We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Late Christmas Break” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mamaison Hotel Andrassy Budapest

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Mamaison Hotel Andrassy Budapest
Ranked #17 of 337 Hotels in Budapest
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Late Christmas Break”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

An excellent hotel with charming, helpful staff and excellent breakfast and rooms
Well situated for Heroes Square/Museums and metro stop
A hop and a skip, either walking or by metro to the Blue Danube and Buda

Room Tip: Third floor room seems good, central heating a tad too hot
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank highgate_17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gergo_Franciscy, Manager at Mamaison Hotel Andrassy Budapest, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
Dear Valued Guest "highgate_17",

Thank you very much for the throughout positive feedback you provided us with. We were very happy to hear that you were so much pleased with the standard and level of hospitality you experienced in our hotel during your stay.
We sincerely hope to see you back at Mamaison Hotel Andrássy Budapest in the near future.

Yours sincerely,

Gergő FRANCISCY
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,185 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    773
    364
    34
    11
    3
See reviews for
122
596
64
124
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (127)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dereham, Norfolk
Level Contributor
23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

The hotel itself is very good in a good location.
We were on a short sightseeing trip to Budapest. We arrived about 2pm, reception staff very friendly and extremely helpful, although we were not offered a baggage service. We were offered a glass of campagne which went down really well after out journey from Norfolk.
The room was really good and very clean, it was extremely warm, the heating temperature was not adjustable, we just opened the balcony door, however it was snowing.
On the first night we wanted to eat in the hotel rstaurant, we were told by the reception staff that we had to eat before 6pm as they had a private party booked for the rest of the evening, this meant we couldn't use the bar either.
We had to go out to eat as 6pm was a bit early for us.
The next night we went back to the hotel bar about 10pm for drinks, we were the only ones in the bar, we ordered a bottle of wine and some beer which was fine. The down side was that the bar staff stood staring at us all the time, we felt very unwelcome in the bar so we took our drinks to the reception area and sat on the sofas to end our evening.
Breakfast is good with a limited choice.
Overall the hotel was very nice but let down by private party takeing priority over hotel guests and the bored bar staff on our 2nd night.
this was a Travel zoo package so it was good value.

Room Tip: We stayed in deluxe king room with balcony really nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dereham_NorfolkSue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gergo_Franciscy, Manager at Mamaison Hotel Andrassy Budapest, responded to this review, March 11, 2013
Dear Valued Guest "Dereham_NorfolkSue " ,

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments and sharing your experience with us and other readers. It is always a great pleasure to receive positive feedback from our guests and we are especially proud about your satisfaction with our reception staff.

However we are concerned to hear your remarks about our Restaurant staff. Please rest assured that the Managers in charge have been informed and that we are taking the appropriate measures to discuss and solve the raised issues.

Thank you again for your feedback and we hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back soon at Mamaison Hotel Andrássy Budapest.

Best regards,

Gergő FRANCISCY
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newlyn
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

We had stayed in Budapest twice before, and had noticed the marvellous situation of Hotel Andrassy - it's on beautiful Andrassy ut and close to a metro station, thus perfectly placed for easy access to the city or to the Varosliget Park and Szechenyi baths. The M1 metro line is efficient, easy to use, and takes you almost to the river's edge.

Andrassy Hotel staff clearly enjoyed looking after their guests. They were bright, cheerful people, speaking perfect English (and probably perfect German and French too, though we didn't test them). Rooms were spacious and well-equipped, with good beds. We couldn't fault it - it was all we'd hoped it would be. Roll on the next visit!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Piers66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gergo_Franciscy, Manager at Mamaison Hotel Andrassy Budapest, responded to this review, March 11, 2013
Dear Valued Guest "Piers66" ,

Thank you very much for the throughout positive feedback you provided us with. We were very happy to hear that you were satisfied with the standard and level of high- quality service provided in the hotel.
It was nice to read that you were satisfied with the English skills of our staff.

We sincerely hope to see you back at Sofitel Budapest in the near future.

Yours sincerely,

Gergő FRANCISCY
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sevenoaks, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

We were impressed by the room which was spacious and the helpful staff who were very accommodating. I asked for a real pillow and was given one immediately. The room was hot but we slept with a window open so no problem! Close to the city centre and interesting sites.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank spurs150
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gergo_Franciscy, Manager at Mamaison Hotel Andrassy Budapest, responded to this review, February 27, 2013
Dear Valued Guest "spurs150",

Thank you very much for the throughout positive feedback you provided us with. We were very happy to hear that you were satisfied with the standard and level of high- quality service provided in the hotel.

We sincerely hope to see you back at Mamaison Hotel Andrássy Budapest in the near future.

Yours sincerely,

Gergő FRANCISCY
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow
Level Contributor
29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

The hotel is really excellent for such money. Wifi extremely fast. Rooms are clean. Parking 16€ right under the hotel. Prices for everything are extremely cheap so as in the whole city. Taxi, restaurant almost free. I ve arrived at 11 am but check in time was 2 pm. Absolutely free without any additional paymentI ve got my room in 3 minutes. Thanks for that. Everything you need was in the room.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dim S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gergo_Franciscy, Manager at Mamaison Hotel Andrassy Budapest, responded to this review, February 27, 2013
Dear Valued Guest "Dim S",

Thank you very much for your positive feedback and for taking the time to share your comments with us and other readers. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your holiday at Mamaison Hotel Andrássy Budapest. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back at our hotel very soon.

Your sincerely,
Gergő FRANCISCY
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Broadstairs, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
95 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

Everything about the hotel and service was great except.......tired on our arrival we chose to eat at hotel restaurant- we paid an exorbitant £55 for one course !!! It was a minute portion which for a very tall couple was not nearly enough. Don't be caught like we were ! Apart from that 'mistake' can't fault it for venue and place close to city centre. We walked everyday which is tough- metro and trams are great alternative. Stunning city :)

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Shazzy62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gergo_Franciscy, Manager at Mamaison Hotel Andrassy Budapest, responded to this review, February 25, 2013
Dear Valued Guest “Shazzy62”,
Thank you very much for taking time providing a review of the Mamaison Hotel Andrássy Budapest!

Our staff is delighted that you enjoyed their service. It is our pleasure to do our best for your comfort.
I am very sorry that restaurant services did not meet your expectations. We are always trying to improve ourselves so thank you very much for your feedback again.However the restauarnt is an Asian gourmet restauarant, which focuses on delicious selection of the freshest ingredients and richest flavours and we offer the Hungarian menu, which is a touristic friendly 3-course menu.
I hope that we can welcome you in the future again and we can provide you with a much better service and experience.

Best regards,

Gergő FRANCISCY
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cliffe Woods, Kent
Level Contributor
234 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

This was our first visit to Budapest and we did not know what to expect. Through the hotel we had booked a car to meet us at the airport which was on time and the drive was just under 30 minutes. The hotel is well decorated and furnished with very helpful and polite staff. Our room on the third floor was excellent and the bed mattress and pillows possibly the comfiest I have ever slept on. The htel was always warm but not overly so as some experienced. The only criticism would be the lack of coffee and tea facilities in the room though I understand that this is being addressed. The breakfast which was included in our package was excellent and set us up for the day. Special mention must be made of the scrambled egg- 11 out of 10. On our first evening having arrived late we ate in the Baraka Restuarant. The meal was very good but a tad expensive - no complaints but no wow factor either. There is little noise in or around the hotel and we slept really well. Some of the buildings around the hotel are in need of some attention but this did not detract from the stay. For evening access to the main city area we would recommend the metro which is close by and tickets are available at the hotel reception. We felt safe throughout our stay and would totally recommend Budapest the Hotel for your stay.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MartinG_53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gergo_Franciscy, Manager at Mamaison Hotel Andrassy Budapest, responded to this review, February 25, 2013
Dear Valued Guest “Martin G53”,
Thank you very much for taking time providing a review of the Mamaison Hotel Andrássy Budapest!
I am glad to see that you found our location ideal and I hope it helped you to discover Budapest without exhausting.I am also delighted to see that you are satisfied with the service our staff provides.We do appreciate your recommendations.
It would be our pleasure to welcome you back anytime, should your plans bring you to Budapest again.

Best regards,

Gergő FRANCISCY
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Budapest hotels
Hotel Palazzo Zichy
#5 of 337 in Budapest
5.0 of 5 stars 4,249 reviews
District V / Inner City
Aria Hotel Budapest
Aria Hotel Budapest
#1 of 337 in Budapest
5.0 of 5 stars 551 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Andrássy út
Hotel Moments Budapest
Hotel Moments Budapest
#2 of 337 in Budapest
5.0 of 5 stars 386 reviews
District V / Inner City
Bohem Art Hotel
Bohem Art Hotel
#12 of 337 in Budapest
4.5 of 5 stars 2,153 reviews
District VII / Jewish Quarter
Bo33 Hotel Family & Suites
Bo33 Hotel Family & Suites
#13 of 337 in Budapest
4.5 of 5 stars 419 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mamaison Hotel Andrassy Budapest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mamaison Hotel Andrassy Budapest

Property: Mamaison Hotel Andrassy Budapest
Address: Andrassy ut 111., Budapest 1062, Hungary
Location: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#15 Luxury Hotel in Budapest
#19 Romantic Hotel in Budapest
#19 Family Hotel in Budapest
#26 Business Hotel in Budapest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Mamaison Hotel Andrassy Budapest 4*
Number of rooms: 68
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of the most exclusive Budapest boutique hotels, the luxury Mamaison Hotel Andrassy is conveniently close to the city's business, governmental and tourist districts. Uniquely designed in Bauhaus style, it offers superior accommodation in Budapest and genuine service. Located in the exclusive Embassy neighborhood, just off Budapest's Andrássy Avenue, the hotel was originally built in 1937 and reached its boasting contemporary interior design after several complete refurbishment programs. With excellent in-house dining and top-class hospitality our hotel serves as a perfect Budapest city base. For concerts, performances and other programs & events in Budapest we recommend our partner GoToHungary. Mamaison Hotel Andrassy boasts 61 rooms, 7 suites (20-70sqm), 24-hour front desk, multi-lingual staff, Complimentary Wi-Fi, La Perle Noire Restaurant and Lounge, Gourmet breakfast, Room Service, In-Room movies, Exclusive business facilities, Large-scale meeting facilities, Parking spaces. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Travelocity and Cancelon so you can book your Mamaison Hotel Andrassy Budapest reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Mamaison Andrassy
Mamaison Andrassy Budapest

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing