We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Super!”
Review of Hilton Budapest

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hilton Budapest
Ranked #14 of 335 Hotels in Budapest
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 4, 2014

This hotel is simply great, it is hard to find any faults.

Situated in the best part of the city next to the fairy-tale like "fishermans bastion". Views outstanding and very quiet in the evening. Several restaurants and bars located around (avoid Rivalda though) with great views and service. The ONLY downside is it's a fair travel to any bustling nightlife, so depends what you are visiting for.

The service here is by far the best part of the experience. Nothing is too much to ask for and everything is catered for, however large or little. Continuous smiles and plentiful staff which means there is never a wait to ask for anything :)

We used the restaurant and bar and the service great as mentioned, food and drink was delicious. For breakfast, the options are plentiful along with a selection of made to order items. Service was quick and didn't have to wait for a table. The bar was busy in the evenings but didn't hinder the service with good selection of drinks available.

The fitness centre was small and was lacking a few machines but was nicely decorated, clean and efficient with good views across town.

The hotels décor was a little bland, I was expecting something with a little more grandeur. especially after the front façade. However, only a mild point and doesn't really affect anything.

Room Tip: The Danube view is Stunning.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Blizaed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMHILTONBP, General Manager at Hilton Budapest, responded to this reviewResponded July 8, 2014

Dear Guest,

thank you so much for taking the time to provide us with a review about our property, and thank you for your kind words.

It is wonderful receiving a five star review from someone as involved in Tripadvisor as yourself with 51 reviews. It is our absolute goal to meet and exceed our guest's expectations, your five star review is a reminder that we're doing just that.

Thank you again and I hope you will come back soon!

Best regards,

Zoltán Árvai
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (4,291)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,003 - 2,009 of 4,291 reviews

Reviewed July 3, 2014

The Hilton Budapest (Castle District) is the most beautiful place to stay in Budapest. Our Viking River ship docked right next to the Chain Bridge after a 2 week cruise. Since my husband and I only had our carry on roller bags, we easily walked across the bridge, took the funicular to the top of the "rock" and walked a very short 5 minute walk to the Hilton. We had a river view room on the Executive floor with access to very nice nibbles and drinks in the exec. lounge as well as breakfast there, Furnishings are a bit dated but who cares when you are in part of the old castle and right next to Fisherman's Bastion and the cathedral and many lovely shops and restaurants. Be sure to take a tour of the Hospital in the Rock - fascinating 1 hour tour relating to WWII and the cold war era with a fully stocked hospital and air raid shelter, Used an airport transfer service I found online to take us to the Budapest airport from the Hilton for about $20.00 USD. Trip took only about 40 minutes on a Friday afternoon around 4:30.

Room Tip: View of river and Parliment - wow................
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank divezuzu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMHILTONBP, General Manager at Hilton Budapest, responded to this reviewResponded July 8, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for you valuable feedback. We are thrilled to receive a five star review from Guests as involved in Tripadvisor as yourself with 116 reviews spanning 46 locations!
It is wonderful to know that you have managed to exceed your expectations and you loved our historic Buda Castle location as much as we do.

I sincerely hope that you will continue to stay with us, should you future travel plans bring you back to Budapest!

Best regards,

Zoltán Árvai
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2014

Can't beat the location or the staff. Thoroughly enjoyed my stay, Executive lounge is great (say hi to Tibor, he's an institution here). Rooms are well appointed, and staff are very helpful and professional.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MrFozziedoggie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMHILTONBP, General Manager at Hilton Budapest, responded to this reviewResponded July 2, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for the wonderful 5 star review! We are thrilled you had a memorable stay with us and our staff helped to make your stay more comfortable. See you next time!

Best regards,

Zoltán Árvai
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2014

We stayed here for 3 nights and had a wonderful stay. We chose to go all out and got a river view room and it was just mesmerising to sit by the window at night and look at the Fisherman's Bastion, river, Parliament and Chain Bridge. Rooms were spacious, clean and very comfortable. The location was perfect and the views stunning. Breakfast was okay and had all the usual buffet offerings. Had to pay for internet for the room which is annoying these days.Most of the staff were very friendly and helpful - just let down at check out by a rude female receptionist.

Room Tip: Pay the extra and get a river view - it is sensational!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KCrC2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMHILTONBP, General Manager at Hilton Budapest, responded to this reviewResponded June 30, 2014

Dear Customer,

thank you fro taking the time and sharing your recent experience at our Hilton Budapest!

I'm so pleased to read how much you enjoyed your stay with us. Beside the perfect location and unique view in Budapest you also liked the spacious room.

I would like to inform you that we offer complimentary internet in the public areas of the hotel and there is a small charge for high speed internet usage in the guest rooms according the policy of Hilton Hotels & Resorts.

It's good to hear that you found our team members very friendly and I do apologize that you had a different experience at check-out. I've asked our Front Office Manager to discuss your comments with the lady at reception to make sure that we provide a consistent and high level service to our customers.

We all look forward to welcoming you back again!

Best regards,
Zoltan Arvai
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2014

Our stay at the Hilton Budapest - Castle District was enhanced by a beautiful river view. The evening view of the Parliament Building with the lights on was magical. We were also able to schedule a tour through the hotel that provided an excellent overview of Buda and Pest by a guide that was very knowledgeable and answered many questions about the history of the city. The location was perfect for another reason as we were able to attend a concert at the Mathias Church right next to the hotel.

Overall the stay was very special and enjoyable.

Room Tip: Pay a little extra for the top floor with the river view and enjoy breakfast outside the hotel at a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TwoTravelerstoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMHILTONBP, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Budapest, responded to this reviewResponded June 29, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for choosing our hotel for your visit in Budapest.

We are delighted to hear that your stay was a memorable travel experience. It sounds like our stunning location and the beautiful view to the city were particularly to your liking.

The whole team sincerely appreciate that you shared your important feedback with other Tripadvisor users.

We look forward to the pleasure of being your host again with our best care and attention.

Kind regards from Budapest,
Jolina Levai

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2014

Our family loved this hotel. The location in the castle district was perfect and the views stunning. There is construction in front of the hotel but once done it will be a great area. We stayed in an upgraded room on the concierge floor. Large modern bathroom with separate shower. Very clean rooms and helpful staff. If you like firm beds than this is for you. The food and drink service on the concierge level was extensive and very good.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank luv2snowski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMHILTONBP, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Budapest, responded to this reviewResponded June 27, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your honorific review and sharing your feedback on Tripadvisor.

I was pleased to hear how impressed you were with the location in spite of the reconstruction works outside.

I am more than happy to read about your satisfaction with your executive room and with the selection of our Executive Lounge. We are always proud to read about the helpfulness of our staff, so thank you for your positive comments.

We hope to have the chance to welcome you again in the renewed castle area!

Best regards,

Agnes Poor
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2014

Stayed here 2 nights, executive floor. Location is super, for us that is one of the only reasons why they have 5 stars. Executive lounge is limited in drinks en foods, only from 6 PM alcoholic drinks, this in a land with so many good wines...
Only a Gym and Sauna, no swimming pool. Breakfast is ok but had better breakfasts in other hotels in Budapest.
No vanity set in the bathroom, not a second towel service.
Friendly service, everybody speaks good english.
For us was overpriced comparing with other 5 starred hotels in Budapest.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ferbeli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMHILTONBP, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Budapest, responded to this reviewResponded June 26, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to give us your review. I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed our beautiful location and your feedback about our team member’s language skills is very welcome. Nevertheless, I was sorry to learn that the selection of our Executive Lounge did not meet your expectations.

Regarding your comment of the missing pool I would like to kindly inform you that our hotel has been built in the Buda Castle district around historical monuments. On the one hand it is a big advantage of the location as this is one of the very few Hilton hotels in the world that is located in a UNESCO World Heritage site but on the other hand we can not relocate these monuments and that would be the only chance to make a pool area in our hotel.

Referring to your further comments about the bathroom amenities I would like to inform you that we are providing these toiletries by Peter Thomas Root according to the latest Hilton standards and upon request we are pleased to provide some more amenities and towels for our guests. Please do not hesitate to request it from the Housekeeping upon your next visit.

Thank you very much once again for your review, and we would love to have you back with us again in the future to serve you to your complete satisfaction.

Best regards,

Agnes Poor
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Budapest hotels
District V / Inner City
InterContinental Budapest
InterContinental Budapest
#27 of 335 in Budapest
3,439 reviews
District V / Inner City
Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge
District V / Inner City
Aria Hotel Budapest by Library Hotel Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
District V / Inner City
Kempinski Hotel Corvinus Budapest
District VII / Jewish Quarter
Boscolo Budapest, Autograph Collection
Hotel Palazzo Zichy
#4 of 335 in Budapest
4,863 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Budapest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Budapest

Address: Hess Andras ter 1-3, Budapest 1014, Hungary
Phone Number:
Location: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest > District I / Buda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Luxury Hotel in Budapest
#14 Family Hotel in Budapest
#14 Romantic Hotel in Budapest
#15 Business Hotel in Budapest
Price Range: $116 - $347 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hilton Budapest 5*
Number of rooms: 321
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton EMEA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hilton Budapest reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Budapest - Castle District Hotel Budapest
Budapest Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing