We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“An amazing hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Mamaison Hotel Andrassy Budapest
Ranked #20 of 342 Hotels in Budapest
Certificate of Excellence
Bratislava, Slovakia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“An amazing hotel”
Reviewed April 23, 2013

An amazing hotel that fully deserves the highest rating. Friendly & smiling staff, check-in/check-out went smoothly and quickly. Art deco building, clean room and comfortable bed, the true upscale hotel. The room felt a bit warm so we kept the AC running first night and second night we kept the window open.
Located on the historic Andrassy street, close to Hero Square (two major galleries, park & szechenyi thermal spa), but off the noisy downtown. A pleasant 15 minutes walk on the tree lined boulevard to the Oktogon - Opera neighborhood with a number of cafes, bars and restaurants or a short ride by metro to the downtown. We spent one late evening at the balcony (accessed trough the bathroom?!) with a bottle of Hungarian red wine :). The breakfast was expensive and we wanted to go out to the city so we opted for breakfast in some of Budapest numerous cafes.
Tip: Definitely, ask for the room with a balcony.

Room Tip: Definitely, ask for the room with a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Peter B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gergo_Franciscy, Manager at Mamaison Hotel Andrassy Budapest, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
Dear Valued Guest "peterba1",

Thank you very much for your feedback and for taking the time to share your comments with us and other readers.
We are more than pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay at Mamaison Hotel Andrássy Budapest – especially that your were pleased with the location of our hotel and that you liked the style of your room.
We are also happy that you were satisfied with our team as well.
We do hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back at Mamaison Hotel Andrássy Budapest in the near future.

Yours sincerely,

Gergő FRANCISCY
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,276 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    823
    398
    41
    11
    3
See reviews for
134
643
68
138
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (133)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Luxembourg City, Luxembourg
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 16, 2013

Great for business and for pleasure. Extremely high level of customer service (I got sick and my room was easily extended). The rooms are extremely modern and better than most of the other business hotels in Budapest. And lastly very good value.

Paul

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Paul T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gergo_Franciscy, Manager at Mamaison Hotel Andrassy Budapest, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
Dear Valued Guest "Paul T",

Thank you very much for the throughout positive feedback you provided us with. We were very happy to hear that you were so much pleased with the standard and level of hospitality you experienced in our hotel during your stay.
We sincerely hope to see you back at Mamaison Hotel Andrássy Budapest in the near future.

Yours sincerely,

Gergő FRANCISCY
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex.
Level Contributor
159 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
Reviewed April 15, 2013

Located a few minutes from the metro and 5 minutes walk from Heros Square and 10 minutes from the 'Octagon' (big crossroads) I would consider this hotel perfectly placed for a weekend break.

Good bits
Location (small walk either direction to metro or main tourist locations)
Rooms
Service
Beds

Bad bits
quite hot in corridors and bedrooms (needed to have window / door left open all night)
Shower head a bit cheap and nasty and the shower design means that water sprays out the bath or on the window sill

Room Tip: most seem similar - road doesnt seem too noisy when we were here
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank James B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gergo_Franciscy, Manager at Mamaison Hotel Andrassy Budapest, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
Dear Valued Guest "James B",

Thank you for choosing Mamaison Hotel Andrássy Budapest for your stay.
We honestly appreciate your comments regarding our hotel and the favourable location in the business district.
We are also very happy about the fact, that you liked the style of our rooms and the comfort of our beds.

We sincerely hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back in the near future.

Yours sincerely,

Gergő FRANCISCY
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poulton Le Fylde, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2013

A short walk from the metro which takes you into the centre of Budapest and a ten minute walk to the city park and Heroes Square. The staff where extremely helpful and welcoming they sorted out the metro tickets for us and gave advise on when and where to get off to see the main sights.
All in all a fabulous few days in an exclusive hotel.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank denisegj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gergo_Franciscy, Manager at Mamaison Hotel Andrassy Budapest, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
Dear Guest "denidegj",

Thank you very much for the throughout positive feedback you provided us with. We were very happy to hear that you were so much pleased with the standard and level of hospitality you experienced in our hotel during your stay.
We sincerely hope to see you back at Mamaison Hotel Andrássy Budapest in the near future.

With kind regards,

Gergő FRANCISCY
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2013

Stayed in March still snow on the ground, and very cold. However this did not spoil our weekend as we ventured out and saw a lot of Budapest. The Hotel was Lovely with a nice big warm room, Plenty of hot running water in Shower with nice snuggly dressing gowns to wrap up in.
Breakfast went on until 10-30am, and even if you arrived late, there was plenty to eat.
The Hotel itself is close to Heroes Square but a good 20 minute walk from town, bars, eateries etc. No currency exchange in hotel so you had to find exchange beaureau's in town which were only open until 6pm in evenings. We arrived to late to exchange English pounds or Euroes which we had, only to find nowhere would accept either. Hungarian Huffs only.
We saw Bus tours advertised throughout Budapest and chose the Green Bus Tours, which was excellent with 15 drop off points throughout all main sites. However we bought our Tour tickets from Hotel without realising you have to pay a charge on them. ( if you buy them from their Bus Stops you can actually buy them for 5000 Huffs instead of 6000 Huffs plus holding charge in Hotel).
The Bus tours finish around 6pm so we caught a taxi half way back to the Hotel where we were charged £15.00 for the privledge. never again, everyone was moaning about taxi fares.
Hotel Staff were exceptional and could not do enough for you. They all spoke perfect English and always greeted you with a smile.
Budapest is such a lovely place and totally different to what you would expect. A boat trip on the Danube is a must and we would love to go back at sometime and would recommend this Hotel.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank susan p p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gergo_Franciscy, Manager at Mamaison Hotel Andrassy Budapest, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
Dear Guest "susan p p",

Thank you very much for your feedback and for taking the time to share your comments with us and other readers.
We are more than pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay at Mamaison Hotel Andrássy Budapest – especially that your were pleased with the location of our hotel and that you liked the style of your room.
We also appreciate your comments concerning the city tour experince.
We do hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back at Mamaison Hotel Andrássy Budapest in the near future.

Yours sincerely,

Gergő FRANCISCY
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
61 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2013

Simple clean lines, nice spacious rooms, and located in a nice part of the city away from the crowded areas. We could park our car easily and enjoyed our stay here. The lobby is minimalist and you can tell it is a property which has been converted into a hotel with a lot of care. Good quality of material. The staff are friendly , informed and helpful.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kapurkk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gergo_Franciscy, Manager at Mamaison Hotel Andrassy Budapest, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
Dear Guest "kapurkk",

Thank you very much for the throughout positive feedback you provided us with. We were very happy to hear that you were satisfied with the standard and level of high- quality service provided in the hotel.
It was nice to read that you were satisfied with the English skills of our staff.

We sincerely hope to see you back at Mamaison Hotel Andrássy Budapest in the near future.

Yours sincerely,

Gergő FRANCISCY
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed March 29, 2013

The good news is, the rooms are clean (even if they are tiny).

The bad news is, the staff is awful. When we arrived, it was 85 degrees farenheit in the hotel, although it was 30 degrees outside. The rooms were like saunas and nothing could be done until the next day when the engineer came in because apparently they don't have engineers on duty after normal business hours. Even sleeping with the windows wide open did not reduce the stifling heat.

The next day, we came down for breakfast, which is served until 10am and were kicked out promptly at 10:15 with no apology or regard for how rude that was. They needed to clean, so we were not allowed to finish eating.

Since the only food option in the hotel is grossly overpriced with medicore food, we asked about the restaurant across the street. We were told it was very good and that we did not need a reservation and that it is recommended for dinner. Except, the restaurant across the street closes at 3pm and does not serve dinner, so we were left to take a cab to another establishment. The hotel offered to call us a "taxi" and have it charged to our room.... but it turned out to be a car service at twice the cost of a normal taxi and we were given no other option but to pay for it as they had already hired him. We hailed a regular taxi for the ride back, which was less than half the price.

Our group was given free wireless internet access, which I was having trouble with. I plugged in the cable in the room and was presented with a charge. Called the front desk and explained this, to which they responded "do not worry sir, internet is included and the charge will not appear on your bill." Guess what? The charge appeared on my bill.

Asked for late night food recommendations and was told the only option was a delivery service they work with. I asked what the name of the restaurant was and they said it was not a restaurant but their personal delivery service and that the food would be billed to my room. Every item I ordered was completely wrong. I looked at it immediately and gave it right back to the gentleman at the front desk who replied "i'm sorry sir, it is not my fault, it is the woman who made it." Hotel refused to take the meal off my bill.

This place is arrogant, rude and refuses to take responsibility for the terrible service they are providing. Stay at your own risk.

Room Tip: Get a room with a balcony or you will be staying in a closet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GrumpyTravelGuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gergo_Franciscy, Manager at Mamaison Hotel Andrassy Budapest, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
Dear Guest "GrumpyTravelGuy"

I was concerned to read about your experience with your guest room and service regarding your stay.

Your comments have been discussed and our team is doing its best to prevent that problem in the future. I know that does not change your experience but I hope that you can feel confident that we heard your concern and are definitely doing something about it.

Thank you again for your feedback. We truly appreciate knowing that our guest’s have been well served so we can celebrate our success and work towards even better service in the future. We look forward to your return when you are in the area again.

Sincerely,

Gergő FRANCISCY
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Budapest hotels
Hotel Palazzo Zichy
#4 of 342 in Budapest
4,588 reviews
District V / Inner City
Aria Hotel Budapest by Library Hotel Collection
Fraser Residence Budapest
#14 of 342 in Budapest
1,101 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
District VII / Jewish Quarter
Continental Hotel Budapest
Continental Hotel Budapest
#39 of 342 in Budapest
4,156 reviews
District V / Inner City
Hotel Parlament
Hotel Parlament
#6 of 342 in Budapest
2,104 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mamaison Hotel Andrassy Budapest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mamaison Hotel Andrassy Budapest

Property: Mamaison Hotel Andrassy Budapest
Address: Andrassy ut 111., Budapest 1062, Hungary
Phone Number:
Location: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#18 Luxury Hotel in Budapest
#19 Romantic Hotel in Budapest
#19 Family Hotel in Budapest
#26 Business Hotel in Budapest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Mamaison Hotel Andrassy Budapest 4*
Number of rooms: 68
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of the most exclusive Budapest boutique hotels, the luxury Mamaison Hotel Andrassy is conveniently close to the city's business, governmental and tourist districts. Uniquely designed in Bauhaus style, it offers superior accommodation in Budapest and genuine service. Located in the exclusive Embassy neighborhood, just off Budapest's Andrássy Avenue, the hotel was originally built in 1937 and reached its boasting contemporary interior design after several complete refurbishment programs. With excellent in-house dining and top-class hospitality our hotel serves as a perfect Budapest city base. For concerts, performances and other programs & events in Budapest we recommend our partner GoToHungary. Mamaison Hotel Andrassy boasts 61 rooms, 7 suites (20-70sqm), 24-hour front desk, multi-lingual staff, Complimentary Wi-Fi, La Perle Noire Restaurant and Lounge, Gourmet breakfast, Room Service, In-Room movies, Exclusive business facilities, Large-scale meeting facilities, Parking spaces. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Agoda, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mamaison Hotel Andrassy Budapest reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Mamaison Andrassy
Mamaison Andrassy Budapest

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing