We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Interesting City Break”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Mamaison Hotel Andrassy Budapest
Ranked #25 of 333 Hotels in Budapest
Certificate of Excellence
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Interesting City Break”
Reviewed March 18, 2013

Rather Soviet Block style externally though refurbished internally to a high standard. Very pleasant and helpful staff and a very comfortable, well equipped room, including a room safe. The only comment here is that tea and coffee making facilities would be a great addition, as would a free English Language TV channel. Situated in a very elegant suburb (The Embassy zone, in fact) only just off Andrassy Ut. but only 100 yards from Bajza Utca Metro stop. 10 minutes and 7 stops down the line and one is in the centre of Pest, 75 yards from the banks of the Danube. We also found a bonus here (Info from the obliging Hotel reception staff) in that if one is over 65 years old and a citizen of the EU then you can travel free on the Metro, buses, trams and entry into some museums. Just show a photo copy of your passport to ticket collectors or museum attendants. Mamaison Andrassy hotel restaurant was of very high standard although one has to pay for this accordingly. Despite adverse comments seen from past reviews, the breakfast was very good, although overpriced if paid for separately, and not included in the room price as ours was. Budapest provided a very good experience of a central European city atmosphere with it's magnificent buildings and incredible number of statues to be seen everywhere. The City had a young lively feel about it, very friendly and with some wonderful coffee houses and wine bars, often in amazingly ornate baroque surroundings. Apart from the weather, which included rain, sleet & snow and freezing conditions, it made a very pleasant 4 nights stay.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the side street will be less liable to traffic noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jack B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gergo_Franciscy, Manager at Mamaison Hotel Andrassy Budapest, responded to this review, March 22, 2013
Dear Guest "Jack B",

Thank you for choosing Mamaison Hotel Andrássy Budapest for your stay.
We honestly appreciate your comments regarding our hotel and the favourable location in the business district.
We are also very happy about the fact, that you liked the style of our rooms and the quality of our breakfast.

We sincerely hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back in the near future.

Yours sincerely,

Gergő FRANCISCY
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,297 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    832
    408
    43
    11
    3
See reviews for
136
652
69
142
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (138)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
traveling cat
Level Contributor
312 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 137 helpful votes
Reviewed March 18, 2013

was there recently with a large group but was lucky enough to snag a single room which was quite nice even though it was next to the elevator. I was never bothered by the noise of people coming and going. the front desk staff were incredibly helpful. wasn't totally thrilled with all the breakfast choices but they were adequate. The hotel is close to Heroes Square and close enough to a metro stop to be convenient to get to other tourist places in the town. would be happy to stay there again. The only drawbacks was didn't think the bed was that comfortable the first night but must have been really tired my second night because I was out like a light. and I really didn't have enough towels but I didn't ask for more so possibly that was just my fault.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank carpefeline
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gergo_Franciscy, Manager at Mamaison Hotel Andrassy Budapest, responded to this review, March 22, 2013
Dear Guest "carpefeline",

Thank you very much for the throughout positive feedback you provided us with. We were very happy to hear that you were so much pleased with the standard and level of hospitality you experienced in our hotel during your stay.
We sincerely hope to see you back at Mamaison Hotel Andrássy Budapest in the near future.

Yours sincerely,

Gergő FRANCISCY
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed March 17, 2013

Although the hotel looks a bit dated from the outside it is really high quality inside - the rooms are spacious and they all have a safe, which was free. It also had the extra touches like dressing gowns which made it feel a bit special. They also have a nice looking bar restaurant although we didnt use it - we were out all days when we were there but they do a businessman's lunch which looked a cheaper way to try it out if you didnt want to pay the evening prices. The hotel was very well located - on Andrassy avenue you turn right for Heroes Square and the open air baths, or left for the nearest metro - if you stay on to the end of the line you get to the main tourist square and the danube. Also if you turn left , about 10 minutes walk away is the Octagon which has a TGI Fridays and what is apparently the biggest Burger King in the world! If you want a slightly less western european night out however walk a couple of minutes futher and you will find a street full of local bars and places to eat. A handy tip if you want to buy bottles water etc, there is a supermarket almost immediately behind the hotel on the street that runs parallel to Andrassy Avenue, as well as a couple of places that do breakfast. All in all the hotel was faultless and excellent value for money and I would recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank chris3oct
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gergo_Franciscy, Manager at Mamaison Hotel Andrassy Budapest, responded to this review, March 22, 2013
Dear Guest "chris3oct",

Thank you very much for your feedback and for taking the time to share your comments with us and other readers.
We honestly appreciate your comments regarding our hotel and location.
We sincerely hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back in the near future.

Yours sincerely,

Gergő FRANCISCY
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, Italy
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed March 17, 2013

The hotel is situated on Andrassy street, which is one of the nicest in the city. It's really great to wonder around on the back streets and breath the central european atmosphere. It might be a bit far from all the main restaurants on the street but no more than 10/15 min walk or you can take a metro... I actually enjoyed not being in the middle of tourists and chaos.
The staff was friendly and the room was nice, I consider it good value for money.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dobs77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gergo_Franciscy, Manager at Mamaison Hotel Andrassy Budapest, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
Dear Guest "dobs77",

Thank you very much for your feedback and for taking the time to share your comments with us and other readers.
We honestly appreciate your compliments and detailed description regarding our hotel and location.
We sincerely hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back in the near future.

Yours sincerely,

Gergő FRANCISCY
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dreux, France
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 17, 2013

A comfortable hotel in a quiet neighborhood, not too far from the main sites of Budapest. The room was quite large and well-equiped. The staff was helpful and welcoming, and even gave us information in our mother language (French). Checking in was very fast, and we enjoyed all the tourist information given by the hotel satff. We also appreciated the restaurant, with a good variety of dishes.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mgd28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gergo_Franciscy, Manager at Mamaison Hotel Andrassy Budapest, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
Dear Guest "Mgd28",

Thank you very much for your feedback and for taking the time to share your comments with us and other readers.
We are more than pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay at Mamaison Hotel Andrássy Budapest – especially that your were pleased with the location of our hotel and that you liked the style of your room. We are also happy that you were satisfied with our team as well.
We do hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back at Mamaison Hotel Andrássy Budapest in the near future.

Yours sincerely,

Gergő FRANCISCY
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ware,england
Level Contributor
61 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed March 16, 2013

A great position for exploring Budapest. Central but not at all noisy or crowded. a 2 minute walk from the excellent Metro service,but also walking distance if you prefer!! Near the famous Hero's Square. This Hotel offers a friendly knowledgeable reception staff; so your first impression is encouraging ;and with good size clean,pleasantly decorated & furnished rooms does not leave you disappointed. The breakfast in the modern restaurant was to a high standard. However the Evening food was expensive,& the portions were on the small side.Although quality of food fine. All the Bar & waiting staff spoke very good English,& went out of their way to assist. A special mention must go to the male Receptionist whose name I have wrong, but sounds like Gregor, he couldn't have been more helpful,Thank-you

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank William L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gergo_Franciscy, Manager at Mamaison Hotel Andrassy Budapest, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
Dear Guest "marianlove",

Thank you very much for the throughout positive feedback you provided us with. We were very happy to hear that you were satisfied with the standard and level of high- quality service provided in the hotel.
It was nice to read that you were satisfied with the English skills of our staff.

We sincerely hope to see you back at the Mamaison Hotel Andrássy Budapest in the near future.

Yours sincerely,

Gergő FRANCISCY
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Austria
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 15, 2013

We paid 79 € for the room per night and got what we paid for. The noise from the Andrassy road during the night enabled a good sleep only with closed windows. Very helpful service at the reception and in the breakfast room. Perfect W Lan system. We enjoyed our stay.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms toward the Andrassy Street, even thow the view is splendid.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ameliagerald
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gergo_Franciscy, Manager at Mamaison Hotel Andrassy Budapest, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
Dear Guest "Ameliagerald",

Thank you for your feedback and taking the time to post your comments on TripAdvisor.
We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us.
We also are happy about your opinion regarding the attention to details. Our staff work exceptionally hard to give every guest unforgettable moments in the heart of Budapest – we are very glad that we succeeded.
We also appreciate your remarks regarding the noise from the street. Please be assured that the raised issue is going to be discussed.

Thank you so much for staying with us and we hope to see you in the near future.

Yours sincerely,

Gergő FRANCISCY
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Budapest hotels
Fraser Residence Budapest
#18 of 333 in Budapest
1,143 reviews
Bo18 Hotel Superior
#21 of 333 in Budapest
1,292 reviews
District V / Inner City
Bohem Art Hotel
Bohem Art Hotel
#15 of 333 in Budapest
2,388 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
District VII / Jewish Quarter
Bo33 Hotel Family & Suites
Bo33 Hotel Family & Suites
#14 of 333 in Budapest
625 reviews
District VII / Jewish Quarter
Continental Hotel Budapest
Continental Hotel Budapest
#39 of 333 in Budapest
4,238 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mamaison Hotel Andrassy Budapest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mamaison Hotel Andrassy Budapest

Property: Mamaison Hotel Andrassy Budapest
Address: Andrassy ut 111., Budapest 1062, Hungary
Phone Number:
Location: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#19 Family Hotel in Budapest
#19 Romantic Hotel in Budapest
#22 Luxury Hotel in Budapest
#26 Business Hotel in Budapest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Mamaison Hotel Andrassy Budapest 4*
Number of rooms: 68
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of the most exclusive Budapest boutique hotels, the luxury Mamaison Hotel Andrassy is conveniently close to the city's business, governmental and tourist districts. Uniquely designed in Bauhaus style, it offers superior accommodation in Budapest and genuine service. Located in the exclusive Embassy neighborhood, just off Budapest's Andrássy Avenue, the hotel was originally built in 1937 and reached its boasting contemporary interior design after several complete refurbishment programs. With excellent in-house dining and top-class hospitality our hotel serves as a perfect Budapest city base. For concerts, performances and other programs & events in Budapest we recommend our partner GoToHungary. Mamaison Hotel Andrassy boasts 61 rooms, 7 suites (20-70sqm), 24-hour front desk, multi-lingual staff, Complimentary Wi-Fi, La Perle Noire Restaurant and Lounge, Gourmet breakfast, Room Service, In-Room movies, Exclusive business facilities, Large-scale meeting facilities, Parking spaces. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Mamaison Hotel Andrassy Budapest reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Mamaison Andrassy
Mamaison Andrassy Budapest

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing