We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“A fantastic experience” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hilton Budapest

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hilton Budapest
Ranked #18 of 340 Hotels in Budapest
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“A fantastic experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 12, 2011

A great hotel in the castle on the hill in the castle district with a million dollar view of the Danube, the Parliament Buildings, and the Fisherman's Bastion. You could not choose a more picturesque or romantic location. This was our second stay and we decided to splurge a bit on a suite this time and were rewarded with a beautiful large 2 story room. The standard rooms are great too and the rates are very reasonable, especially their weekend rate which includes one of the best breakfasts available, with both buffet and made to order items they deliver to your table. They have a paid parking garage but there is free parking on the street right in front of the hotel, you just need to get your parking card validated at the front desk (required to enter the Castle district). The only downside was the internet was a bit slow and you have to pay for it, with a clunky scratch card system for wireless access.
The service was equal to the hotel itself, including tours arranged through the hotel. Given this was January we were the only ones to sign up for the Saturday and Sunday tours, and so ended up with private 3 and 4 hour tours the 2 days for the same reasonable rate. This is one of the best hotel experiences in the world, unless you are willing to spend hundreds of euros a night.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank stangelj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,731 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,528
    928
    204
    50
    21
See reviews for
443
1,706
185
720
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (985)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Barcelona, Spain
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 10, 2011

I was very impressed with the facilities and service at the hotel. Our room faced the river and we couldn't have asked for a better, more romantic view of the city. The executive lounge was a great value and the people at the desk were always very helpful. We went to the wine tasting event in the Faust Cellar and it was even better than the online reviews! Our host is passionate about wine and customer service.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Beth041
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 9, 2011

We booked a one-night stay here after our Viking Danube Christmas Markets cruise. This is also the hotel Viking uses for its pre/post-cruise packages. The hotel is in a beautiful location and we were given a room with a great view. The weather calmed down enough for us to walk around the area. Staff were all very helpful in locating restaurants. We hope to return to Budapest in the spring/fall sometime ! Our only complaint was the cab driver who "took us for a ride" - brought us to the market when he knew it was closed! Cab was not ordered through the hotel. A great ending to a wonderful winter vacation. The breakfast included in our rate was very good.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 3CATravelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMHILTONBP, General Manager at Hilton Budapest, responded to this review, January 11, 2011
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for posting your review of you recent stay at the Hilton Budapest. I am glad you had such a memorable winter vacation at our hotel. It is great to hear you were impressed by our location, breakfast service as well as the professional attitude of our personnel. Once again, I am grateful for sharing your positive comments and look forward to the pleasure to welcoming you back soon.

Best Regards,
Zoltán Árvai GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 9, 2011

We decided to go to Budapest to see the New Year In. and we picked the perfect place.

Budapest is a beautiful beautiful city, I fell in love with it instantly. The Hilton is an excellent hotel in a perfect location. View from the hotel are stunning. The rooms are spacious, comfortable and very clean. Breakfast in the hotel is quite a feast and delicious, we didn't need to eat again until dinner. The staff were very professional and extremely courteous, nothing was too much trouble for them.
I would definately recommend this hotel and will most certainly be returning, hopefully this summer

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank carolew62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMHILTONBP, General Manager at Hilton Budapest, responded to this review, January 11, 2011
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for greeting the NEW YEAR with us and letting your positive experience know of other Tripadvisor users.
I am so glad you were impressed by our services in general, especially the comfort of your room and the professional, guest - focused attitude of our team members. Again, I am really grateful for your inspiring other travelers to stay at the Hilton Budapest and look forward to the pleasure to welcoming you back this summer.

Best regards,

Zoltán Árvai GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
san diego, california
Level Contributor
83 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 9, 2011

We arrived to the Budapest airport after a very long journey from So. Calif and one piece of luggage didn't make the flight. Having been through this before, we filed the usual missing luggage report and our taxi driver prearranged through the hotel was waiting for us. He was polite and friendly, spoke some English and explained the history of Budapest to us. Once at the hotel, the concierges at the front desk took charge of our missing luggage report and continually followed up on our behalf. That was such a relief and we could now relax and enjoy the executive floor and lounge (HH points).
Our room was spacious and had electric water kettle with teas, coffees and cream. It was clean and the beds a bit hard. I enjoyed soaking in the deep bath tub!
The executive lounge had people staying from the USA, Germany, Canada on business and evening cocktail time was fun conversing with them. The service in the lounge was exceptional and very European meaning they insisted on wating on us in a freindly manner. In the lounge we ate sausage, yoghurt, rolls, butter, chicken, pork and paprika on many items. Very tasty. We attended a Latin Mass at Matthais church next door and the music was beautiful.
Two days later we left to start our Danube Christmas Market river cruise and the hotel arranged a taxi for us and we paid for it thorugh our hotel bill. The hotel staff are professional and informative and it is a wonderful place to stay and enjoy beautiful Budapest.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank travelcookie_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport Beach, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2011

There are more expensive hotels and fancier hotels, but there is no hotel with better people working for it than the Hilton Hotel in the Castle District in Budapest, Hungary.
My wife and I had not been there for two years, but the entire front-desk staff remembered us and welcomed us back. Everyone was knoweldgable, helpful and like a friend. Doormen helped my wife with her coat. Cleaning ladies were pleasant and cheerful.
The concierge staff, in particular, Balazs Andronyi, Peter Simon, Akos Szabo, Emoke Gombos and Daniella Geczi, became our friends, helped us with our Hungarian and shipped some Hungarian porcelains we bought back to the United States.
Finally, my wife is a collector of antique Hugarian porcelain. Peter Pavletits, a manager at the hotel, also collects them. He recommended the best shops, introduced us to a wonderful book on those porcelains and, in total, could not have been more helpful.
The physical hotel and its facilities are fine and its location is wonderful, but the people who work at this hotel will help to make your trip to Budapest unbelievably great.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank daflick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chepstow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 28, 2010

From start to finish our 6 day holiday in this hotel was fantastic. The situation is beautiful and overlooks the finest buildings in the city. It is very quiet but there are many good places to go out to eat within a few minutes walk, all good value. The hotel has a good restaurant as well and breakfast offers a lot of choice - there is the option of having omelettes etc cooked to order as well as the buffet.

Staff were always helpful and went beyond normal expectations. This was particularly the case when Heathrow was closed and we had to extend our stay. I cannot recommend the hotel highly enough

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank paulinethomas60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMHILTONBP, General Manager at Hilton Budapest, responded to this review, January 4, 2011
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for posting your recent stay at the Hilton Budapest. I am very pleased to hear you had gained such a pleasant experience concerning the comfort of your room, the incredible view from our hotel as well as the professional attitude of our personnel.
Once again, I am really grateful for sharing your positive comments and look forward to the pleasure to welcoming you back soon.

Best Regards,
Zoltán Árvai GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Budapest hotels
District VII / Jewish Quarter
Corinthia Hotel Budapest
Corinthia Hotel Budapest
#15 of 340 in Budapest
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6,543 reviews
District V / Inner City
InterContinental Budapest
InterContinental Budapest
#23 of 340 in Budapest
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,038 reviews
Hotel Palazzo Zichy
#3 of 340 in Budapest
5.0 of 5 bubbles 4,376 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
District V / Inner City
Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge
District V / Inner City
Aria Hotel Budapest
Aria Hotel Budapest
#1 of 340 in Budapest
5.0 of 5 bubbles 672 reviews
District V / Inner City
Four Seasons Hotel Gresham Palace
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Budapest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Budapest

Property: Hilton Budapest
Address: Hess Andras ter 1-3., Budapest 1014, Hungary
Phone Number:
Location: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest > District I / Buda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Family Hotel in Budapest
#14 Romantic Hotel in Budapest
#15 Business Hotel in Budapest
#16 Luxury Hotel in Budapest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hilton Budapest 5*
Number of rooms: 321
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton EMEA, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Hilton Budapest reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Budapest - Castle District Hotel Budapest
Budapest Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing