We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great hotel, but strangely nervous staff” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Astra Vendeghaz

Hotel Astra Vendeghaz
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Budapest
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel Astra Vendeghaz
Ranked #201 of 342 Hotels in Budapest
London, UK
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Great hotel, but strangely nervous staff”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2008

We stayed here for three nights this July and were quite satisfied with the hotel. The oddest thing though - the pictures on the website somehow make the rooms appear smaller than they really are.

We had a room on the first floor (it's pictured on their website) but when turned up we were told that it wasn't really a room but a suite! (The price we had booked was right, but somehow they hadn't mentioned this great selling point!) So we had a big bedroom which would have been fine just by itself but also a sitting room and an enormous bathroom.

The room was clean and tidy, the furniture was lovely - some of the most characterful we've seen in any hotel - and the bed was comfortable.

The hotel's location was good for the centre of historic Buda, being just at the foot of Castle Hill and not so far from the Szechenyi Bridge.

The staff we met were helpful and polite but seemed strangely nervous whenever we asked them things, which made us a little uncomfortable. This, too, was a little odd because their English was just fine and they got us tables at the restaurants we asked them to book.

  • Liked — Big, characterful room
  • Disliked — Odd staff.
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank elstrach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

13 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3
    6
    2
    1
    1
See reviews for
1
7
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Redlands, California
Level Contributor
50 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 21, 2008

We stayed three wonderful nights at Hotel Astra in April 2008. The hotel is situated in one of the most perfect locations in Budapest. It is in the Buda Castle District right below the Fishermen's Bastion, Matya's Church, and the Palace. It is a very charming, quaint hotel dating back to the 1700's. It has all the modern conveniences, but the wonderful ambience of old Budapest. It was very clean and inviting. The breakfast was delicious each morning. We were traveling with another couple, and we both loved our rooms. We were in a beautiful spacious room with gorgeous furnishings - an antique bed, armoire and table. It had a huge bathroom with another little room with a closet and refrigerator. We were very impressed. We were greeted by a very nice girl, Agnes, who was friendly and helpful in giving us suggestions for restaurants and places to visit. The night that we arrived, she told us about a very nice restaurant right up the hill near Fishermen's Bastion. It was quite a hike - up many steps, but well worth it. The restaurant was Fekete Hollo, which means black raven. They had the most delicious Hungarian goulash, and wonderful singers who serenaded us!! We ate at a couple other great restaurants, which were in walking distance from the hotel. One was A La Carte, and the other was the Polo Pub - both had very nice atmospheres, and delicious food. Every place that we visited was in walking distance from the hotel. Budapest is not a small city, but we enjoyed walking everywhere. One day we walked across the Chain Bridge and caught a "hop on, hop off bus", which is great for going to places not as easy to reach - like the Citadel, where the views of the city are amazing. Budapest was one of our favorite cities on our Central - Eastern European trip, and staying at the very charming Hotel Astra made it one of the highlights of our holiday. We would definitely stay there again - and hope to return someday!!

  • Liked — location and rooms
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank ClaudiaAB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shropshire
Level Contributor
49 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 173 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2008

This is a really tough review to write...mainly because had i paid a different price i think my idea of this hotel would be a lot better.

I ummed and ahhed alot about which side of the river to stay on and which hotel to pick and in the end went for the Astra because it was smaller and the pictures on the site looked amazing - even if it was at the top end of my budget. We paid 99 euros a night including breakfast, and stayed 3 nights.

The staff were very helpful, and the position of the hotel was great - 10 mins walk to the chain bridge and funicular but near a supermarket and betthany ter metro/tram point.

You enter the hotel using a buzzer which gives you entry into the courtyard. nice and safe and very quiet. Recpetion is small but ok - only thing i would say about the reception area is that it reeks of cigarette smoke.

Sadly it was the room that disappointed. it was on the ground floor, and although it was very spacious it felt a bit...well...lacking. yes there was a bed, and wardrobe and tv and a mini bar but it felt a bit dated. The bed was odd...a double bed frame but with two single mattresses and duvets with a double throw over the top. No hairdryer in the room... and the bathroom had a shower fitting from the bath taps but no peg to put the shower handle on. All little things that had i been paying 70/75 euro's a night io wouldnt have minded.

I guess its becuase i'd compared staying at teh astra withthe hilton in the castle district (looked amazing from the outside if in a more awkward position) for 90 euro a night and the carlton hotel which is about 3 mins from the chain bridge and was 80 euro i think.

breakfast was ok - plenty of rolls and cereals.

As i say would i stay again? - yes but i think i'd negotiate a cheaper rate. that said i can't comment on what the other rooms were like so maybe we just got the oldest one.

  • Liked — small size
  • Disliked — Price
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank laneycakes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pisa
Level Contributor
23 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2007

This is the type of hotel others should aspire to be. All hotels no matter where you go begin to look and feel the same, anonymous bland and cold. This hotel is different. It seems like you are staying in a friends house. The rooms are big and spacious with "real" furniture that you would possibly put in your own house. There a few rooms so it is quite intimate. Rooms hotel are spotlessly clean. The hotel staff are friendly,the reception know you by name, and are full of helpful advice. I cannot recommend this place highly enough, If you are in Budapest for a few days this is a wonderful place to stay.

  • Stayed October 2007
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank incrediblepie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2007

The current reviews on Tripadvisor for this hotel are somewhat mixed, but I have to say that it is one of the loveliest hotels that I have ever stayed in, and I have stayed in very many.
It's small, compact and charming.
I found all of the staff very friendly and willing to help.
My room was wonderful - spacious, light and tucked away in the roof, so with loads of charm. I had a lovely large bathroom with sun pouring in each morning.
It's a great, quiet place to retire to after a busy day of sight-seeing in the hustle and bustle of Budapest, and is extremely well-connected transport wise, with a metro, train and tram stop 2-3 minutes walk from the hotel, as well as numerous buses.
I couldn't recommend this hotel highly enough for someone who enjoys staying in a small hotel with character and charm.

  • Liked — My beautiful room
  • Disliked — There was nothing that I could comment on
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank SjuB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 19, 2006

My boyfriend and myself stayed in the hotel Astra in Budapest in November 2006 for two nigths.

We arrived by car from Prague. Before even filling up the check-in form we received the penalty for parking. Later on we found out that there was a parking machine for parking in this street from 8:00 a.m. until 18:00 p.m. But the machine was not to be seen from the place we parked the car and there was not any sign for recognising it. The young man at the reception did not say anything to inform us of the parking machine knowing we parked at the hotel. After we told him about the penalty we did not show any interest. So please look for the parking machine if comming by car so you will not get into the same troubles.

The room we received was very nice, spacious and clean. It was one of the two bedrooms of a family suite which we had only for ourselves. The furniture was of the antique style which we both enjoy. The street is quite and therefore good for sleeping. The breakfast was also very nice and various - maybe there could be more fruit. We paid 95 EUR per night per room which I think is a great price for such a nice hotel on a great position in the city of Budapest. I very much enjoyed the atmosphere of this small hotel and would recommend it to everybody who likes guite and imtimate hotels.

The only bad expirience we had was the young man at the reception. From the very beginning until the end of our stay he was very unwilling towards everything. It seemed that everything and everybody bothered him. So I wondered why he does this job as well as why the owner employ such a person who obviously does not like working with people. When we check out he did not even say good bye, thank you nor a wish for a safe trip. Such a behaviour I really would not expect at such a lovely place. It is a shame as it gives a negative reputation.

Anyway despite this unpleasant expirience I am willing to stay in the Astra hotel at my next visit in Budapest - only hope not to meet this receptionist again.

  • Liked — Intimate atmosphere, room, location
  • Disliked — Receptionist
  • Tips/Secrets — Watch out for the car parking machine
  • Stayed November 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank PGtravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2006

We arrived by train on an overnighter from Switzerland and were looking for a little peace and quiet in Budapest. The Astra was all we wanted and more. The rooms are spacious, the breakfasts were complete and tasty and the location was away from the noise of the Pest side of the city. It was conveniently located within 5 blocks of the Metro and importantly at the base of the castle. The staff was a little grumpy, but not to worry - it was a wonderful stay.

Stayed June 2006
Helpful?
3 Thank JFTaylor3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Budapest hotels
District I / Buda
Pest-Buda Hotel
Pest-Buda Hotel
#102 of 342 in Budapest
5.0 of 5 bubbles 84 reviews
District I / Buda
art'otel budapest
art'otel budapest
#39 of 342 in Budapest
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,570 reviews
District I / Buda
Milford Suites Budapest
Milford Suites Budapest
#119 of 342 in Budapest
4.5 of 5 bubbles 44 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Novotel Budapest Danube
#57 of 342 in Budapest
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,562 reviews
District I / Buda
Boutique Hotel Victoria Budapest
District I / Buda
No photo provided
Budget Hotel Victoria
#103 of 188 in Budapest
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Astra Vendeghaz? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Astra Vendeghaz

Property: Hotel Astra Vendeghaz
Address: Vam utca 6, Budapest 1011, Hungary
Location: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest > District I / Buda , Várkerület
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #201 of 342 Hotels in Budapest
Number of rooms: 12
Also Known As:
Astra Vendeghaz Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing