We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top hotel for £££££”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Mamaison Hotel Andrassy Budapest
Ranked #25 of 333 Hotels in Budapest
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 30, 2012

All you really need for exploring this wonderful city. Clean and good service but restaurents a little overpriced. Rite beside hero square and a metro stop rite outside hotel. We were upgraded to a better room on arrival which was very nice as it was late when we arrived.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank neilcomiskey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gergo_Franciscy, Manager at Mamaison Hotel Andrassy Budapest, responded to this reviewResponded January 7, 2013

Dear Valued Guest “neilcomiskey”,

Thank you so much for your fantastic review about your stay in Mamaison Hotel Andrássy Budapest.
It was a pleasure to read how much you enjoyed every minute of your stay.

We really appreciate your comments and we hope that we will have an opportunity to demonstrate even more excellent service from all our staff by your next visit.

Best regards,

Gergő FRANCISCY
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,335)
There are newer reviews for Mamaison Hotel Andrassy Budapest
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

474 - 480 of 1,335 reviews

Reviewed December 19, 2012

First impressions of this hotel were beyond our expectations. A very friendly welcome quite late in the evening. We were given a room upgrade; our room was superb in every way - top 4 star for a 3 star price - and the location has to be one of the best in Budapest.
The problem came when we decided to have a drink at the bar. The bartender treated us as though we were aliens from another planet. Unfriendly would be an understatement. I asked what different beers were available - he grunted and pointed to a bar-list. After a 10 minute wait during which time he served some other guests in the lounge who had arrived after us, he came to take the order but I had to tell him that he'd given me the wine list where no beers were listed. He then decided to tell me which beers were available and I was duly served. We did not re-visit the bar during our 4 day stay.
Breakfast was very good with very helpful staff but too expensive relative to the hotel room rates and content of the buffet.
The other unpleasantness with staff was when we returned one day from an excursion. We walked past Reception on the way to the elevator and the man at Reception called out "What do you want" in a rather aggressive tone - as opposed to "Good Afternoon" or maybe "How can I help you?" I replied: " I have a room here, is that OK with you?" He just scowled at me!
At all other times, the ladies at Reception were very courteous, friendly and helpful.
Overall, a superb hotel and our visit was unfortunately marred by a couple of unprofessional staff, perhaps disgruntled employees.
By the way, we do not look like aliens from another planet - in fact, I would say we are relatively normal!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jeffrey_Switzerland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gergo_Franciscy, Manager at Mamaison Hotel Andrassy Budapest, responded to this reviewResponded December 27, 2012

Dear Valued Guest „Jeffrey_Switzerland”,

Thank you very much for your positive feedback and for taking the time to share your comments with us and other readers. I appreciate your comments regarding your experience concerning the behaviour of some staff members.Please be assured that the raised issue is going to be shared and discussed with the Management.
Again, thank you for your feedback, which will help us in all ongoing efforts to improve our service.
I do hope so that I can welcome you at Mamasion Hotel Andrássy Budapest in the near future.

Best regards,
Gergő FRANCISCY
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 18, 2012

We stayed at the Andrassy for my birthday trip, organised and chosen by my partner and it was wonderful from the moment we arrived, to the moment we left. The staff could not do enough for us (and we required much guidance). They provided umbrella’s when it was snowing (their suggestion) and booked our taxi's, chased our transfers and brought travel adapters, etc, up to the room on request.
The hotels location is excellent, as it's a 7 minute metro ride or a 20-30 minute walk/stroll to the main part of town. in the other direction, it's only a 5 minute walk to Heroes’ square and the Szechenyi spa (which was a lovely experience - especially with the couples massage).
My partner had pre-arranged a champagne breakfast on the morning of my birthday and it was promptly brought to the room. They kitchen adapted the menu, so that I could have ham and scrambled eggs (which was not usually an option) and even when we had to complain about a couple of small issues, the operations manager met our complaint with a genuine apology and satisfactorily resolved the issue, even passing on a little present for my birthday!
I cannot fault a thing about our stay in Hungary or at the Andrassy Hotel and we hope to return again in the Spring.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Danni B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gergo_Franciscy, Manager at Mamaison Hotel Andrassy Budapest, responded to this reviewResponded December 27, 2012

Dear Valued Guest "Danni B",

Thank you very much for the throughout positive feedback you provided us with. We were very happy to hear that you were satisfied with the standard and level of high- quality service provided in the hotel.
It was nice to read that you were satisfied with location and style of our hotel.

We sincerely hope to see you back at Mamaison Hotel Andrássy Budapest in the near future.

Yours sincerely,

Gergő FRANCISCY
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 17, 2012

We spent 3 nights in this lovely hotel last week while visiting the Christmas Markets in Budapest.
The welcome was warm and they gave us a complimentary upgrade to a deluxe room on the 4th floor....with a balcony that overlooked Andrassy Avenue. The room was large, comfortable,warm and nicely furnished.Safe provided free of charge. Good lighting and a large bathroom with bath and shower.. My only complaint was (and often is in hotels) that the hairdryer provided
was rubbish.... I always take my own but to be honest it would be so good not to have to!
Beds were really comfortable..although we walked so much we would have slept ok anywhere!!
The position of the hotel is quiet so no noise problems.
Staff were very helpful giving us maps and general information.
The hotel is a 3 minute walk to a Metro station and from there it is 7 stops to the main Christmas Market and shopping streets. A single journey costs approx. £1.
We were within easy walking distance of Heroes Square and across from the square was the outdoor Ice Skating rink, which was being well used.
The hotel arranged transfer to and from Airport at a reasonable cost... we arrived into Budapest at 11pm so didn't want any hassle!
The hotel is on a beautiful avenue surrounded by Embassies and upmarket houses.
We would definately stay here again if in Budapest.
We didn't eat in the hotel so cannot comment about the food although we did have a drink in the bar which was usual hotel bar prices.
Overall we found Budapest to be good value for money and the Christmas markets were excellent.

Room Tip: Top floor was nice and balcony would be lovely in summer.
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jollyjoyce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gergo_Franciscy, Manager at Mamaison Hotel Andrassy Budapest, responded to this reviewResponded December 27, 2012

Dear Valued Guest "jollyjoyce",

Thank you very much for the throughout positive feedback you provided us with. We were very happy to hear that you were so much pleased with the standard and level of hospitality you experienced in our hotel during your stay.
I will investigate the quality of our hairdriers and inform the Management about the your comments.
We sincerely hope to see you back at Mamaison Hotel Andrássy Budapest in the near future.

Yours sincerely,

Gergő FRANCISCY
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 16, 2012 via mobile

Lovely hotel with modern reception and bar area. Location is great for the metro and hero's square. The staff speak English and are very helpful.

For me, the hotel is a 4 star (just my opinion) but don't let this put you off because for the price, you won't find anywhere better for service, location and decor.

Thank ChrisAnderson1006
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Gergo_Franciscy, Manager at Mamaison Hotel Andrassy Budapest, responded to this reviewResponded December 17, 2012

Dear Valued Guest "ChrisAnderson1006",

Thank you for your feedback and taking the time to post your comments. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed the hospitality of our staff and the location of the hotel.

Again, thank you for your feedback, which will help us in all ongoing efforts to improve our service.

Yours sincerely,

Gergő FRANCISCY
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed December 14, 2012

Very Enjoyable stay. Excellent location for a weekend break! Clean and comfortable, i had no issues at all. i hope to return soon to Budapest as we had a fantastic time and met some great people. The people we encountered were friendly and approachable. We found that most peoples English was very good so we didn't have any problems communicating. Once again a great place..

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Simon K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gergo_Franciscy, Manager at Mamaison Hotel Andrassy Budapest, responded to this reviewResponded December 27, 2012

Dear Valued Guest "Simon K",

Thank you very much for the throughout positive feedback you provided us with. We were very happy to hear that you were satisfied with the standard and level of high- quality service provided in the hotel.
It was nice to read that you were satisfied with the English skills of our staff.

We sincerely hope to see you back at Mamaison Hotel Andrássy Budapest in the near future.

Yours sincerely,

Gergő FRANCISCY
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 13, 2012

When coming to Budapest for business, I always stay at this hotel and it has never been a disapointment. Situated in a quiet part of Andrassy, among embassies, it looks more than a country hotel than actually a city one (this also thanks to spacious balconies). The rooms are very quiet.
The location is quite convenient for visiting famous Szechenyi Bath of Budapest (appr. 10 minutes by foot); as for reaching the center - you can either take a pleasant walk (appr. 30 minutes by foot to reach Basilica) or several stations by metro, the stop is nearby.
My special warmest thanks to the staff; not only extremely helpful, but they somehow also know by name who is coming (and greet you at your entrance) and also keep all the data in their system so one does not have to fill in all the details each time.
You will have to pay additionally for the breakfast and perhaps it is not necessary (OK but not fabulous). Though the Baraka restaurant can be a real pleasure at dinner.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank V0lta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gergo_Franciscy, Manager at Mamaison Hotel Andrassy Budapest, responded to this reviewResponded December 17, 2012

Dear Valued Guest "V0lta,

Thank you very much for the throughout positive feedback you provided us with. We were very happy to hear that you were so much pleased with the standard and level of hospitality you experienced in our hotel during your regular stays.
We sincerely hope to see you back at Mamaison Hotel Andrássy Budapest next year.

Yours sincerely,

Gergő FRANCISCY
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Budapest hotels
Bo18 Hotel Superior
#23 of 333 in Budapest
1,322 reviews
Fraser Residence Budapest
#17 of 333 in Budapest
1,179 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
District V / Inner City
Bohem Art Hotel
Bohem Art Hotel
#13 of 333 in Budapest
2,448 reviews
Terézváros
Opera Garden Hotel & Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mamaison Hotel Andrassy Budapest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mamaison Hotel Andrassy Budapest

Address: Andrassy ut 111., Budapest 1062, Hungary
Phone Number:
Location: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#19 Family Hotel in Budapest
#19 Romantic Hotel in Budapest
#22 Luxury Hotel in Budapest
#26 Business Hotel in Budapest
Price Range: $93 - $403 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mamaison Hotel Andrassy Budapest 4*
Number of rooms: 68
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of the most exclusive Budapest boutique hotels, the luxury Mamaison Hotel Andrassy is conveniently close to the city's business, governmental and tourist districts. Uniquely designed in Bauhaus style, it offers superior accommodation in Budapest and genuine service. Located in the exclusive Embassy neighborhood, just off Budapest's Andrássy Avenue, the hotel was originally built in 1937 and reached its boasting contemporary interior design after several complete refurbishment programs. With excellent in-house dining and top-class hospitality our hotel serves as a perfect Budapest city base. For concerts, performances and other programs & events in Budapest we recommend our partner GoToHungary. Mamaison Hotel Andrassy boasts 61 rooms, 7 suites (20-70sqm), 24-hour front desk, multi-lingual staff, Complimentary Wi-Fi, La Perle Noire Restaurant and Lounge, Gourmet breakfast, Room Service, In-Room movies, Exclusive business facilities, Large-scale meeting facilities, Parking spaces. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Agoda, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mamaison Hotel Andrassy Budapest reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Mamaison Andrassy
Mamaison Andrassy Budapest

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing