avoiding the rip-off taxi merchants.
The hotel itself was fine, although the air-con in our 15th floor suite left a great deal to be desired. Otherwise the suite was fine, and the views stunning. The hotel bar was rather lacking in atmosphere and little used, but there are plenty of other lively bars and restaurants in the vicinity.
However we were left rather bemused by the Majorka Bar just 100m away. One night we had a lovely meal in their covered area, but the following night we were told that all tables were reserved although the place was relatively quiet. Fair enough. However, on another occasion as we attempted to make a booking, we were told it wasn't possible to book a table. Work that one out.
Be aware, though, that the Ping Chinese restaurant in Szall Calman Ter must be about the worse one going. I know, we shouldn't have gone for Chinese in Hungary, but the prospect of one goulash-free night appealed. How wrong can one be?

Room Tip: Get one with a window that opens - those in the suites don't
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Ian P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews