We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“hidden gem”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Mamaison Hotel Andrassy Budapest
Ranked #26 of 334 Hotels in Budapest
Certificate of Excellence
Prague, Czech Republic
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“hidden gem”
Reviewed June 14, 2010

I've stayed at this hotel twice - August 2009 and March 2010 - and both times was amazed at the outstanding value they offer in terms of excellent service at a lovely property (with a fabulous historical back-story) at an incredibly reasonable price. It honestly seems too good to be true. The Andrassy is deservedly a member of the Small Luxury Hotel collection which is how I found them. It is a 5 minute walk to Hero's Square and the Museum of Fine Arts; about 10 minutes walk to the Szechenyi baths; a leisurely 15 minute walk in the opposite direction to the Opera and an additional 15 minutes down to the Chain Bridge. The rooms are large, comfortable and nicely appointed, breakfast is a somewhat standard but plentiful buffet, the staff is extremely helpful and the Baraka restaurant (which was crowded with more locals than hotel guests on both my visits) was excellent. I often stay at higher-end hotels but in this case, I was more than happy to spend some of my ‘savings’ on drinks under the gorgeous glass cupola at the Four Seasons and then return back to the warm atomosphere of the Andrassy at the end of the evening.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jules2927
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ResidenceIzabella, General Manager at Mamaison Hotel Andrassy Budapest, responded to this review, June 28, 2010
Dear Valued Guest "Jules2927",

Thank you very much for taking your time to post your kind comment on Tripadvisor.com regarding your stay in Mamaison Residence Izabella Budapest.
I am delighted to see that it was the second time you chose us - it is our great pleasure. I am happy to see that you found the location of Mamaison Hotal Andrassy Budapest ideal - it is really in close proximity to all major sights in Budapest. It is always nice to see that you enjoyed the warm atmosphere our hotel provides.
Please let us know if we could be at your disposal upon your return to Budapest, we would be more than happy to welcome you back anytime.

With kind regards,
Kinga ENGELBRECHT - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,304 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    835
    410
    45
    11
    3
See reviews for
137
655
70
143
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (142)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Aurora, Ohio
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 3, 2010

Excellent in all ways. The staff was terrific, the breakfasts were wonderful. The rooms were comfortable. The location was perfect. Our only complaint was that we could not have stayed longer.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bevandduane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ResidenceIzabella, General Manager at Mamaison Hotel Andrassy Budapest, responded to this review, June 8, 2010
Dear Valued Guest "bevandduane",

Thank you very much for taking your time to post your kind comments on Tripadvisor.com regarding your stay with us in Mamaison Hotel Andrassy Budapest. We are glad to see our hotel gaind your recommendation and we are also glad you had a great time with us. It is my pleasure to see that you appreciated the service provided by our staff. It is great to see you enjoyed the breakfast in Baraka restaurant, I hope those nice breakfast could give you a pleasant start for your days.

We would be more than happy to welcome you back anytime, should your plans bring you to Budapest again.

With kind regards,
Kinga ENGELBRECHT - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
White Plains, NY
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 1, 2010

Our first vsist to Budapest was greatly enhanced by our stay at Hotel Andrassay. the location, along the grand boulevard in a neighborhood of embassies, provided a quiet home base with excellent access to the Metro and key sites in the city. The staff went out of their way to be helpful with suggestions , reservations and good conversation about Budapest. The breakfast buffet was excellent and the staff there, too, was friendly and accommodating. Highly recommended for anyon visiting Budapest.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dadj914
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ResidenceIzabella, General Manager at Mamaison Hotel Andrassy Budapest, responded to this review, June 8, 2010
Dear Valued Guest "dadj914",
Thank you very much for placing your kind comment on Tripadvisor.com regarding your stay in Mamaison Hotel Andrassy Budapest. I am glad to see that you had a great time with us. It is also nice to see that you found the location of Mamaison Hotel Andrassy ideal, as you mentioned our hotel is in a quiet area and by the oldest metro in Europe you can get all the key sites in minutes. Our staff is delighted that you appreciated their service. It is our pleasure to do our best for your comfort. I am glad as well to see that the service provided by Baraka restaurant exceeded your expectations.

We appreciate your recommendation and would be glad to welcome you back anytime.

With kind regards,
Kinga ENGELBRECHT - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed April 5, 2010

I stayed at the Mamaison Andrassy hotel with a friend for 4 nights. The hotel was great. I must say the exterior of the hotel was not amazing...but inside it is modern, well done up and well maintained. We were upgraded from the superior room and very much appreciated the gesture. The staff was fantastic...always smiling and very hospitable. The best thing about the hotel is its location. Andrassy is the main boulevard of Budapest - the hotel is right near a metro and walking distance to the Heros square. Also very easy to jump onto the hop on and hop off bus. The hotel is located on the Pest side but my friend and I walked from Buda to the hotel...did take several hours but a walk well worth doing!! You can also walk in about half an hour to the Basillica.

All in all I would recommend this hotel highly and would go back to Budapest and stay there again!!

Thank you for a lovely and memorable stay!!

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SherinaPetit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ResidenceIzabella, General Manager at Mamaison Hotel Andrassy Budapest, responded to this review, April 14, 2010
Dear Valued Guest "Shwina",
Thank you very much for taking your time to share your experience regarding your stay in Mamaison Hotel Andrassy Budapest. I am glad to see that you liked the interior design of our hotel, we are making maximum efforts for its good conditions to provide a welcoming atmosphere for our guests. I am delighted that the service our team provided exceeded your expectations, we do care about hospitality. As you mentioned Mamaison Hotel Andrassy has a great location providing easy access to all important sight of Budapest. Your walk from the Buda side must have been exhausting but I hope the view and comfort of our hotel could compensate everything.
It is great to see your stay was a memorable one and we hope we can welcome you back.
Please feel free to contact us anytime should your plans bring you to Budapest again.

With kind regards,

Kinga ENGELBRECHT - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Level 6 Contributor
103 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed March 30, 2010

My stay was a brief one but still fully relaxing and enjoyable. I rely liked the room and I found the bed particularly comfortable. The front desk clerk patiently helped me with somewhat complicated transport arrangements for the next morning (and all worked out perfectly). After a good night sleep I enjoyed breakfast which is served in the dinning room of a classy restaurant (opened in the evenings). Although my stay was totally enjoyable and hotel facilities were very nice I missed a bit some a “wow!” effect I had experienced before in other hotels belonging to the Small Luxury Hotel scheme.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PrincePolo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ResidenceIzabella, General Manager at Mamaison Hotel Andrassy Budapest, responded to this review, April 14, 2010
Dear Valued Guest "PrincePolo",

Thank you very much for posting your kind comments regarding your stay in Mamaison Hotel Andrassy Budapest. I am glad to see that your stay with us was comfortable and relaxing and that our bed could provide an excellent sleep. It is my pleasure to see that the service provided by our front desk exceeded your expectations and we could find the best solution for your transport arrangements.
We would be more than happy to welcome you back should you visit Budapest again.

With kind regards,

Kinga ENGELBRECHT - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
98 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed March 30, 2010

Very impressive hotel, clean, spacious, Good bath. They use White Company for showering and bath - a standard Four stars hotel will do it.

Although , not many choices for room services, better to prepare some food if you need. ( Hot sandwich only after 12)

Do prepare more clothes and warm shoes, it is cold in Budapest around xmas time.

Highly recommended!

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Travelling_Pig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ResidenceIzabella, General Manager at Mamaison Hotel Andrassy Budapest, responded to this review, April 14, 2010
Dear Valued Guest "Travelling_Pig",

Thank you very much for taking your time to share your experience regarding your stay in Mamaison Hotel Andrassy Budapest. We do appreciate your kind recommendation. It is my pleasure to see that you were satisfied with our hotel services and that you liked our amenities.
It would be our pleasure to welcome you back anytime, most hopefully better weather conditions will make your stay with us more comfortable.

With kind regards,

Kinga ENGELBRECHT - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield
Level 4 Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed March 9, 2010

I spent 4 nights here on a business trip in Feb 2010 and was really impressed. The room was extremely spacious and scrupulously clean, with a lovely bathroom. The staff were really lovely, very polite and willing to bend over backwards to help with any needs, from selling tickets for the nearby Széchenyi Bath and the Metro, to booking taxis and printing out boarding passes. The hotel restaurant provided a good meal, if a little on the expensive side. It was a great venue for a business trip as there are good conference facilities available in the hotel as well as across the street at the Kogart Foundation, where part of our meeting was held. The hotel is within a short walk of Heroes' Square and the Metro so is conveniently located for a number of purposes. I'd jump at the opportunity to return for a leisure trip with my family at some point.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jmarti43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ResidenceIzabella, General Manager at Mamaison Hotel Andrassy Budapest, responded to this review, April 14, 2010
Dear Valued Guest "jmarti43",

Thank you very much for taking your time sharing your kind comments regarding your stay in Mamaison Hotel Andrassy Budapest. I am glad to see how our hotel impressed you. It is also great to see that you found our room nice and comfortable. I am pleased that our staff did our best to exceed your expectations to make your stay as comfortable as possible. As you mentioned Mamaison Hotel Andrassy Budapest offers high quality conference facilities and it is nice to see that you are satisfied with our service.
We would be more than happy to welcome you back anytime, please feel free to contact us if we could be at your assistance organizing your next visit to Budapest.

With kind regards,

Kinga ENGELBRECHT - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Budapest hotels
Bo18 Hotel Superior
#21 of 334 in Budapest
1,300 reviews
Fraser Residence Budapest
#19 of 334 in Budapest
1,148 reviews
District V / Inner City
Bohem Art Hotel
Bohem Art Hotel
#13 of 334 in Budapest
2,403 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
District VII / Jewish Quarter
Bo33 Hotel Family & Suites
Bo33 Hotel Family & Suites
#12 of 334 in Budapest
639 reviews
District VII / Jewish Quarter
Continental Hotel Budapest
Continental Hotel Budapest
#40 of 334 in Budapest
4,277 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mamaison Hotel Andrassy Budapest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mamaison Hotel Andrassy Budapest

Property: Mamaison Hotel Andrassy Budapest
Address: Andrassy ut 111., Budapest 1062, Hungary
Phone Number:
Location: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#19 Family Hotel in Budapest
#19 Romantic Hotel in Budapest
#22 Luxury Hotel in Budapest
#26 Business Hotel in Budapest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Mamaison Hotel Andrassy Budapest 4*
Number of rooms: 68
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of the most exclusive Budapest boutique hotels, the luxury Mamaison Hotel Andrassy is conveniently close to the city's business, governmental and tourist districts. Uniquely designed in Bauhaus style, it offers superior accommodation in Budapest and genuine service. Located in the exclusive Embassy neighborhood, just off Budapest's Andrássy Avenue, the hotel was originally built in 1937 and reached its boasting contemporary interior design after several complete refurbishment programs. With excellent in-house dining and top-class hospitality our hotel serves as a perfect Budapest city base. For concerts, performances and other programs & events in Budapest we recommend our partner GoToHungary. Mamaison Hotel Andrassy boasts 61 rooms, 7 suites (20-70sqm), 24-hour front desk, multi-lingual staff, Complimentary Wi-Fi, La Perle Noire Restaurant and Lounge, Gourmet breakfast, Room Service, In-Room movies, Exclusive business facilities, Large-scale meeting facilities, Parking spaces. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mamaison Hotel Andrassy Budapest reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Mamaison Andrassy
Mamaison Andrassy Budapest

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing